We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Jardin des Douars
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great place to go after a couple of days driving across the atlas mountains and desert with the kids. Good recommendations for the beach hut shack restaurant. Staff very child friendly, and the kids liked the french menu.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you had a good time in our little paradise! It was a pleasure to welcome you for a relaxing stay after your Atlas trip. Say hello to your lovely kids, and have a very good trip back home!

Toute l'équipe du jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    86
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
308
273
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Very mixed experience of positive and negative aspects.

The hotel is very well located within a lovely gaden, very nice design, about 8km from Essaouira, very big garden, 2 pools, rooms located within independent buildings, 3 rooms per building.

The hotel is very french oriented: apart the management speaking english, staff speaks only french.

Rooms are spacious, though basic, no fridge, no telephone, no wifi. Worse, Windows curtains are completely transprent, even not able to cover the moon light and the gaden lights during the night. So, we had to use our eyes mask to avoid to wake up at 6am.

We had a very bad exprience with water boiler and subsequently with power supply in the room. The first broken during the day, the second probably as a consequence of poor repair of the boiler. Worse, in the hotel there is no electrician and eveytime one has to come from somewhere else. So, we stayed with no power supply during the night. Since no telephone in the room, I had to go to the office 3 times on that evening, tryng ti speak with a staff guy not speaking english.

The day after the manager sincerily apologized for what happened and provided a discount for what happened, very well accepted.

The hotel has the potential to become a great hotel for spending relaxing period, just improving some critical aspects.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudygiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your feedback. We're glad you had a good time here, and we note your comments in order to improve our services.

As said during your stay, we sincerely apologize for the water boiler problem. Technical issues can happen and it's our responsibility to anticipate or fix it as soon as possible. We do have a technician even if he was not onsite at 7PM when it happened. We called him, he came at night and repaired in 1 hour. We also offered you to change room or give you access to other bathroom in case you did not want to wait for 1 hour.

We are glad you appreciated the apologizes and the goodwill gesture, and we wish you a good trip back to Italy.

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Essaouira is a beautiful old fishing village and now a town in Morocco on the Atlantic coast.
The best place to stay in Essaouira is actually a little out of town, at Les Jardin des Douars.
June 2013 we were on a driving vacation and had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel.
It's set amongst gardens, water bodies and terraces. A gentle breeze carries the fragrance of local flowers through out the day and sitting in the shade by the pool or in one of the terraces it is very relaxing and therapeutic, takes away all the worries of this world and lulls you into a trance.
The building are spread out and are made in the Moroccan style, low, domed, thick walls, plastered, rich colors inside with lovely local tapestry.
Food is French with a Moroccan twist and is excellent.
Service is impeccable.
The Spa looked very attractive but we didn't have time to sample it.
The staff was very helpful and can advise you on various activities that you can do, shopping and eating in Essaouria town.
We were given a free round trip service to Essaouria and their recommended Moroccan food restaurant was very good.
Highly recommended, I would go back any day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest from New Delhi,

We were glad to welcome you here, so far away from your country. And we are happy that you had such a good time. We thank you for your nice review, and wish you the best for the future!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

First - This hotel is a fantastic hotel - the sum of all the parts, (food/service/surroundings/pools/atmosphere/rooms) make it the best holiday hotel that we have ever stayed at. If you are looking for a classy (but not stuffy), relaxing, friendly destination look no further. If you want to relax by the pool, you can choose the calm pool (which is very well observed), or if you have excited kids they can play in the other pool. Forget all that nonsense about worrying about sun loungers etc...as JDD have solved that problem, by the incredibly simple solution of having more than enough for everybody! One of the things that I think makes this place tick is that we calculated there were about 40-50 guests staying, and we heard there were about 30 staff, so the service is absolutely first class.
The town of Essauria is an amazing little town with shopping and souks that are far less intimidating than Marrakech.....and the people allow you to look and browse and ask without hassling you. We also did a half day cookery course in the town (with our two teenage kids) which was good fun to do all together, and we did the 3 hour quad biking recommended by the hotel which was fantastic and very very professional and safe......and a camel ride was a box that needed to be ticked...so we did that as well!
However it was difficult to force ourselves away from the hotel as it was so so relaxing simply to stay there, and eat the fantastic food that is presented every few hours!
So.....an amazing place that I can't recommend highly enough!
For the sake of balance/honesty........I should mention that we had a few issues when we arrived with hot water, but it was dealt with immediately and professionally by the staff so it really didn't matter at all. If I had any genuine suggestion for the hotel, I would suggest that they need to get the internet sorted out...we really missed that....and nowadays you don't just need internet for work, as it provides entertainment while relaxing as well...so that was a shame.
Someone else mentioned on trip advisor that they felt uncomfortable due to large parties that seemed to be friends of the owners... but I think this is more that this hotel is so fantastic people go back year after year, so it can appear to be a bit cliquey......but everyone is so polite and discrete, and there is so much space, this is not an issue. FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER AFTER A HOLIDAY, WE ARE ALREADY TALKING ABOUT GOING BACK NEXT YEAR!!

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces seemed good...although as we were a family of four needing two rooms this ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seano3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Family,

Many thanks for your amazing feedback!
It was a real pleasure to have you 4 here for a few days, and we are glad that you had such a good time. You know where is our little paradise now... so do not hesitate if you want to come back next year. And if not, we will see us each other later for sure.

Have a goo trip back home!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Le Jardin des Douars is just a stunning place to spend a few relaxing days in Essaouira. The staff is absolutely perfect. The food is really good. The atmosphere is fantastic with no noise at all except the birds and... the wind! Great swimming pool. Very comfortable rooms. The managers (the couple Greg and Nannie) are just SO nice. This is a MUST for anyone visiting Essaouira. Thank you very much guys! And see you very soon again! A Swiss/Belgian couple. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a LUXE room. Prices are really good, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Jean,

It was our pleasure to have you there for a few days.
We already miss your Swiss/Belgian way of being!
Thank you so much for your nice feedback.
You will find us here for your next trip...

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We pulled up in a taxi (10 minutes from Essaouira and 300 dhm!, we subsequently found out that we could have the shuttle bus return for 175 dhm) and all we could say was 'Wow!' The gardens were just beautiful. We were met by Khalid and Nani, both spoke very good English. We (2 couples) had been upgraded to the Mogador Suite, which was a lovely surprise. We were shown around inside and out and we all agreed that it was a special place. Evening meal is either a set menu (you give notice that you want to eat that evening by putting your room number on a blackboard) or a la carte. Food was reasonably priced, alcohol isn't cheap in Morroco, so no different here. The suite had 2 double bedrooms, a lounge and a huge bathroom. It was wonderful to take a shower with the french doors open and the breeze coming in without being overlooked. Quick mention here that it is very windy at this time of year, nice during the heat of the day though.

Le Jardin des Douars has such a relaxing atmosphere, we instantly felt like we were on holiday. I would definately come back to stay and would recommend it for couples/adults (children may get bored as there isn't anything to do apart from the pool). I thought it was a nice touch that everyone had an equal share in any gratuities left, from the front of house staff to the cleaners and gardeners.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you had such a good time here at Le Jardin des Douars. We were very pleased to host you during those days. And we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely place, beautiful gardens, clean rooms, amazing food and friendly, helpful staff. Extremely relaxing, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and it all feels rather luxurious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrhjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear guest,

We were glad to welcome you in our little paradise! We hope that yo had a good trip back to home, and that we'll see you soon again.

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
5.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riad Baoussala
Riad Baoussala
#2 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin des Douars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Douars

Property: Le Jardin des Douars
Address: Douar Sidi Yassine - Ida Oueguerd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Jardin des Douars 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Essaouira hills, sheltered from the high winds in a magnificent natural setting formed over millennia by the Ksob Oued (river), the Jardin des Douars is a beautiful guest ksar (palace) dedicated to lovers of nature, authenticity, simplicity and kindness. A guesthouse of charm in voluptuous forms, constructed in accordance with Moroccan traditions and materials, combining a subtle refinement of decoration with the luxuriance of a garden for real relaxation and simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Jardin des Douars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Des Douars Hotel Essaouira
Le Jardin Des Douars Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing