We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauuuutiful riad !!”
Review of Riad Al Zahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Zahia
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beauuuutiful riad !!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

One of the few riads that have a suite , we were 4 adults and it was realllyyyy comfortable !!
The owners and staff are very helpful and nice :)
The roof terrace is beautiful for breakfast, afternoon coffee or even sun tanning :)
It really Feels like home
I highly recommend this beautiful riad !
Thanks for the beautiful people who welcomed us so warmly :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    90
    21
    1
    6
See reviews for
56
107
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We spent one night at this beautiful riad after a really bad experience at Dar L'Oussia.

What a great time we had. Clemente and Sara made sure that we felt like home.

This is a beautiful riad, clean an comfty. On top of that, the breakfast at the terrace was THE BEST we had in any riads in our three week gateway in that beautiful country.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Sarah and Clemente gave us a very good service and lots of tips and to do's in Essaouira.
The rooms are big and clean and even they made a fantastic local dinner for us.
For those who enjoy living different experiences... five stars for the breakfast at the rooftop!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This Riad is perfectly located in the medina and it's all lovely - nice decor in the rooms, great roof terrace, very nice staff. Breakfast is good if not really varied, try to book dinner in the Riad - simple yet perfectly seasoned local home cooking.

We tried the restaurant just next door to Riad and it was very good too.

The room (we had a suite) was very spacious and clean. Street windows allowed noise in but mainly from the birds in the morning.

Beach is not far, try to walk up further down as it is less crowded.
Many attractions on offer - surf, kite surfing, or horse and camel rides. Try the beach bar Ocean Vagabond for chilled out hangout and licensed offerings (though food is rather underwhelming)

I hope to be back.

Room Tip: I think higher floor rooms might have a fresher air, but you need not to mind the winding stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Easy access to several knowledgeable staff members, including the handsome and charming Spanish owner, set this well-appointed and carefully-maintained raid atop the ratings chart for us during a four-night visit in late May. The most-atypical town in which this intimate hotel is centrally located was one of the two most memorable of the ten we visited in Morocco. Unknown to us prior to spotting it on TripAdvisor while in Marrakech, we are thrilled to have experienced its bright courtyard and roof-top breakfast-nook plus cafe and bar. Several diverse restaurants will be recommended by the staff and none disappointed us. Most aspects of local life are within a 15 minute walk and safely available. Couples of all ages will likely applaud this choice.

Room Tip: each room is carefully and tastefully decorated by the owner's good friend. There are difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeman c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The charming seaside town, quite different than those in mainland. Hotel situated in the very centre, if you are by car you need to leave it in the parking and get to on foot (you can arrange porters), very clean, comfortable and nice hotel, helpful and friendly staff, breakfast on the tarrace, hotel offers a magnificent view from the tarrace, the charming rooms with comfortable beds, large room, for a greater number of people are also comfortable enough big beds. Due to the "smell" from the sewage system (bug most hotels in the old centres) you might want to take a room with window to the street, there is no noise from the street so nothing disturbs. If you want to sit out on the terrace in the evening, you need to know that you can hear every call in all hotel - the roof is opened.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Nice rooms, well decorated, clean and comfortable. Excellent location. impeccable service. Would loved to stay longer here. Good service and attentive staff. Staff even showed us around the riad on arrival to make us we felt at home, and took us to the best schwarma too....lovely that he walked us there...so helpful. This guy finitely deserves a pay rise or reward for fantastic service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Zahia

Property: Riad Al Zahia
Address: 4 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Medina, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Zahia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Zahia is one of the best places to spend a few days in Essaouira, with friends, on family or in couple Essaouira has lots to offer, to visit and to see, and Riad AL Zahia has the best location to explore it all.We have all kind of rooms for everybody doubles, triples, twins and family rooms, all rooms are different styled, cossy and very confortable, average big and high roof with its private bathrooms.We have a lovely terrasse where you can have your breakfast admiring the beautifull Ocean and the wonderful roofs of the medina, like a tale!!Book your tickets now, Essaouira is waiting for you, be very welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Al Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing