We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely riad and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely riad and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We spent our first night in Morocco in Les Matins Bleus and were delighted by the calm oasis after a hectic arrival. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly, helping out where needed and giving a warm welcome. We left Essaouira after a good night sleep and a nice breakfast with new energy and a good feeling. We would book Les Matins Bleus definitely again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    125
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
98
211
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The riad was very friendly, giving a personal touch and I particularly liked finding out how the evening meal was prepared when I spent some time in the kitchen. Our room was at the top on the terrace which was great - very close for breakfast! The breakfasts were lovely - a little more variation would be appreciated as it was the same every day and was getting a bit 'samey' by the fourth morning - different pastries would be lovely.
Our room was quite small but clean and perfectly adequate - excellent value for money.

On the cook's day off we asked for ideas of places to eat and one recommended provided a delicious meal.
We loved the location of the riad - up an alleyway so quiet but in the medina so very close to everything - great!
A pleasant touch, when we returned home was a courtesy email from the owners - a lovely touch.
We'd definatelystay in Les Matins Blue again - hope we can!

Room Tip: Lovely quiet room on the terrace - we had room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Me and my sister stayed here for a night in April and had a wonderful time. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and tidy and the rooftop was stunning and perfect for lazying around and also for the yummy breakfast in the morning. The riad is right in the centre of the Medina and very easy to get to the port and the beach. Definitely reccommend Les Matins Bleus!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

If you want value for money, friendly helpful staff,charming furnishings/colours/rooms that reflect the area and are spotlessy clean etc then you cannot go wrong. Stayed here for a week in March and could not fault it ! Indeed I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I ever go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in this riad for two nights. The first night in a small room in the upstairs terrace. The room is quite nice, bright and clean. However, there were ants in the room (on the ground near the door). In addition, since it is on the terrace, if people wish to sit outside at night, it can be a bit loud. The staff at this riad are what you pay for. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The second night we stayed in the appartment, wish is very spacious and clean, however very damp and musty. They have heaters available to help, but the appartment is so large that it get the dampness out of the air. I would not recommend staying in the apartments because of this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Super location in the medina but only minutes from the beach, sea, harbour. Close by but away from the hubbub of town we found it a really good location.
Spot itself has super comfy rooms on landings around a cental courtyard, lovely breakfast & all the help you need from the brothers.
Local buses north & south gave for brilliant day long ambles along the coast, just don't miss the last bus back

Room Tip: Make sure you take the location plan, Its round a corner in a cul de sac!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel around Christmas time. From the friendly welcome when we arrived everything about the stay was wonderful.
There were just two of us, but we were out in the 'apartment' - two double beds and a sitting area - which would be fantastic value for a family or group staying together. (and we just paid the price of a standard double!)
Breakfast on the lovely terrace is included in the price.

Room Tip: Apartment would be a great option for a family or group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ella232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Matins Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Property: Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Address: 22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#13 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Matins Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Les Matins Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Matins Bleus Essaouira
Les Matins Bleus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing