We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when we visit Essaouira a third time we will stay here”
Review of Riad Al Zahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Al Zahia
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“when we visit Essaouira a third time we will stay here”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This was our second visit to Essaouira and this time with friends who are in their 70's. We knew how much we would have to pay the cart boys on arrival at the Supra Tours bus station and we entered the medina via a different doorway to the first time and enjoyed the brisk walk to our riad. It is extremely well located, either a left turn from the front door toward the ocean and the city walls or a right turn to two of the smaller squares for eating or drinking.

The rooms were spacious, bright and extremely comfortable. Our friends were equally happy with their room just across from us. Our rooms were located on the first floor so not too many stairs to negotiate....always a consideration for older travellers. Breakfasts were generous and delicious, the coffee extremely good quality. The staff were always on hand and friendly and helpful and fortunately for us they spoke excellent English. On a personal note I was impressed by the fact that we had 'real' roses in our room and in fact there were fresh roses through the entire riad including the tinkling fountain on the ground floor patio. The rooftop terrace had comfy lounges, tables and chairs (just like the photos) and looked out onto rooftops and the ocean. . . it would have been wonderful to have breakfast out there later in the year when the sun had a little more power but the weather in Feb was in the low 20's and ever so comfortable.

Just quickly would like to say we paid our deposit by direct debit and all correspondence was done via the internet. We received emails confirming our payment and booking and as we booked so far in advance, closer to our arrival time received another confirmation of our booking. Any queries we did have were answered immediately or the next day. Very professional.

I would recommend this hotel for older travellers like us, younger people and also family groups as they do have a number of family rooms (I did peak into two family rooms and they are extremely spacious). We both want another visit to Essaouira and will not look for anywhere else to stay when we do go again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cactusangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    90
    21
    1
    6
See reviews for
56
107
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Friendly, professional, clean. Great breakfasts and rooms and very helpful manager and staff.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeefromHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eindhoven
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Clemente's team gave us a perfect stay at his riad. Close to the beach and the center of the city this riad gave us enough comfort for an one week stay. Breakfast is typical morrocain; simple but delicious. on the roof there is enough space to relax and enjoy the sun. We were there with 2 young daughters (8 and 9) but no issue at all. good restaurants in the surrounding and @ the reception one is most willing to help and to advise. English speaking @ reception is good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olifantje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed 2 weeks at the Rhiad al Zahia and had a wonderful stay. The owner Clemente and his team made us feel very welcome. The boys were on holiday to windsurf and the girls to explore the local area and culture.

The Rhiad is perfectly placed in the Medina, close to the restaurants, banks, near to the Museum, and a 20-30 minute walk to the Windsurfing/Surfing Centre Ocean Vagabond.

Clemente was able to help book a kayak trip, give advice on a day trip to Marrakech and booked us a massage.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, each individually themed and with their own colour scheme.

The breakfast can be enjoyed up on the Sun Terrace or in the Lounge, and consists of tea or coffee, tasty breads, croissants and pain au chocolat and freshly squeezed orange juice.

A recent review written - which includes Rhiad photo's - see Reviews section.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Lovely riad, comfortable rooms (with bathrooms larger than average for a riad), great staff (so helpful!), amazing breakfast (especially if you take it on the roof terrace), excellent location within the medina and easy to get to, beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout - what more can you say? Only thing that could be improved: the bathroom could do with some hooks and perhaps a chair/stool for hanging clothes. This was my second stay and it won't be my last, inshallah.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2009

I have visited Essaouira 3 or 4 times and each time I go back....I book into Riad Al Zahia.

The staff are young and warm and friendly. The owner is a young chilled out Spanish guy called Clemente and his informal, warm nature is infectious, so the whole place feels relaxed and easy going. He speaks English, French and Spanish and is a keen wind and kite surfer, so he can offer lots of practical advice on surfing, quad bike hire, transport to Marrakesh and elsewhere.

The house has 8 bedrooms and is really conveniently located for the main square, 2 minutes from the main shopping street and local restaurants and just 5 minutes walk to the huge beach. There is a pleasant roof terrace - where Khalid will have to fight off the seagulls while he waits for you to come and have your breakfast on the roof !!

If you want a peaceful break in a warm friendly atmosphere with genuinely helpful staff - this is a hidden gem and the place to visit. I shall certainly be back....who knows, I might see you there !!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at this riad in Essaouria. The location is wonderful if you want to be in the media and near the souks. It is walking distance to the beach and all other sites in the city. I agree that the first time somebody will need to show you how to get there.

The rooms are comfortable, but basic. We soon learned that any riad we stayed in you are at the mercy of the noise coming from the main floor common room. At night we opened the window in our room and ventilation was okay (we did not have an exterior window). However, we did found that it was quite noisy at night with the window open. When guests came in (and if they made noise), you definitely heard it. And during the night it would get noisy, we were not sure if it was people within the riad or the building next door.

The breakfast was wonderful and it was nice to have it served up on the terrace.

The english-speaking skills of the staff were a bit limited (we do not speak french well), so we had to pretty much stick to our guidebook for directions around the town.

  • Liked — Wonderful breakfasts and great location within the medina
  • Disliked — A bit noisy at night
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldilocks08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Zahia

Property: Riad Al Zahia
Address: 4 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Medina, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Zahia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Zahia is one of the best places to spend a few days in Essaouira, with friends, on family or in couple Essaouira has lots to offer, to visit and to see, and Riad AL Zahia has the best location to explore it all.We have all kind of rooms for everybody doubles, triples, twins and family rooms, all rooms are different styled, cossy and very confortable, average big and high roof with its private bathrooms.We have a lovely terrasse where you can have your breakfast admiring the beautifull Ocean and the wonderful roofs of the medina, like a tale!!Book your tickets now, Essaouira is waiting for you, be very welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Al Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing