We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, you won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Zahra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Zahra
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, you won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

My wife and I recently returned from an 11 day trip in Morocco. We stayed exclusively in riads.

Before I review the hotel, note that I have stayed at many high end hotels. I am rating this based on the fact that this is a budget, but very good, hotel.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------This

This is a great hotel- clean, well run, etc. We had a balcony with a view of the ocean which was across the street.

The staff was very friendly, the owner literally carried my luggage up.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd_HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    159
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
188
310
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
383 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

We have been locking for a Riad outside the Medina with a parking for our car, in order not to have to carry our luggage too far and based on reviews here booked the Riad Zahra. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a nice sea-view room, large and with a nice bathroom. It was so windy that the hotel sign on the roof made noise, but we slept well. Breakfast was very good as well. The Riad is a nice walk from the Medina along the beach. We had dinner in the restaurant Le Coquillage at the entrance to the port and enjoyed the very good prepared seafood very much, but also the menu and the restaurant at the Riad looked nice.
We recommend the riad as well as the restaurant Le Coquillage.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

We have recently spent 3 nights in the Riad and felt really comfortable and welcomed.

The couple who own the Riad are very friendly and helpful. They and other members of the hotel speak different languages (French, Arabic, English, Spanish, Catalán). The Swimming pool is super clean and great to do some laps. There are families with children but we thought they were very well behaved and nice.

When the wind blows in the beach, it is a great way to sunbath, chill out and relax. There are a couple of turtles who swim and walk in the pool.

The rooms are spacious and clean, some of them with great views to the ocean.

We had dinner one night and on arrival and the food was very good + the portions quite generous.

Breakfast is based on jams, honey, orange juice, local bread and croissants, coffee/tea.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trotaglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed in Riad Zahra for two nights in May. For 800 dirham we got a small room with a view of the building next door. There were ants in the room, the toilet door didn't close properly, and the walk to the medina is quite far (20-25 minutes in that heat and wind). No air con or fan. It was all pretty ok, but I wasn't overly impressed. The pool is nice, the staff was very helpful. During our stay the hotel was overrun with Dutch families, for some reason. Because of that it wasn't necessarily very quiet or romantic. If I were to go back to Essaouira I would try somewhere closer to/in the medina.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozysooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

I’ve spent 5 nights in Riad Zhara in april 2009.

It is a nicely decorated riad. The staff is very friendly and helpful, there is a nice restaurant annex bar downstairs with excellent food. Breakfast is ok. There is also a big pool, but unheated so the water is rather cold.

The rooms above the kitchen and restaurant (on the left side if you face the ocean) are rather noisy. We have slept 4 nights in room 14 (right side). This room looks rather plain, but is very quiet. I have also slept one night in room 20 above the kitchen. This is a very nice and spacious room with balcony, but there is also a lot of noise. So take earplugs with you if you intend on sleeping there.

The location of the hotel is fine. It is a nice walk along the boulevard or the beach that takes about 15 minutes. In the evening you can take a taxi for only one euro.
There is also a nice terrace on the roof with beautiful views over the beach and the ocean.

Essaouira is a great place to stay for a couple of days. The restaurants in town are good ( I recommend Ferdaous) and the atmosphere is very laid back and relaxed. I had a very pleasant stay in Essaouira and if I ever go back I would stay in riad Zahra again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

The riad is nice and the staff is very helpful. More helpful than you can expect.
It takes 15 minutes to walk to the town. Nice trip along the beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjellemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

We arrived at Riad Zahra to a great welcome. Having never stayed in a Riad before, we weren't quite sure what to expect. The tiling, the entrance and the different artifacts throughout the Riad were lovely. My poor fiance was sick with the flu and they brought up a meal to the room for him. It was too cold to use the pool at Christmas but we did have great weather. Our balcony caught a glimpse of the sea. The room was large and I loved the bathroom, it had a good shower. The staff were all lovely. We should have stayed longer in Essaouira and less in Marrakesh. Thanks guys for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.4 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
4.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zahra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra

Property: Riad Zahra
Address: 90 Amira Lalla Meryem | Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes' walk from the beach and 20 minutes from the Medina and souks, you'll find this family run Riad with its 23 bedrooms has everything you need for a delightful holiday as a family, a couple or with friends. Riad Zahra is in the residential quarter of Essaouira. All its comfortable bedrooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style and have en suite bath rooms, satellite TV and Wifi. There are family sized rooms, others have balconies and some enjoy a sea view. And you'll enjoy meals in our two restaurants whose great range of Moroccan, Asian and Spanish dishes is enhanced by a wide choice of the Kingdom's wines. Open air swimming pool, terraces and parking. We'll happily help you organize your stay and can recommend places to visit, restaurants, surfing and kitesurf schools, rides on horse or camels, transfers from airports, vehicle hire ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Zahra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing