We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Essaouira should absolutely be on any itinerary for Morroco, and L'Heure Bleue is a fantastic place to base yourself at while exploring the medium sized, friendly and vibrant Medina.

Location is impossible to beat, right inside one of the main Babs (gates) to the Medina and an easy walk from the parking lot. They have their own reserved paring with in the lot, so before you make any upfront payment to an attendant, send one of your party to the Hotel and their staff can get you situated in the hotels reserved parking.

Check-in is a leisurely affair, siting in their courtyard eating some deliciious snacks and having a drink. The courtyard has comfortable, relaxed seating and the plants and light make it a cozy and very romantic setting. It is the perfect way to decompress from the hectic and demanding journey to get there.

The hotel is impeccably restored and extended, with beautiful tile, wood and plaster details. The amenities that others speak of (billiards, Spa / hamman, pool, bar) are in perfect condition and add to the experience. The service is very friendly, solicitous while still being discrete.

This is a top notch experience in any city, is the best hotel in Essaouira and one of the best in Morocco.

Room Tip: Corner suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiways_byways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Beautiful dark woods throughout. Great service, well located (right at edge of Medina), nice amenities (heated pool on roof deck, billards). Restaurant is expensive for Morocco but a very unique gourmet meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have split my review for L'Heure Bleue into two parts. Here I want to review the riad in terms of the accommodation on offer, which is definitely world class.

I have written a second review for the restaurant, which to be frank was an absolute outrage, but this is not the place for those words.

My wife and I chose Essaouira as the destination for our first wedding anniversary, and figured we may as well splash out on L'Heure Bleue Palais for this special occasion.

Three things became very clear early on: The riad is perfectly placed as a base for exploring Essaouira, being located very near one of the main entrances of the town (i.e. a short stroll from your airport transfer coach to the front door) and within easy walking distance of everything else; the riad staff are all excellent (especially the managers and the guys on the door); and the riad itself is a haven of tranquility.

Our room was beautiful, with ornate Moroccan panels, a lovely fireplace, stained glass windows and a stunning bathroom. Everything you would expect from wonderful Moroccan decadence. What a lovely place to spend an anniversary!

Breakfast in the central courtyard was a real treat; amidst tall palm trees and overlooked by colonial balconies. We were well looked after by the attentive staff, who lavished us with coffee, fresh orange juice and delicious oily pastries, as we tucked greedily into the buffet.

A word of warning: All the good reviews for breakfast are spot on, providing you like honey-drenched pastries! If you are after something a little less carb-rich then thankfully there are other options. I can heartily recommend the omelettes!

Other than the excellent roof-top swimming pool area (which, incidentally, has a kitchen that serves some of the best fried sardines I have ever eaten), the other aspect of L'Heure Bleue that I really enjoyed was the 'traiditional' hamam.

I should say that (like most of the men I know) I'm not the most eager of people to get close-to-naked and let a total stranger rub my body, and yet, somehow, I have learned that life is too short to miss out on such things which, in my experience, are always far more enjoyable than they ever sound on the tin (I blame my wife). The hamam at L'Heure Bleue fits perfectly into the category of wonderfully relaxing and totally bizarre.

First off, you need to head down to the hamam area in JUST your bath robe, because they are going to ask you to change into a pair of paper pants regardless. Secondly, those pants are designed for women, so if you're a guy, leave all your shame (and pride) at the door. If you ever thought Speedos were small, these paper pants will make you think again! Thirdly, you will be pleased to know that unlike some places, there are no enormous hairy men employed in the hamam, just very friendly and very professional women.

Assuming you haven't run screaming from the dark marble cave, you will be treated to steam, incredible massage, a hilarious dousing with buckets of hot water, and being scrubbed to within an inch of your life with what feels like a handkerchief full of glass. And after all that (trust me) you will feel INCREDIBLE. If you're even half tempted, my wholehearted advice is to go for it.

Essaouira is a great place to relax (and surf, as it turns out!) and L'Heure Bleue id the perfect place to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just spent nine nights there...fab little place...just inside the medina so easy to find, get to. Staff really excellent...as they said, please treat this place as your home. Fab ground floor courtyard for b'fast, drinks, with bar (old English drawing room feel) and upmarket restaurant...you wouldn't want to eat here every night, which is fine as loads of great restaurants within walking distance. Essaouira is a calmer, gentler, medina type city than say Marrakech and easy to find your way. Weather great, but quite windy as it is on the Atlantic Coast. Room 29 (and that side) is quieter than the opposite side. We were upgraded to a junior suite, but the classic rooms looked fine. Pool terrace on 4th floor...bit too cold to swim, but it guess in the summer would have been fine. Also great little cinema/screening room (holds 15 pax) and watched....Casablanca ...of course!

Room Tip: Room 29 and that side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the Medina of Essaouira, the room was very comfortable and pretty and the service was amazing, all personnel was extremely nice. We spent only one night and felt very sorry to leave, we would have wanted to stay forever. We also visited the spa and it was incredible. This hotel was the highlight of Essaouira since we didn't find the city particularly interesting so it was worth to stay in the best hotel in town.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AzzRaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a beautiful riad in an ideal location just within the Medina walls. Close to everything, and just a short walk to all the main sights and attractions. The stunning palmed central courtyard is a lovely setting for breakfast- the only meal we ate in.

Our room was very nice- small, but nice and delightfully decorated. My negatives about it- only one place for a suitcase and no air-con. You could open a window but no screens and lots of noise from outside in the courtyard. As 2 singles I would have preferred beds to be a bit more apart from each other not jammed together so closely.

Service at breakfast was not great- this definately needs attention.

Enjoyed a drink in the piano room with its dark, seductive atmosphere. Though at $AUD23 the one drink I had was one too many- ridiculous! The sitting area just off reception was also a lovely space. Too cold for us to swim in the rooftop pool but I can imagine it would be wonderful on warmer days as would lounging on one of the many chairs provided.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This deluxe, character hotel is in an ideal location just within the Medina walls, close to the harbour, beach and souk. Absolutely loved the colonial style and atmosphere of the place, felt as if we had been transported back to a bygone era... expected Poirot to shuffle in at any moment.
Service was excellent, staff were attentive and polite, the lovely smiley doorman in particularly provided a great first impression.
The spotlessly clean rooms were fantastic, we were given an upgrade to the most fabulous huge suite furnished in rich dark woods and fabrics. The entrance opened into a small lobby area with a fridge, desk and chair . This led into the large main room which was divided into two by a central fireplace. To the one side a lounge area with window seat and chairs and table and to the other side was a bedroom area with huge comfy bed, lots of storage, safe, moveable tv. Off the bedroom was the fantastic opulent marble bathroom, huge tub, separate shower, twin basins, separate private loo, thick fluffy towels & robes and locally made gorgeous toiletries. Supplies of bottled water, fresh fruit & dates were replenished daily.
Breakfasts were a very enjoyable start to the day. Orange juice freshly squeezed as you were being seated in the central courtyard, surrounded by the exotic plants. A superb buffet selection including fresh fruits, breads, patisseries, cheeses, meat, smoked salmon etc. etc. etc.. and a selection a hot pancakes and coffee etc. served at the table. Omelettes and egg dishes could be ordered.
Great roof top pool & lovely spacious terrace area with plenty of sun beds & efficient bar and food service.
We stayed here as part of a tailor made package, so are unsure of the individual hotel charges. We felt we got good value for money, as we were upgraded in every hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireMand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
496 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Address: 2 Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £148 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Prestigia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing