We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bed bugs”
Review of Dar El Qdima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar El Qdima
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bed bugs”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with an Intrepid group- woke after the first night here covered in what appears to be bed bug bites. Staff was notified, and nothing done- I was told no other rooms available due to the current music festival, and no other options considered. Fortunately, there was a spare bed in another room with someone else in my group. I informed staff that I wanted funds to wash all the clothing in my backpack, which they refused. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: avoid room 10 at all costs- has bed bugs and faces a noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lbrooklynlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    31
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
18
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

It seems that the staff has taken the feedback in because my stay was seamless. The staff couldn't have been any nicer and helpful and we thought the place was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My usual Riad was full due to the festival (the excellent Maison du Sud) so we stayed in the next one down the list in the Rough Guide. A BIG mistake and let down. There were two of us, and I had to beg for a towel at 6pm, and was only given one despite being promised that another would be on the way. When I came down for breakfast at 10am on the Sunday, I was told that it had finished at 10am (I wasn't told this early finishing time at check-in) and then this mysterious 50dh tax appeared when we checked out, which I think had more to do with the kitchen hand not having the right change for my 200dh note (I have never paid such a tax after travelling in Morocco many times). The shower plumbing was so bad that you ended up bathing in the shower, lights didn't work and I warn anybody from staying here; it's really bad value for money at 450dh per night and they are anti-service minded.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamSpreadbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed here for two nights. No frills accommodation. Everything is very very damp. The bed sheets seemed wet to the touch and when we left all of our clothes were damp. No air con and minimal air circulation. Our room had a small window high up near the ceiling.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrysonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

we had a room on the roof which was very pleasantly situated. But very basic and smelling of damp. The main problem was the scam perpetuated by the reception at the hotel. When we enquired by calling at the hotel what the price for this room would be, we were told 350 per night per person. When, three days later, we came to pay, the reception person insisted it was 450 dirhams and when we questioned this, threatened to call the police to sort it out. We were rushing to catch a bus so felt we had to make the payment she demanded. However, both my partner and myself clearly heard her say 350 dirhams per night and I paid a deposit on that basis. So beware of this unpleasant scam!!

  • Liked — The roof terrace
  • Disliked — The receptionist
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingstoneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#27 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#35 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#39 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riad Nakhla
Hotel Riad Nakhla
#45 of 74 in Essaouira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Qdima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Qdima

Property: Dar El Qdima
Address: 4 rue Malek Ben Rahal, Avenue de l_Istiqlal | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Dar El Qdima 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dar El Qdima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing