We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience but not for everyone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing experience but not for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

My Fiance and I stayed here and loved every minute of it. We fell in love with Essaouira and the people here. Like others mentioned, the rooms back onto an alleyway which can be filled with children playing drums with pop bottles, laughing and being noisy. We enjoyed watching and listening to the children but can understand how some would find it a nuisance. I didn't visit the Hammam in the hotel but my Fiance did and said it was an amazing experience. The beds are hard, so if you're used to plush American beds, this may be an issue. Overall still highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrambled_legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
8
21
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

I arrived at this Riad after a bad experience in another one, I must admit that I was exhausted. The service was excellent and the breakfast simply delicious, all organic food. The room very clean and perfect service. Antiallergic matresses and perfect care for detail. Rooms can be reached through narrow stairs.

Breakfast and restaurant is excellent!

The location is central, inside the medina, but walking around in those narrow streets is a little dodgy by night, I suggest you do not walk around too late.

I was just disappointed in the end, when I discovered that a tax was being added to my bill plus room charge, very odd!! I had to leave it but not sure yet that was due to me to pay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

I was looking forward to staying here because of most of the reviews. However the bed was as hard as concrete. We requested two beds and my friend slept on a small sofa. I piled all my clothes and blankets under me to be able to get some rest.. Tthe manager moved us the next day but the bed was only slightly more comfortable. The linen was clean but the pillow was filthy. The brick walls were covered with fine mortar and if you accidently brushed against them your clothes became covered with white dust. The street was noisy but quieted before midnight. I would not stay here again. I can't imagine anyone recommending this for this price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Essaouira hotels

London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lalla Mira, if you are willing to spend the extra cash, the suites on the top floor are a great bet. We had the suite with its own balcony which was a suntrap and made a fantastic escape from the medina. Late afternon when the sun had left our balcony we headed to the rooftop for more sun lounging and sundowner drinks to the sound of the prayer call. Essouira itself is an amazing little town, far, far calmer and certainly superiour as a destination to Marrakech. Staff at the Riad were really friendly and made us feel welcome. Rooms spotless and Great breakfasts, all organic and healthy, lots of pastries and goats cheese with small changes every day, if you ask the night before they will bring a tray to your room.

The only down side would be if you are ealry to bed people as there was some street noise from local revellers who seemed to congregate by one of the few street lamps placed just outside the Riad. However, they had wandered off by midnight every night....leaving nothing just the peaceful night outside!

Over all this is a heavenly Riad and we would definately return when we return to Essouira..Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik_mesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savona, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

I found Lalla Mira on a guidebook , was a bit stressed about having to walk around finding a place to stay in Essaouira sto i studied the map and founded straight away. Staff ( mostly women, a nice change for Morocco) was very helpful , set a boy with a cart with me to fetch the bags , gave me and my friend a supercool room and gave us directions to visit the town. Room was two floorey, big bed upstairs and smaller dowstairs , that is what you expect when staying ina an historical building. The have a hammam annexed , give you robes to walt next door and i highly recommend. We had dinner there , food was fine, they are a lot into organic food and local products( although everything is very organic in Morocco) but i would eat somewhere else net time in order to explore a bit more.
There was some noise from the street at night, but being in a overcrowded medina in northern Africa you don't exactly expect things to be too quiet. Breakfast was great with a huge selection of local delicacies.
THey also helped me boo a place in Marrakech and their recommedation turned to be great! Thanks to the staff at Lalla Mira.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chebruttefacce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

My friend had stayed there earlier and apparently had a similar situation...The hotel itself is cute and the breakfast was good...it's in a good location and had a lot of style and charm.

BUT...the rooms on the alleyway were noisy all night long with people in the street...and they have plenty of stickers advertising that they take credit cards, but mysteriously their machine was broken when I went to check out because it was sunday...My friend had a similar experience (which I wish I had known before I stayed there)...I decided to not cause a scene and had to go get cash, but they refused to try the credit card machine or put up a sign that it wasn't working...a total scam to avoid the service charge.

If you don't mind paying cash and can handle the street noise, I think you may really like it, but I won't give them my business again.

  • Liked — charm, style, room
  • Disliked — noise, checkout issue with credit card
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aandyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

I loved everything about this place - my room, the staff, and the food. My single was bigger than I expected, with a high ceiling, a sofa and coffee table, and a big, comfortable, four-poster bed. The yellow spread, with blue flowers, matched the cushions. Heavy, floor-length drapes of what looked like natural wool covered the window and door. I was delighted that, unusually for Morocco, there was plenty of artificial light.

I did hear music from the restaurant right below me on Saturday night, but not after 11:00 pm. Since I faced inward I didn’t hear any street noise. I was alone, so the partial wall between the bedroom and bathroom didn’t bother me, and I loved the tadelakt finish on the walls. I also appreciated the good shower.

Breakfast was excellent, and very healthy! I enjoyed eggs cooked to order, fresh goat cheese and natural yoghurt. I ate dinner in the restaurant Sunday night, taking the fish menu, and can recommend the calamari, and especially a wonderful cheese plate.

I thought the location was good - easy walking distance to the Supratours bus station, the port, and everywhere in the medina. Free internet access was available in the hotel and I enjoyed the sofas on the terraces. I didn’t check out the hammam, as I had visited one a few days previously. I enjoyed Essaouira, but it did feel quite different to other places I had visited in Morocco - much more Mediterranean.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thursdaysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emeraude Hotel
Emeraude Hotel
#38 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#35 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#30 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam

Property: Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam
Address: 14 Rue D_algerie | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalla Mira Hotel-Restaurant-Hammam Hotel Essaouira
Lalla Mira Hotel Hammam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing