We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, stylish hotel in the medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for 8 nights this August. On arrival, the room( angle suite\) smelt very damp and we discovered a damp problem in the shower. This was immediately rectified. The hotel is beautiful. The central courtyar, where you eat breakfast( amazing) and are served evening drinks is beautiful. Full of tropical plants and fabulous lighting at night. The restaurant is ecellent. Definitely the best in Essaouira. Lunch is served on the tearrace on the roof. This is also very good and very comprehensive. One order is enough for two people especially after breakfast! The pool is unheated and freezing! I managed to get in once and I suppose it is quite refreshing if you can manage it. The staff are very good. Trips can be easily arranged and nothing is too much trouble. You are right in the medina and a few minutes walk from the beach so everything is right there. 8 nights is probably too long but we have had a very relaxing time and I woud definitely recomned this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsusan3161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
There are newer reviews for L'Heure Bleue Palais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

After a 3 hour trip from Marrakesh, we arrived at the Essaouira medina. We had no idea what to expect. Once our driver parked the van, a very friendly man called Mamoudh welcomed us and accompanied us to the largest building in the medina, which was the hotel, built as a Riad. The inside decoration is beautiful with European, African and Arab touches. In the middle of the hotel is a beautiful garden. All the rooms face to the inside garden. The hotel has a very soothing atmosphere, especially when sitting in the garden. The restaurant was excellent. We ate there twice and both times had the catch of the day. During dinner there was live music performed by a outstanding lute player. The hotel also organized a tour of Essaouira with an excellent guide called Rachida. The view from the top of the hotel is over the whole Medina. The hotel also has a nice spa, game room and movie theater. In July it is extremely windy in Essaouira, so we recommend you bring sweaters or jackets. The winds are amazing, so if you are a windsurfer or kitesurfer, bring your wetsuit since you will be able to experience some of the best surfing ever.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seven64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We recently enjoyed 2 fabulous days in this fascinating seaside city, and our accommodation at L'Heure Bleue was superb. The entire medina can be reached easily on foot. The rooms were the best we had in Morocco, and the food and service were excellent. Our only complaint was that the wind made swimming in the unheated roof-top pool an exercise in braving the cold, but this did not detract in any way from our enjoyment because Essaouira is not hot enough to make one crave a dip at the end of an afternoon of walking about. You get what you pay for in this 5-star hotel, and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywandererBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Built upon an ancient fondouk, L'Heure Bleue is an elegant and traditional Moroccan residence just inside the UNESCO Heritage site of the old medina of Essaouira. A few years ago it was restored to rekindle the atmosphere of a Moroccan house with an interior garden. Panoramic views of the sea and old town can be enjoyed from the rooftop penthouse bar and restaurant situated around the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacromonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a trip to Morocco - lovely - rooms are very nice lovely little touches everywhere - candles, fireplace which they offer to light for you at night and you can lie in bed and see the flames or sit the otherside of the fireplace and watch tv etc nice bathrooms. Breakfast was excellent and the service and smiles from the staff made the stay. Spa and hammas very nice too - would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

From the moment you walk into the hotel you can feel it is a special hotel. I had three nights here and really enjoyed my stay with them, the rooms are well designed and everything is of a high standard. Having a real fire at night in our room was a real treat! All the staff are a real asset to this hotel, both professional, friendly and accommodating. We had a really nice couples Hammam and would strongly recommend this, the Hammam is wonderfull and the treatment matched! I sincerely hope I can go back and I am sure I will. Is it worth the 2 – 3 hours drive from Marrakech – yes! Did I wish I had stayed anywhere else in Essaouira – not at all. Great location, great team and good professional management. My only criticism would be that at the time we were there the swimming pool was promoted as heated but it was not and was too cold to use.

Well done Siham Ouchane! You and your team gave us a very memorable time and there are few places in the world I have been that I can say that about!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This hotel and the location is without doubt is one of the most romantic places we have ever visited. In contrast to the usual holidays we have everything was seamless from the meeter and greeter at the door to the little old cleaning ladies that did a fantastic job. Although this place could never be described as cheap in a million years you do get what you pay for and we believe we received the best. We organised our break through luxury-riads.com which was the cheapest by a long way for the hotel, they also arranged a cheap airport transfer for us which was welcome after our early morning flight. I would come here again, hell I’d live here if i could and coming from a fussy so and so like me that is indeed high praise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma_G28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#27 of 74 in Essaouira
1,108 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Address: 2 Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £123 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing