We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Riad in the old Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Zahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Al Zahia
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Riad in the old Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I live in Morocco and my family came to visit. We went to Essaouira as our last city before they returned home and the LOVED everything about it, especially the Riad. It is the prefect place to stay in the old medina and the staff and atmosphere was so enjoyable. The rooftop view was our hang out spot every night, you can't beat the 360 degree views! Our room, we were 4 to the room, was very spacious, so clean and amazing. Breakfast on the roof deck every morning was also great, delicious mismen (a traditional Moroccan breakfast item), fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice along with traditional bread with olive oil, jam and cheese. A great place to stay if you are ever in Essaouira.

Room Tip: All the rooms in this Riad are excellent. They have a great selection for larger groups, like we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lexy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    89
    21
    1
    6
See reviews for
55
105
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

First the positives - the Riad is in a great location in the north-western part of the old town and is nicely furnished and presented inside.

Now the bad - curiously the Riad seems almost to try to appeal to backpackers with it's Europop music continually playing on the terrace from 10am to 9pm every day, yet does not have backpacker prices or clientele. Unfortunately the music from the terrace echoes around the whole interior of the building and is quite intrusive - especially in the nicer rooms at the top. I went upstairs to turn it down myself a couple of times and spoke to staff, yet later it was turned back up again. The bed was not very comfortable, but could have lived with that if the music had been off. The combination of the two made this Riad unbearable for us.
Lose the music please, you don't need it and it thoroughly spoils the experience.

Room Tip: You are between a rock and a hard place - the higher rooms are further away from noise at the main d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BudgieMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

What a wonderful surprise! We drove to Essaouira so parking was tricky as this was our first stay in a medina. We left the bags in the car until we were shown the riad, at a cost. The girl at reception was very helpful and showed us the short way back to the car and how much we should expect to be charged. Be prepared to haggle - 25Dh a day. A lovely breakfast was included and recommendations were given for good eateries and bars. The riad did have some beer and wine available but ran out very quickly. The staff were all friendly and serviced our room daily. Will recommend this riad to anyone.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in bring ear plugs because the seagulls start early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed in Riad Al Zahia with 2 other girls in April. The rooms were very nice and the bathroom and showers were fantastic. They served a tasty breakfast in the morning.
The Riad itself was quite expensive but more luxurious than other places we had stayed on our travels.
What really made our experience was how we were treated by the Riads chef on the terrace, Yassine.
He befriended us straight away and truly could not do enough for us.
Yassine was very helpful and recommended lots of things for us to do in Essaouira. He even took us to the "Jimi Hendrix Cafe" on his day off and showed us about this beautiful sea town.
He is a credit to the Riad Al Zahia and it was a privilege to have met such a kind and genuine person.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Beautiful riad in the perfect location!!! Right in the middle of the Medina and 3 minute walk from beach. Wonderful rooms, great breakfasts, great bathrooms...Sarah was absolutely the best! Hospitality doesn't get better! Thank you Sarah for your help when we really needed it!! Would highly recommend this riad to anyone....LOVED IT!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

When you book to such a place in Marocco, you expect a great maroccan welcome and service. Unfortunately, that was not the case. From the welcome to the departure, the hospitality was not tremendous. And the details - which make all the difference between average and excellent - were relevant : door that could not close for 3 days, low pressure on water, one light every two on lamps, broken steps on the stair...Too bad since we stayed there 4 nights with family. Not miserable but not what we expected from this range of prices...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClementeN, Gerente at Riad Al Zahia, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
We are really dissapointed with guesst that when you asked everything is ok and after is totaly opposit!

We have been very nice with that guest about prices (4nigths at 320€? and they talked about that as expensive..

we were confidence before theur arrived and finally we did'nt ask their any advance and we've kept yhe suite, becuase they did'nt want to pay an advance
And the 3 children werw runing, crying for 3 days.

Nex time iif people come to morocco look a hotel and not a riad in the medina, people dont apreciate the good things. and they are talking about our wellcome? we were really kind from the begining untill the end with that guest. they talk about door? stairs? lights? and presion?
if its true, we were really unlucky!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here only for one night. The rooms are spacious, and authentic looking. This riad has many rooms, about 10 by the looks of it.

Location is good - note that the city is very small anyways so wouldn't take more than 10 min walking from one point to the next.

Breakfast was average, but nice view from the terrasse.

All around an ok hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank genlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#16 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#36 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#30 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Zahia

Property: Riad Al Zahia
Address: 4 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Medina, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Zahia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Zahia is one of the best places to spend a few days in Essaouira, with friends, on family or in couple Essaouira has lots to offer, to visit and to see, and Riad AL Zahia has the best location to explore it all.We have all kind of rooms for everybody doubles, triples, twins and family rooms, all rooms are different styled, cossy and very confortable, average big and high roof with its private bathrooms.We have a lovely terrasse where you can have your breakfast admiring the beautifull Ocean and the wonderful roofs of the medina, like a tale!!Book your tickets now, Essaouira is waiting for you, be very welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Al Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing