We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value property with charming hosts”
Review of Riad Al Zahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Zahia
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value property with charming hosts”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Four of us enjoyed our stay at the riad. Our hosts, Clemente and his girlfriend, were helpful in providing us local dining and hamam recommendations. Overall the riad is a good value for its price. The rooms smelled a little musty and the windows of most of the rooms open up onto the inner courtyard landings, so we didn't keep them open when we weren't there for safety reasons (although we never heard/saw anything that would make us believe it to be unsafe). While in Morocco, we stayed at several different price points with this riad being the least expensive and we all thought it was a wonderful place, but don't expect the same amenities that come with more expensive locations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that is over the courtyard and not overlooking a landing to ensure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj9friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    90
    21
    1
    6
See reviews for
56
107
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Riad Al Zahia in October 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The riad was initially a little tricky to find but the locals were very helpful in directing us, and then we learned the Riad was central to both the souks and the beach. We booked an offer for bed, breakfast and evening meal which caused some confusion as the staff were not aware and tried to charge again for dinner, but the manager was really helpful and the misunderstanding was easily sorted out. (It turns out we could have had dinner in the riad every night for the same price - so check out the details on arrival of any offers like this!) The meal we did have was a delicious tagine, and the riad has a lovely reading and dining room where you can relax with a glass of wine. The rooms in the riad are beautiful and add to the seaside atmosphere - we stayed in the 'Ilham' room which had a lovely 4-poster bed.

All in all, Riad Al Zahia is a lovely riad in a good location if you are staying in Essaouira and we would recommend it highly to other visitors.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have to admit we really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful riad.

It's very well located close to the Medina but, at the same time, We could sleep peacefully and quietly.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable and you can really feel the Moroccan essence. The terrace is just amazing... You can relax and sunbathe and feel a gentle breeze all the time.

But the best of all is its generous breakfast... mouth-watering crêpes, pastries and so on.

I fully recommend it !!!!! :))

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green_power_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A lovely riad smack bang in the centre of the medina, ideally located for the delights of this wonderful town. Rooms were basic but nicely furnished and clean.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a charming riad in a very beautiful and safe part of the medina. We had an inner facing room and it was REALLY quiet - we woke up to silence.

The breakfast is really large comprising of lots of toast, croissants, flatcake and pancakes.

The rooms are charming but two small points for improvement. The owner did not meet us (the Spanish owner took over a few years ago). More input from him would have been welcome - he did chat to us when we were paying the bill. The other point is that parts could do with a really in depth clean..

Nonetheless I still think it was overall very good. Additional nice touches were the flowers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with internal windows if you want a really quiet night. Note other rooms may also be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this charming riad. On our arrival we were first introduced to the city. It helped us to get started with shopping, finding good restaurants etc. As we wanted to go horse riding they arranged the reservation. The generous breakfast is served from 8 to 11 – also on the rooftop terrace if you wish. We also liked the three chameleons which freely walked (in slow motion) around the patio.

Room Tip: The Zahia suite has some nice wooden furniture though it lacks of a bathroom door which however woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenorChameau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

When you enter this beautiful riad you are greeted by the very friendly local staff serving you fresh mint tea in the lobby area beside the internal fountain, seated on traditional Moroccan throws and pillows. The decor of the ground floor is stunning and traditional, even more beautiful than the pictures.
Each room has a theme and is decorated with beautiful taste. The roof top terrace is the perfect place to enjoy your breakfast which is brought up for you and served with a smile.
The location is ideal with lots of small artist studios around, quaint local restaurants, street markets and of course the famous fish market of Essaouira.
We will return to Essaouira and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Zahia

Property: Riad Al Zahia
Address: 4 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Medina, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Zahia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Zahia is one of the best places to spend a few days in Essaouira, with friends, on family or in couple Essaouira has lots to offer, to visit and to see, and Riad AL Zahia has the best location to explore it all.We have all kind of rooms for everybody doubles, triples, twins and family rooms, all rooms are different styled, cossy and very confortable, average big and high roof with its private bathrooms.We have a lovely terrasse where you can have your breakfast admiring the beautifull Ocean and the wonderful roofs of the medina, like a tale!!Book your tickets now, Essaouira is waiting for you, be very welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Al Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing