We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Matins Bleu instantly felt like a home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Les Matins Bleu instantly felt like a home from home.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and it was nice to stay in a family run Riad with a family history. The location was perfect, right in the middle of the medina and yet peaceful and quiet, with the harbour and it's fish stalls only a few minutes away.

The atmosphere was very relaxing, with the courtyard of the Riad a very lovely place to sit and rest.

All in all this is a wonderful place to stay, and one of the cheapest too..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergus_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2010

We spent a very relaxed long weekend in Essaouira, staying at Les Matins Bleus, & found the staff to be consistently friendly, helpful & courteous.
The central courtyard or riyad was beautifully decorated in traditional style & the sitting rooms leading off from this were comfortable, cosy & atmospheric. The breakfasts which we ate in the courtyard were wholesome & appetizing & the candlelit evening meal we had was delicious, & cooked for us expertly by Myriam the talented chef. The mainly young staff had a passion for Arabic & West African music, which contributed to a calm & cultured ambiance too.
Our room on the roof terrace was tastefully but simply furnished, with a sturdy comfortable bed, local rugs adorning the tiled floor, & ample clean en-suite facilities with well-functioning plumbing, & plentiful hot water provided by solar heaters. Other rooms which we glimpsed from the riyad had more lavish furnishings, with 4 poster beds, sitting areas & mezzanine bed platforms.
The staff were caring but relaxed, & seemed to enjoy their work, & to take pleasure & pride in advising & helping us to make the most of our stay in the characterful attractive fishing port of Essaouira.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Charming place, clean rooms, multilingual staff, simple yummy breakfast, and I was even able to check my email on the Riad's computer. I was traveling with my 84 year old mother and 20 year old daughter. we were all thrilled. Highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randi607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We spent five nights at this lovely place, the first two in their apartment next door because the riad was fully booked (we had booked only a few days before our stay). Whilst the apartment was functional and clean it was perhaps more suitable for a group/family having two double beds and being self contained - it left us feeling a little cut off from life in the riad.
We just loved the atmosphere in the riad with people of all nationalities chatting in the communal areas. Our room and bathroom were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good and typical of those we had in Morocco - hot drinks, breads, preserves and fresh orange juice - is it fair to ask for items not typical of the area to be included in the breakfasts? We ate a delicious, reasonably priced dinner in the riad following a lesson in tagine cookery with Myriam. We particularly enjoyed using the lounge areas to relax, read and listen to the traditional music - lovely after full days of sightseeing. In other riads we stayed at the ground floor rooms had been converted into additional bedrooms which we felt robbed them of the atmosphere that so attracted us to Les Matins Bleus.
The riad is very central and we felt it gave us a good experience of the local life and culture.

Most of all we felt that enthusiasm of all of the staff made this the favourite riad of our stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greynomad010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We had an excellent five days here with two young children. The team could not havebeen more friendly or helpfull. The rooms were spotless and wlll equiped, and very good value for money. The Opertunity to cook dinne with the chef was a great experience and the food was impecible. Couldnt recomend it more

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owen045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We felt totally at home here. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, and the communal spaces of the riad are set up so that you feel comfortable just chilling out. Our room was sweet - simply decorated and clean, although it might have been good to have a window in the bathroom. Really well located, bang in the middle of the old town, but totally quiet at night. Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happycamper186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Les Matins Bleus has been quite an island in a town we didn´t like that much. Very efficient and very friendly staff, quite an unsual easiness ! The place was extremely tidy, beeing cleaned every day . Bed linens and towels were changed daily and the room was thoroughly cleaned, too. Breakfast was standard ( coffee, tea, pancake, jam, honey,bread, butter, fresh orange juice), some fresh fruits and eggs would be nice ! Dinner prices are reasonable. Rooms are a bit smelly because of the damp of the air.
No one was pushy as usual, there were not the usual offers of tours, restaurants, shops ! A place to relax, to meet easy people, to speak many languages. And : the best music !

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meinstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#43 of 75 in Essaouira
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#27 of 75 in Essaouira
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Matins Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Address: 22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#13 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £29 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Matins Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Les Matins Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Matins Bleus Essaouira
Les Matins Bleus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing