We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Jardin des Douars
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Dar Etto(Ghazoua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Daba(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Baoussala(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
724
98
22
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
98
22
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily poolluxe roomadult poolstunning gardenssunday bbqdrag ourselves awayseparate poolsquiet dining roomroyal suiteheavenly placebeautiful hotelrecharge the batteriesmain buildingessaouira townan oasisrelaxing massageperfect antidote
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights and loved it. We flew into Marrakech and hired a car, which I would definitely recommend: it's not absolutely essential, but it makes getting around so much easier; it's also cheaper than a taxi or transfer, and a dead easy drive pretty much on one road tr whole way.
After the inevitable stress and hassle of getting out of the airport, the hotel felt like an oasis. The gardens are beautiful and an explosion of colours and smells, while the architecture and decor cleverly done to make it look and feel older and more rustic than it actually is. The rooms have charming features like huge wooden doors, high domed ceilings and massive bathrooms. Ours had its own terrace which was lovely.

Breakfast is included and is delicious. All the meals we at there were really good and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was usually taken inside but other meals outside on a lovely patio area.

There are two pools which are both very nice, and innumerable other hiding places to sit and read in the gardens. The hammam spa is very nice and relatively cheap compared to what you find in most hotels.

The hotel management were really nice and helpful, and the staff were absolutely excellent and very friendly.

The hotel is a short drive from the town with its beaches and watersports as well as shopping and eating in the old medina.

Overall, it's a lovely relaxed vibe. Sometimes possibly to extremes - one night we came home shortly after 10pm and needed a bottle of water, and couldn't find a single member of staff to help us nor any way of raising one, which was annoying and really odd. But this is a minor gripe. It didn't spoil our enjoyment of this wonderful hotel, and it doesn't stop me recommending it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romantic Room which had its own terrace and was lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guests,

We were glad to welcome you here for those 4 days! And we are happy if you enjoyed so much your stay. We will relay your congratulations to all our staff.

We really thank you for having such a catching joy, and for your sweet review. If you travel another time around Morocco, you know how to find us!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

only two days at Villa Basmah, perfect retreat for our family of 10, would have loved to spend more time there .
The villa is very close to the hotel , this is convenient if you want to get there for lunch dinner, or spa. But once in the villa , you do not want to get out as it is so comfortable.
Breakfast by the villa pool in front of the beautiful garden (thank you Antoine, you are doing a great job !) was memorable.
Essaouira only 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome your family at Villa Basmah! We are glad you had such a good time here in our little gem. And we thank you for your kind review. Have a very good trip back home!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were there for a wedding in May. This place is simply amazing. It's like an oasis of flowers and water nestled in the middle of the desert. The outside terrace where you can leisurely sip cocktails or have dinner is basking in a beautiful light in the late afternoon. I could have stayed there for hours. Very nice pool too. The staff is very friendly. And when you've relaxed enough, there is plenty to do in the area wether you are the sport type (kite surfing, golf ...) or just want to go see the Médina in Essaouira.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mat803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hi Mat,

Many thanks for your feedback! It was a real pleasure to welcome your whole family for this amazing wedding. We are also glad you enjoyed some relaxing days after the party, relaxing at the pools or sipping cocktails. We wish you a very trip back home, and we hope to see you again soon!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A lovely resort - very beautiful gardens. And a spa pool for the adults and a family pool for playing. At no point, were we on top of other guests. A full day was enjoyed each day without noticing that the time had gone by.

The double room had an adjoining bunk bed room for children, with a shower room.

Maid service was thorough but not intrusive. The service in the restaurants and bars was understated but attentive. The menu of the day was delicious every day that we stayed. Lamb tagine was our collective favourite.

I agree with the comments made regarding the absent/flaky wifi so bring a book - remember when we used to do that! I also agree with the tea/coffee making request - not that I wanted room service - but a cup of tea in the morning, without somebody needing to get dressed to go to the breakfast bar, would have been preferable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maud180291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Maud,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay amongst us!
It was a real pleasure to welcome you here, and to make you discover the hotel and Essaouira.
We also thank you for the few suggestions you have made, which will help us to improve again!

We wish you a good trip back home!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a stunningly beautiful resort property with great food.

The Pros:

1. Gorgeous property meticulously designed and landscaped
2. Excellent French & Moroccan cuisine and wine selection
3. Very nice Hammam and spa
4. Quiet and secluded
5. Reasonable prices

The cons:

1. Mostly French clientele and many of the staff speak French but not English
2. No wifi in the rooms and even in the common areas, it's slow
3. Far from the city with nothing in the area to walk to
4. No fitness center

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntiGravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

We warmly thank you for you review. We were glad to welcome you here and spend a few days with you. We hope we'll have the opportunity to see you one day again in Essaouira or in our little paradise!

A few tips for our readers :
- All our staff have english lessons 4 times a week since we have more and more guests coming from UK or US ;
- Le Jardin des Douars is located in Essaouira country side, 13km from the sea and the medina, and we provide a shuttle service at any time ;
- Due to technical issues here in Morocco country side, we can't have very high speed wifi everywhere (we would love to!), but we provide 3 wifi connexion spots in commons areas ;
- We have a well being center (hammam, massages, esthetic cares), but no fitness center... maybe one day :-)!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews