We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 stars hotel, magic place in Essaouira”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 stars hotel, magic place in Essaouira”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I enjoyed relaxing 1 week in August in this magic beautiful Relais & Chateaux luxuary hotel, located within the walls of the old city.
Very nice Patio, and magic terrace with pool on the top.
Deluxe rooms are a little bit tiny, but very nice decoration and style
Excellent food, it's famous breakfast is really terrific, and the staff is top !
What else ?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    120
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
107
374
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent hotel with beautiful roof terrace and pool. We were upgraded to a suite which was wonderful. It is very well located on the edge of the Medina, so wandering around is easy. Fantastic stay - highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

L'Heure Bleue let me count the ways I love you....

I love:

The fact that our driver greeted us in style with a beautiful L'Heure Bleue marquetry (a traditional craft from Essaouria) paddle rather than a scrappy bit of paper with our names written on it.

Your beauty - hidden behind your unsuspecting blue door lies a breath-taking, majestic building full of elegance, style and splendour.

The warmth of your welcome. All the staff are incredibly friendly and attentive. The two wonderfully dressed door men have the biggest smiles around.

Your lovely tiny little old fashioned lift which features a daily weather forecast

Your attention to detail, the hotel is filled with a multitude of stylish furniture and features

Our incredibly spacious beautifully designed suite, with an enormous bed, lounge area, cosy double-sided chimney and a bath big enough to swim in.

Your sumptuous breakfasts with a huge array of cakes and pastries to choose from

Your fantastic New Year's Eve dinner - it was a little pricey but a great night nonetheless

Your indulgent hammam

Your elegant English bar, cinema and billiards room

Your stunning rooftop pool and terrace

Your tranquillity - L'Heure Bleue is an oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle of the medina

Our unforgettable stay with you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottydodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We greatly enjoyed the tranquility and beauty of this hotel. Fun to explore the medina, walk the beach and then retreat to the hotel. We enjoyed the cinema and billiard a room as well as the roof terrace.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. Nice view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncommontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Essaouira should absolutely be on any itinerary for Morroco, and L'Heure Bleue is a fantastic place to base yourself at while exploring the medium sized, friendly and vibrant Medina.

Location is impossible to beat, right inside one of the main Babs (gates) to the Medina and an easy walk from the parking lot. They have their own reserved paring with in the lot, so before you make any upfront payment to an attendant, send one of your party to the Hotel and their staff can get you situated in the hotels reserved parking.

Check-in is a leisurely affair, siting in their courtyard eating some deliciious snacks and having a drink. The courtyard has comfortable, relaxed seating and the plants and light make it a cozy and very romantic setting. It is the perfect way to decompress from the hectic and demanding journey to get there.

The hotel is impeccably restored and extended, with beautiful tile, wood and plaster details. The amenities that others speak of (billiards, Spa / hamman, pool, bar) are in perfect condition and add to the experience. The service is very friendly, solicitous while still being discrete.

This is a top notch experience in any city, is the best hotel in Essaouira and one of the best in Morocco.

Room Tip: Corner suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiways_byways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Beautiful dark woods throughout. Great service, well located (right at edge of Medina), nice amenities (heated pool on roof deck, billards). Restaurant is expensive for Morocco but a very unique gourmet meal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DartProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have split my review for L'Heure Bleue into two parts. Here I want to review the riad in terms of the accommodation on offer, which is definitely world class.

I have written a second review for the restaurant, which to be frank was an absolute outrage, but this is not the place for those words.

My wife and I chose Essaouira as the destination for our first wedding anniversary, and figured we may as well splash out on L'Heure Bleue Palais for this special occasion.

Three things became very clear early on: The riad is perfectly placed as a base for exploring Essaouira, being located very near one of the main entrances of the town (i.e. a short stroll from your airport transfer coach to the front door) and within easy walking distance of everything else; the riad staff are all excellent (especially the managers and the guys on the door); and the riad itself is a haven of tranquility.

Our room was beautiful, with ornate Moroccan panels, a lovely fireplace, stained glass windows and a stunning bathroom. Everything you would expect from wonderful Moroccan decadence. What a lovely place to spend an anniversary!

Breakfast in the central courtyard was a real treat; amidst tall palm trees and overlooked by colonial balconies. We were well looked after by the attentive staff, who lavished us with coffee, fresh orange juice and delicious oily pastries, as we tucked greedily into the buffet.

A word of warning: All the good reviews for breakfast are spot on, providing you like honey-drenched pastries! If you are after something a little less carb-rich then thankfully there are other options. I can heartily recommend the omelettes!

Other than the excellent roof-top swimming pool area (which, incidentally, has a kitchen that serves some of the best fried sardines I have ever eaten), the other aspect of L'Heure Bleue that I really enjoyed was the 'traiditional' hamam.

I should say that (like most of the men I know) I'm not the most eager of people to get close-to-naked and let a total stranger rub my body, and yet, somehow, I have learned that life is too short to miss out on such things which, in my experience, are always far more enjoyable than they ever sound on the tin (I blame my wife). The hamam at L'Heure Bleue fits perfectly into the category of wonderfully relaxing and totally bizarre.

First off, you need to head down to the hamam area in JUST your bath robe, because they are going to ask you to change into a pair of paper pants regardless. Secondly, those pants are designed for women, so if you're a guy, leave all your shame (and pride) at the door. If you ever thought Speedos were small, these paper pants will make you think again! Thirdly, you will be pleased to know that unlike some places, there are no enormous hairy men employed in the hamam, just very friendly and very professional women.

Assuming you haven't run screaming from the dark marble cave, you will be treated to steam, incredible massage, a hilarious dousing with buckets of hot water, and being scrubbed to within an inch of your life with what feels like a handkerchief full of glass. And after all that (trust me) you will feel INCREDIBLE. If you're even half tempted, my wholehearted advice is to go for it.

Essaouira is a great place to relax (and surf, as it turns out!) and L'Heure Bleue id the perfect place to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
186 reviews
5.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
423 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Property: L'Heure Bleue Palais
Address: 2 Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing