We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Dar and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Ness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Ness
Ranked #30 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dar and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2007

After being let down by Jack's Appartments just before arrival in Essaouira, I booked Dar Ness and had an amazing time there.

The Dar is in the perfect location - next to the majority of shops, cafes, restaurants and a 2 minute walk to the beach.

The rooms are large and tastefully furnished with amazing showers. The staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast (included in the price) was different every day.

There is seating downstairs in the Dar around the courtyard and also up on the top floor with loungers and tables - perfect to relax on after a hard day shopping.

Having stayed in Essaouira before I would thoroughly recommend this Dar to anyone. It is well worth the money. All I can say is thanks to Jack's Appartments for messing up my reservation there as I have now found a much better place to stay!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and the location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casasahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    33
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
57
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2007

Stayed here with a friend for 4 nights in May 2007. The location of the riad is excellent, adjacent to the main square (including the excellent Taros bar next door) and very close to the historic parts of Essaouira as well as the beach. All rooms are clean and tastefully and individually decorated; try and stay on the first floor for extremely high ceilings and slightly cooler rooms. Beautiful roof terrace for breakfast, which is excellent, fresh and different every day. OK, the terrace does not have stunning vistas but is well protected against the ever-present wind in Essaouira. The staff is very helpful (recommending restaurants and booking taxis to and from airports) and are extremely happy to pander to your illusion that you can actually speak French. And all this for only €85 per night which was the most expensive room. Very much looking forward to returning to Dar Ness again when I revisit Essaouira. I would have no hesitation to recommend Dar Ness to any of my friends/colleagues.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Having to leave it
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of April. One word - brilliant. The location is possibly one of the best in the town - right next to the main square, the ramparts of the fort, the port and
3 mins walk to the beach.

The rooms are spotless - and the breakfast outstanding. Suggest eating breakfast on the terrace on the roof.

Highly suggest walking to the seafood stalls 2 mins walk away to have your dinner. Fresh seafood - and great prices (feel free to bargain).

The staff here were great as well. Very helpful in booking restaurants or taxis etc. Highly recommended.

Duncan and Kim, London

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dark alley to get to front door
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2007

I would endorse entirely the views of the two previous reviewers. My friend and I stayed there for two nights, paying around 48 pounds sterling each for a twin-bedded room for the two nights, inclusive of taxes and breakfast. We found the riad delightful and the staff equally so. Our most comfortable room was a reasonable size and was tastefully decorated; the pubilc areas of the riad were very attractive, as was the spacious roof terrace on which we took our breakfast each morning (just perfect, unless you are frightened of seagulls!). The location was ideal, with plenty of good restaurants within a 200 to 300 metre radius. I wouldn't hesitate to return to the Dar Ness or to recommend it to others. There is secure parking five minutes' walk from the riad, for which you are charged 20 MAD per night (just over one pound sterling). Make sure that they don't overcharge you! Porters are available there to take your luggage to the riad if you dont fancy lugging it yourself (10 MAD from the car park to the Dar Ness). I thought that Essaoura itelf, despite the large numbers of tourists, was a delightful town and can't wait to return there. There are few conventional sights as such, apart from various bastions along the walls. The chief pleasure lies in soaking up the atmosphere.

  • Liked — Location, ambience, value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to report
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Newington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2006

The Riad is a centre of calm and well located. It is very stylishly and tastefully decorated but not in an over the top way. The rooms and the bathrooms are large. The terasse has a good view and is a wonderful place to relax in the day. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good too. And all for a very good price.

  • Liked — Style and space
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

Dar Ness is an excellent Riad in the centre of Essaouira. James the French owner was really helpful before we arrived and arranged for a very friendly taxi driver to pick us up from the airport in Marrakech.

The room was spacious and clean and very tastefully decorated. The Riad itself is beautiful, set around a courtyard. It is bang in the centre of the old town yet is a haven of traquility once you get inside.

Breakfast on the terrace was a joy, fresh bread and fruit and lots of coffee!

The Riad lacks stunning views but with all the large chain hotels down near the beach I would urge anyone to look closer to the medina for more character, taste and style.

Helpful?
5 Thank Gooders9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#24 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Lazuli
Dar Lazuli
#29 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#19 of 176 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad O Gre du Vent
Riad O Gre du Vent
#7 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#9 of 176 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Orange Cannelle
Riad Orange Cannelle
#13 of 176 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ness

Property: Dar Ness
Address: 1 Rue Khalib Ben Walid | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Ness 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing