We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were really looking forward to staying here, it looked lovely. The public areas and sun terrace are inarguably stunning. Its location is fine but the restaurant is very expensive. We didn't eat there but had room service and a chicken club sandwich, nothing out if the ordinary, was £20! Our first room was internal and on the first night the air conditioning was broken which led to a very hot and uncomgortable night. we informed them at breakfast and a fan was provided which just wasn't on given the price if this place. During the course of the day we asked for it to be fixed three times and when we came back at 5pm the ceiling in the bathroom was down and there were workmen in our room. We complained and were told it couldn't be fixed. We pushed this isdue in a polite but firm manner and eventually we got a snarled response that we could move to a suite for one night only. We did so but we told them we wouldn't be moving given we were only there for 1 night. The room was not worthy of being a suite and there was nowhere to eat the room service but in bed! The fridge in the room was also broken and the shower was over the bath which was very high and difficult and dangerous to climb in and out of! Breakfast was included and was plentiful but service was very erratic and rude, the staff apart from the doorman were the most unhelpful and arrogant that i have ever come across. The hotel also definitely catered to the French clientele which you may not find surprising but this was not a problem we found in Marrakech. All in all was very disappointing and I do not think it really belongs in the chateau relais group. I certainly wouldn't return and would look for a smaller and friendlier hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmeston30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
All of us are surprised and very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience at the Heure Bleue Palais.
This is true, we have a system of fresh air and not air conditioning and it can happen that it is not cool enough for people who like air conditioning…but we are never hot in Essaouira because of the breath from the ocean and we try to avoid pollution with this system.
Otherwise, the kindness and helpfulness of the staff are fully known by our guests, maybe because one or two in restaurant or housekeeping do not speak English fluently, you thought that the staff prefers French guests, but I can ensure you that we do our best for all of our guests, always!
I really hope you give me another chance to welcome you in order to let you forget this “accident”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    123
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
110
378
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

An oasis of calm + perfect escape from the lively world outside. My 10 year old daughter and I stayed at L'Heure Bleue and we both loved it. Our room (No20) was glorious. The hotel looks and feels like an old colonial gem (all panelling and bevelled glass) but is, in fact, only 8 years old! The craftsmanship is exceptional. So is the service: discreet but warm and friendly - especially from Mamadou and Lissame who were wonderful. My daughter brought her much beloved doll with her on the trip. I can't tell you how enchanted she was when she found that the chambermaid had folded the dolls pyjamas and "made" the doll's makeshift bed....now if that isn't going the extra mile I don't know what is...(I wish we knew her name, but I hope the Hotel Manager will be impressed and give her credit for her gesture). Breakfasts were wonderful - fresh and delicious. Amelie counted 57 choices laid out each day ...and that's NOT including all
"extra" the options in the menu. One of our most memorable nights was having room service in the Private Cinema! We were truly spoiled and it was a marvellous happy time. Thank you to you all at L'Heure Bleue. A special place in our hearts. Katie + Amelie

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are good. Ours was No 20 and was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Madam, we very much apreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at l’Heure Bleue Palais which will be your « oasis of calm » forever. Thank you for taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Walking off the busy dusty street into this calm,cool place was amazing. The staff were professional and friendly and we were given mint tea and pastries as we were checked in-a nice touch. We were upgraded to a fab suite which was extremely comfortable with the chamber maids lighting scented candles and oils when turning down the bed. Beautiful soaps and creams provided with the obligatory robes and slippers. Reading some other reviews there appeared to be some problems with air conditioning-however the rooms were always cool.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a few lunches up by the rooftop pool which was lovely-only point was the wine was placed away from our table and some waiters were better than others at spotting empty glasses. Although the excellent managing director was present and kept a close eye on things from seeing that you needed shade etc(they provide straw hats for extra shade) to making you feel welcome.
The breakfasts (which are delicious) are served in the courtyard-it would have been nice on the roof top (we were told that we could have breakfast there if we wished so that is probably us being lazy! The other thing that would be good is the availability to have drinks on the roof in the evening-it is beautiful up there, although can get very windy and blowy.
Also-I would reccomend the hammam-had an exfoliation which was fantastic.
Overall this was a beautiful relaxing place and I would very happily live here, but the commute to Tunbridge Wells may be a bit far!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goudhurstgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
thank you for your comment. i really appreciate and i ll share it with the team.we do hope to welcome you again in Heure Bleue Palais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Very windy city but it is a very peaceful hotel. The bedroom was maybe a bit old... The breakfast is really nice with a lot of things to eat... The staf were nice at brekfast but not nice at all around the pool, that is too bad for customer... This hotel is very well located, just near the entrance of the city when you arrive by bus from Marrakech (as i do not have my driving licence lol), it is very good . I recommend this hotel because in the City of Essaouira it is very difficult to find a good one!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljungstrom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Every aspect of this hotel was fabulous. We felt like we were walking into paradise when we entered it. Rooms, service, breakfast were wonderful. Moussa was the BEST and we were lucky to meet him. Fantastic experience!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Moussa and the other members of Team l'Heure Bleue appreciates your very nice comment and expect your visit sooner in our beautiful riad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Walk in from the gust of this windy city and like a breath of fresh air enter a peaceful oasis of smiles and charm. Our room was fabulous. The layout is perfect allowing relaxation on the day bed or work in the entrance office area. The staff were helpful with suggestions on what to do and where to go and the service to the room was great.

If you stay you must dine in the restaurant. The meal was one of the best we had in our three weeks of travel in Morocco.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be good. Ours was on the side of the medina and whilst we could hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Thank you for this enthusiastic comment, the chef and the entire team of Heure bleue will be pleased to see you again in Essaouira!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Essaouira is the windy city of Morrocco. It was a constant force 6 with gusts of 8 while we where there for a week. They say the wind can make you go insane - not if you're staying in L'Heure Bleue. This place is and oasis of colonial charm harking back to the days the empire. The Decor is very old school and the bar in particular reminded me of an old london gentleman's club. It's significantly cooler here than in Marrakech - but they light the fire for you to drink your £20 glass of Brandy by. Drinks and food are pretty pricey, but definitely worth it - BTE (Best Tagine Ever).

The rooms where very chic - Colonial dark woods, marble floors, loads of space and strangely a little office - I felt like I should be penning a novel in such inspirational surroundings. Did I mention the rooms also have a fireplace - they'll light that for you too!

It's right beside one of the main gates to the Medina. The SupraTours bus from Marrakech stops about 100m away from this gate and it was easy to get straight in, Taxis wait right outside this gate as well, which is handy to get down to the cooler beach bars and kitesurfing clubs at the other end of the beach - a lovely 1.5km walk there, but not so easy into the sandpaper wind on the way back.

Breakfast could have been better, and at €25 a pop not really worth it every day, when you have a whole medina of quirky places to eat.
The pool and terrace look lovely, but in the wind its not really relaxing - the pool actually had waves on it, but on the occasional calm day this would be awesome.

In all - very luxurious hotel (more hotel than riad), in the action of the medina - a benefit i think it has over the 4/5 star branded hotels along the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
« We are deeply touch by your comment and we do really appreciate it our property. The Heure Bleue Palais doors are always open for you at any time »
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
613 reviews
5.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
425 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Property: L'Heure Bleue Palais
Address: 2 Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing