We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Haven in the Centre of Essaouira” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven in the Centre of Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

I travelled together with a friend in Morocco, and Essaouira was our first stop during the last few days of March. This is SUCH a friendly, convenient and peaceful small hotel in which to stay, very reasonably priced too. The staff go out of their way to be helpful, and the rooms are simply and tastefully furnished plus immaculately clean. The breakfasts on the terrace are delicious, and the convenience of being right in the centre of the medina is a big plus - just a few yards from a dozen small restaurants, the little shopping streets, the harbour, souks, and beach. Don't be put off by the rather grotty little alleyway that it's at the end of, once inside the central courtyard is peaceful, cool and filled with plants and interesting art.. When I return to lovely Essaouira I shall stay here again.

Room Tip: I loved our twin bedded room on the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0mads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    124
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
210
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I went to Essaouira last week with my boyfriend and I spent two nights in the hotel.
The people working there they are really nice and helpfull. The hotel is beautiful and really colorfull. They have a beautiful "Salon du thé" where there is always amazing music playing. The breakfast simple but really nice.
We were in a room in the terrace. For the price we paid we had a normal size room with 2 beds (no double beds available) a little table with 2 chairs and a fantastic bathroom with really nice shower.
The location is great too.
I recommend it to everybody!

Mariona (London)

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fiona_404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We spent a week in this beautiful and lovely hotel, where we were welcomed with heartwarming attention and warmth. The rooms are spotless and decorated in a traditional way. The breakfast is a treat with fresh juice and served in the lovely roof terrace or in the cosy ground floor rooms. We had dinner in the hotel a few times, which was absolutely delicious The service is genuinly attentive and loving, always with a smile. Les Matins Bleus is a very relaxed and comfortable place, perfectly situated in a quite street in the middle of beautiful Essaouira. We will
remember our stay here always, and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estrid1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

I expected to be disappointed with this hotel as we had just stayed at a fantastic place in Marrakech. I was happy to be proved wrong.
The hotel is in the heart of the Medina, down a quiet street.
It is beautifully decorated with secluded areas downstairs for dinner and drinks.
Our room was a suite, which was lovely but did not have a bath, the sofa was small and uncomfortable and the second "bedrooom" in the suite was really just a bed placed on an open mezzanine level. So make sure you only share a suite with close friends/family and don't value your privacy!
Our friends' double room was very small and none of the rooms appeared to have a safe, despite having to hand in our room key to reception every time we went out.
The way Riads are designed in Morocco means that there are few windows, so the rooms can be a little dark and damp/stuffy. But you have to weigh up the pros and cons of staying in a typical Riad/Dar compared to an air-conditioned but soulless modern hotel.
The staff were helpful and let me borrow a hair dryer for the duration of my stay. Internet was free.
Would I stay here again? Maybe.
Remember that no taxis are allowed in the Medina, which is nice after coming from the dangerous chaos of Marrakech, so get a man with a trolley at the bus stop.
Another tip is to book your bus in and out of Essouira ahead of time and always instruct trolley drivers exactly where you need to go as there is more than one bus station.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihatecraphotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Les Matins Bleu instantly felt like a home from home.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and it was nice to stay in a family run Riad with a family history. The location was perfect, right in the middle of the medina and yet peaceful and quiet, with the harbour and it's fish stalls only a few minutes away.

The atmosphere was very relaxing, with the courtyard of the Riad a very lovely place to sit and rest.

All in all this is a wonderful place to stay, and one of the cheapest too..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fergus_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
expatriate Southerner in Lancashire.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

We spent a very relaxed long weekend in Essaouira, staying at Les Matins Bleus, & found the staff to be consistently friendly, helpful & courteous.
The central courtyard or riyad was beautifully decorated in traditional style & the sitting rooms leading off from this were comfortable, cosy & atmospheric. The breakfasts which we ate in the courtyard were wholesome & appetizing & the candlelit evening meal we had was delicious, & cooked for us expertly by Myriam the talented chef. The mainly young staff had a passion for Arabic & West African music, which contributed to a calm & cultured ambiance too.
Our room on the roof terrace was tastefully but simply furnished, with a sturdy comfortable bed, local rugs adorning the tiled floor, & ample clean en-suite facilities with well-functioning plumbing, & plentiful hot water provided by solar heaters. Other rooms which we glimpsed from the riyad had more lavish furnishings, with 4 poster beds, sitting areas & mezzanine bed platforms.
The staff were caring but relaxed, & seemed to enjoy their work, & to take pleasure & pride in advising & helping us to make the most of our stay in the characterful attractive fishing port of Essaouira.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Charming place, clean rooms, multilingual staff, simple yummy breakfast, and I was even able to check my email on the Riad's computer. I was traveling with my 84 year old mother and 20 year old daughter. we were all thrilled. Highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Matins Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Property: Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Address: 22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#13 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Matins Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Les Matins Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Matins Bleus Essaouira
Les Matins Bleus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing