We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Very clean and cheap hotel, I had a 4 poster-bed!! Definately recommend, good service, lovely public rooms and terrace. Cannot possibly go wrong for the price. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    128
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
101
219
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

My husband and I had such a wonderful stay at this beautiful riad. It is in a great location (dont be put off by the alleyway which takes you to the front door) just minutes walk from the sea front. We ended up staying for a week, but wish it had been longer. The rooms are a good size and beautifully decorated. Breakfast is included and very good - pastries, home made pancakes with jams etc and boiled eggs on request!

The riad is family run but Abdel, Samir and Yussuf (2 brothers and a cousin). They made us feel exceptionally welcome and we became good friends with them, even having a cooking lesson from the extremely talented Myriam!

If we ever go back to Essouira we will definitely be staying here again.

Thanks for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaBeanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTac, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This is a clean, well-run riad run by two brothers and their cousin in what was formerly their family home. The location is excellent and the rooms clean and well-kept. Keep in mind that depending on the weather, rooms can feel a bit damp because the walls are thick stone and there are no windows. The downstairs lounge area is comfortable and cozy. We found it a very relaxing place to have tea and read in the afternoon or in the evening. Breakfast was an assortment of pastries, bread, coffee/tea and juice. I'd stay here again. The price is certainly right.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This is the second time my family and I have stayed here. Again we weren't disappointed. Great location, beautiful hotel environment, high standards of cleanliness and most impotantly...fantastic staff. Nothing was ever a problem and all the staff were very friendly and very helpfull. The hotel also provides a very good value evening meal, cooked by Miryiam, which was the most scrumptous food we ate in Essaouria. The hotel is excellent value and I would not hesitate to return for 3rd time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcheuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We spent a few nights at this hotel on our recent holiday to Morocco, after finding it in the 'budget' section of the Lonely Planet guide. The staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere in the hotel, and in Essaouira generally, was really laidback and relaxed, a welcome relief after the constant hassle we got in cities like Fez and Marrakech. The rooms were basic but clean, the bed was comfy and the shower was the best we experienced in Morocco. Although there is a laundry service, there is also an area on the roof terrace for guests to dry their clothes, which came in very handy for us at the end of a long trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelpixieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u/k
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Spent three nights at the Les Matins Bleus 20th-23rd Sep Great place to stay.central to
every thing .
Loverly place run by loverly people.

Graham& Louise Baylis

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank googlespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We stayed in the "suite" which had two double beds, one on a small mezzanine level and the other in a separate side room. Both were meticulously cleaned during each day we stayed. The staff were very friendly and it felt more like staying in someone's house than in a hotel. No air conditioning here but Essaouira is quite a cool town anyway so not really necessary. The included breakfast was good and the price was definitely right. And finally, the location is superb - right in the centre of the Medina (old town) down a quiet dead-end street; you can walk to anywhere in the Medina within 5 mins at the most.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 74 in Essaouira
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
95 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Matins Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Property: Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Address: 22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#13 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Matins Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Les Matins Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Matins Bleus Essaouira
Les Matins Bleus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing