We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and friendly staff”
Review of Riad Zahra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Zahra
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Nice rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel as a whole has a nice ambiance rooms are big and spacious, colorful and well lit. There is a problem with the toilets and the stink inside. The toilet in my room was leaking in the roof, that could have caused the stink. Walking distance from the old Medina. Staff was friendly but the food was a bit lousy and meager. On the whole a good place if you are not expecting very high standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Sir ,
First ,thanks for your kind contribution .
Your feedback is very important to us,I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope to receive you another time with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    164
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
195
326
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Rhiad Zhara has a reputation for being a stylish Rhiad 5 minutes taxi ride, 25 mins walk from the old Medina. (8 dirhams). However there are issues that we feel need to be highlighted and resolved.
We stayed at The Rhiad for 4 nights on recommendations from trip adviser in room 21

The Rhiad Zhara provided us with a very hard mattress that had a large hollow due to not being turned regularly. This ensured a very bad nights sleep although the manager tried to rectify by adding two mattresses on top !! The terrace toilet above our room had a leaking toilet system above which kept us awake

The breakfast is very uninspiring consisting of bread rolls two dairy lee cheese segments , very small crepe with honey and jam... Fruit was provided which was ok but peaches where unripe and difficult to eat. We were also charged to have omelettes and boiled eggs !! We think that should of been included in the breakfast. We were not told this was a chargeable item by the Rhiad Zhara and we were never asked to sign for it !! On checkout we were charged and we felt cheated. Overall the managers were very pleasant together with the staff but lacked the very basic standards of a comfortable sleep whilst overcharging in a very calculated way...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockaphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Riad Zahra.

Your feedback is very important to us,I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Always our guests are informed for the extra charges. It's not our quality policy to make pay extra charges if the guest has been not informed.

I hope to receive you another time with us.
Sincerely yours
Xavier

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Located 20-30mins walk from Medina, sea view from some rooms, parking in front of the hotel (free of charge), helpful assistance, the room ok, just the stink coming from the toilette was disturbing (once the door closed, all fine), bed covers / blankets 100% clean, helpful and friendly reception staff, there are two restaurants in the riad (ok), nice breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asTOMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
I'm not glad to see your experience was only ok in Riad Zahra, but I don't remember to have complaints from you about our Riad or our services.
I hope to see you in the future .
All the best
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This charming riad in Essaouira is so calm and welcoming it feels like home from the moment you walk through the doors. Set back from the main road in a quiet street with its own parking, Riad Zahra is a 2 minute walk from the amazing beach. Strolling along the sea front at a gentle pace will take about 15 minutes to reach the medina and harbour. Xavier, the proprietor is gently hospitable and with his family and staff take care of every detail in an unfussy way. The rooms are comfortable and many have a balcony (or 2). Breakfast is simple and plentiful and both restaurants serve delicious food. Make sure you dine one evening in the rooftop restaurant where the catch of the day is grilled to your liking with superb views of the bay - I would recommend reserving a table if you want to catch the sunset. The pool is sunny all day and has the added attraction of terrapins and tortoises to watch as you laze. Their lazy ways encourage you to relax. Essaouira is a kite surfing destination and Riad Zahra has a school if you are new to all of this and are extremely relaxed about kite kit storage. The Riad is superbly clean in all areas, the sunbeds are comfy and the decor is cool and elegant. There are plenty of cosy sitting areas. We had excellent wifi in our rooms but I understand that the ground floor lobby has good reception if your room hasn't. Please don't go and stay here, I want to keep it all to myself. It's only fair to say that there is a lot of overdue construction in Essaouira at the moment, mainly the sea front, but there was some building going on at the rear. However this did not disturb us in any way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a long and positive review of our Riad on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our team as well as the
facilities of Riad Zahra.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers. We stayed for 10 nights and booked an extra night as we enjoyed it so much. There are plenty if local restaurants and two good ones in Riad Zahara itself. There's a gorgeous beach 2 minutes walk away and the town centre is a 15 minute walk away. Taxis are easy to get and a good price if you haggle.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cstokes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear guests,

We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your positive review.
We hope to welcome you back to Riad Zahra in the near futur.
Kind regards,
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay here I only ate here at the restaurant and it was beautiful ! It was fairly empty so we had one to one choice of our food with the chef, the waiter was very pleasant and polite . The food was beautiful we chose our own lobster and personalised our meals. The owner was very nice and accommodating . Would 100% recommend the restaurant !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Soph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Soph,

Thanks for your review and for recommending Zahra's Grill and I hope to see you next time in
Riad Zahra .
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Had mixed feelings about Riad Zahra.

The good bits: the staff! Xavier was very welcoming, helpful and spoke perfect English and many other languages. And the young Moroccan guy that worked in the restaurants was so lovely and charming, with beautiful English was very informative. Lovely restaurant areas both up and downstairs, the best breakfast on all of our Morocco trip and good large pool with turtles! So unique! And the whole place is very very clean, which is the most important thing to me when travelling.

The bits I didn't really like we're the room we were in. It looked over the carpark and was over the reception and was so noisy and felt a bit dingy. I am a light sleeper and could hear every time someone came and went, spoke, parked a car, drove past etc. the whole place is quite noisy due to the rooms all looking into a central, but covered courtyard. The style of the room felt quite dated too - so I felt the price for the room was excessive considering all the above. Bt then again, everything in Morocco was alot more pricey than i expected. But, I did see into a couple of the rooms with balconies and they are so light and airy and open - would have loved to get one of these. But the place is so popular it is constantly booked so we were lucky spot even get the room we did have.

The location is about 15-20 mins walk to the Medina which was fine for us, or a very cheap 10dh taxi ride, so that wasn't really a problem, but just all around here feels like a half done then forgotten construction site. I think the govt are doing up the path along the beach front but never saw it actually being worked in while we were there.. And it's just dirty and piles of construction material at the moment, once this is done it should look a lot better.

For the most budget friendly place with a pool walking distance to the Medina this would have to be it, just don't expect anything amazing from the rooms and you should be pleasantly surprised.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 980ginab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Riad Zahra.
Apologies for your room looked over the carpark, but probably was the last room available.
I hope to see you in the future and I hope to reserve the room with balconies or the room with sea
view.
I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like
to express my sincerest apologies.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.4 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
512 reviews
4.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zahra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra

Property: Riad Zahra
Address: 90 Amira Lalla Meryem | Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes' walk from the beach and 20 minutes from the Medina and souks, you'll find this family run Riad with its 23 bedrooms has everything you need for a delightful holiday as a family, a couple or with friends. Riad Zahra is in the residential quarter of Essaouira. All its comfortable bedrooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style and have en suite bath rooms, satellite TV and Wifi. There are family sized rooms, others have balconies and some enjoy a sea view. And you'll enjoy meals in our two restaurants whose great range of Moroccan, Asian and Spanish dishes is enhanced by a wide choice of the Kingdom's wines. Open air swimming pool, terraces and parking. We'll happily help you organize your stay and can recommend places to visit, restaurants, surfing and kitesurf schools, rides on horse or camels, transfers from airports, vehicle hire ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Zahra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing