We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Touch of class”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A beautiful Riad on the edge of the Medina. Beautiful accommodations, excellent food and pleasant and helpful staff. The roof top pool and views are really nice. Not an intimate Riad, but certainly a top notch hotel. Dinners are superb, but also very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    116
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
106
367
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights there relaxing after the hustle & bustle of Marrakech. From the moment we arrived we loved heure bleue - it is absolutely beautiful and full of character, a total oasis! The staff were very friendly & welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The room was gorgeous. The only small downside was the air con wasn't v effective but it wasn't a huge problem. Breakfast was fabulous, great selection plus omelettes etc... Location was excellent just inside the medina. We really couldn't fault it at all and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After a few bad experiences in the last couple of days it was time for lunch at L'heure bleue. We arrived and the staff immediately started taking care of its guests. We were seated in the shadow on the fantastic roof terras for an aperitive which was served with all kinds of nice food. After that we ordered the sardines and Maroccan hamburgers and again all great quality and served with delicious vegetables. A great experience that I can recommend to everybody and therewith the best in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisetteH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
257 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The is a fantastic Riad, set within the Medina and just a short walk from the Souks.

The setting inside the Riad was very peaceful and the service first class, all the rooms are set around the central courtyard.

Our room was very large and equipped well. very comfortable.

Up on the roof you have a good sized pool with plenty of sun loungers spread around. The views from the roof give a good vista over Essaouira.

It is a peaceful place, a perfect location to enjoy Essaouira, which is compact and easily accessed from the Riad.

Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, this set us up well for the day.

The staff were very attentive and helpful and contributed to this wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsleyRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

L'Heure Bleue was the first of our stops in Morocco. We could not have been made more welcome if they tried. The hotel is situated just inside one of the gates to the Medina and the outside, just a door in the wall with a small plaque displaying the hotel name, belies what is actually inside. The decor is fabulous and service superb. Our only complaint and the only reason for not giving a 5 star rating, is the quality of the one main meal we had there. We knew meals were expensive here, but as with all good hotels we did expect good quality. Unfortunately we did not find this the case. The one meal was about 400% more expensive than anywhere else we ate and the quality was less than other meals we had in some of the smaller restaurants scattered about the Medina and fishing harbour. That being said the waiter service was excellent. I would not let this experience prevent us from visiting the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertem, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Planning on seeing something of the Atlantic coast during our trip, we booked in at L'Heure Bleue to pamper ourselves for a few days... however, i'd fallen ill before we got there and boy, was I glad we'd chosen L'Heure Bleue - so much so, we cancelled our next hotel up the coast and let the hotel and the walled town be our home for a few extra days. Wonderful experience, we were even upgraded (though our original room was more than adequate), breakfast was a treat and dining in the open riad of the hotel a wonderful memory; the staff had the knack of making us feel we were the only guests there! If I'd felt better I'd never have left!
Essaouria with its fishing port, has the advantage of a medina you can't get lost in and shop and restaurant owners who leave you alone, unlike further inland and... there's even an airport nearby. Though most people speak French and quite good English, learn a few basic words in Arabic (we did), it'll open even more doors! Essouaria and L'heure Bleue, if not a marriage made in heaven, at least on the Atlantic coast! Anna & Simon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We just came back from a week here and really enjoyed it. It's a special property, beautifully renovated, and the hotel has a whole has quite an exclusive and peaceful feel. Customer service is very good - Management are very visible, reception staff in particular are very warm and friendly, and housekeeping are very quiet and respectful. Roof terrace with the pool was a real highlight for me - it has a sort of Ibiza chill-out atmosphere, and there's a great view over the town and all the way to the sea, and wasn't too windy (in late September) as I'd feared. We stayed in the African Suite, which felt very plush and indulgent - e.g. large bathtub and a long window seat. Breakfast was fantastic - a great selection of Moroccan and French options!

My only suggestions would be:

Food is expensive - generally seemed higher than even London prices. I didn't mind so much in the evening restaurant (quality of food, music and service make this reasonably justifiable), but it felt pretty steep when looking for a light lunch on the roof terrace, or for room service (which from memory, came to about £40 for a couple of plates of pasta, water and a salad). I understand that it's a 4*, it's just a shame there isn't a bit more flexibility with dining options.

It might be nice when the sun is out to do breakfast on the roof terrace.

Spa treatment was generally good, but we were kept waiting before the appointment and intermittently during it (not all of which I think could be justified as 'a pause for relaxation'), and could hear the therapists talking quite loudly, mobile phones ringing outside on Reception, which felt a bit unprofessional!

Wi-fi speed in the room is very slow.

All in all, would strongly recommend it and would like to thank Francois Laustriat and the team for their hard work.

Room Tip: African Suite was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Property: L'Heure Bleue Palais
Address: 2 Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing