We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kindness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Zahra

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riad Zahra
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Kindness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We did try and enjoy our selves but I was becoming ill . The Riad is very nice and our room was clean. The pool area clean and very nice . Breakfast ok . We would go back the staff were very helpful we were checking out and I had to see a doctor . In the end the reception arranged for him to come to our room ( we were leaving ) He was English speaking and very good I needed antibiotics . So I was grateful for the service , and the local Doctor they used . Thank you Riad Zahra.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swim023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guests,

I hope you have recovered and many thanks to take the time to write your experience at Riad
Zahra.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra .
Best wishes
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    156
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
185
306
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I would definitely recommend this riad. It had friendly and helpful staff, a lovely ground floor terrace with a swimming pool, great breakfasts. All in all a lovely riad located a 5 minutes walk away from the beach but 15 mins walk from the Medina. The grill restaurant on the top floor was the best food we had in our 2 weeks in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventure_rhum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guests,

We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your positive review.
Our team is working hard every day to make our guest feels happy and your satisfaction is the best reward they could receive.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.

Kind regards,
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for 6 nights for a bit of r & r after couple days in Marrakesh & traveling in the Atlas mountains. Hotel has a nice chilled atmosphere & the owners are very friendly & helpful. Good location close to the beach. Its away from the main area but only 25min walk or 50p taxi ride to the Medina & restaurants. Nice clean pool area with plenty of sun beds & sun most of the day & out of the wind. Had booked basic room but wish we had realized that there were larger rooms with balconies. Unfortunately none available when we arrived. Our room over the reception was quite noisy & the bed was very hard & uncomfortable. Also very light in the morning as south facing & thin curtains. Good stay & would come back..

Room Tip: Ask for larger room with balcony. LHS at top of stairs nice & sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for this review and for recommending the Riad Zahra.
Riad Zahra have 24 rooms and we have small rooms, big rooms with balcony or big rooms with
Ocean view.
We hope to have you back at Riad Zahra in a nicest room for your full satisfaction.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here for a week on a kite surfing holiday. The hotel has great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. There is a pool, lounge and two restaurants. Location is perfect for beach access with several surfing schools just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and was very glad we met your
expectations.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Riad Zahra.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We went to Riad Zahra for the third time. That sais it all. It's the mix between the more than friendly owners, the good food in the restaurants ( two!!), the fresh fish is to dy for, the open pool, and its very near the beach. The prices are more than acceptable. So, à place to look for when going to Essaouira.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Henk,

Many thanks for this review and for recommending the Riad Zahra.
We are very happy to read that our hotel was able to answer your expectations on the third time,
and we will be very glad to welcome you back in the future for the 4th time.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel as a whole has a nice ambiance rooms are big and spacious, colorful and well lit. There is a problem with the toilets and the stink inside. The toilet in my room was leaking in the roof, that could have caused the stink. Walking distance from the old Medina. Staff was friendly but the food was a bit lousy and meager. On the whole a good place if you are not expecting very high standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Sir ,
First ,thanks for your kind contribution .
Your feedback is very important to us,I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope to receive you another time with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Rhiad Zhara has a reputation for being a stylish Rhiad 5 minutes taxi ride, 25 mins walk from the old Medina. (8 dirhams). However there are issues that we feel need to be highlighted and resolved.
We stayed at The Rhiad for 4 nights on recommendations from trip adviser in room 21

The Rhiad Zhara provided us with a very hard mattress that had a large hollow due to not being turned regularly. This ensured a very bad nights sleep although the manager tried to rectify by adding two mattresses on top !! The terrace toilet above our room had a leaking toilet system above which kept us awake

The breakfast is very uninspiring consisting of bread rolls two dairy lee cheese segments , very small crepe with honey and jam... Fruit was provided which was ok but peaches where unripe and difficult to eat. We were also charged to have omelettes and boiled eggs !! We think that should of been included in the breakfast. We were not told this was a chargeable item by the Rhiad Zhara and we were never asked to sign for it !! On checkout we were charged and we felt cheated. Overall the managers were very pleasant together with the staff but lacked the very basic standards of a comfortable sleep whilst overcharging in a very calculated way...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockaphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Riad Zahra.

Your feedback is very important to us,I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Always our guests are informed for the extra charges. It's not our quality policy to make pay extra charges if the guest has been not informed.

I hope to receive you another time with us.
Sincerely yours
Xavier

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.4 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
4.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#10 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zahra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra

Property: Riad Zahra
Address: 90 Amira Lalla Meryem | Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes' walk from the beach and 20 minutes from the Medina and souks, you'll find this family run Riad with its 23 bedrooms has everything you need for a delightful holiday as a family, a couple or with friends. Riad Zahra is in the residential quarter of Essaouira. All its comfortable bedrooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style and have en suite bath rooms, satellite TV and Wifi. There are family sized rooms, others have balconies and some enjoy a sea view. And you'll enjoy meals in our two restaurants whose great range of Moroccan, Asian and Spanish dishes is enhanced by a wide choice of the Kingdom's wines. Open air swimming pool, terraces and parking. We'll happily help you organize your stay and can recommend places to visit, restaurants, surfing and kitesurf schools, rides on horse or camels, transfers from airports, vehicle hire ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Zahra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing