We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Nearby Hotels
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Madada Mogador(Essaouira)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Essaouira Lodge(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Maroc(Essaouira)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
527
143
46
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
143
46
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcentral courtyardbilliard roomold palaceblue doorbeautiful hotelupgraded to a suitepeaceful oasisbustling medinaluxury hotelsqueezed orange juicehotel restaurantmedina wallsthe location is perfectfresh fruitsitting areawithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We have a house in Marrakech and escaped the July heat to beautiful Heure Bleu. It is a beautiful, fantastic hotel with best possible location. The staff was super friendly and the suite we had amazing! Fantastic suite with very much attention to details/decor. The restaurant served excellent food and the lounge/pool area on the roof was terrific. Great value for money and the only true 5 star establishment in Essaouira. Also great bar!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

we thank you for your comment, we are delighted that you enjoyed the l'Heure Bleue, as it's two hour drive from Marrakech and Essaouira, so we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

L'heure bleue continues to display quite an old morocan charm in the rather authentic Essaouira medina. The old palace has kept its 19th century attributes, including to quite an extent in its suites, where you can still feel part of its history.

The service is impeccable for any request you may have, and the staff is certainly very well behaved.

The food is excellent served in either an authentically decorated restaurant or outside in the patio which boasts an impressive quietness;

Plunging into the rooftop swimming pool is a must not to ne missed.

All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: high floors reommended
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ulysse5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are delighted that you love traditionnel charm of our Riad and performance of our team. we thank you for your laudatory comments, we are very proud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Heure Bleue Hotel is truly a five star hotel, with authentic surrounding of Moroccan Culture but offers the highest standard comfort to its residents. Perfect location.
Rooms, services, dining and leisure experiences are up to perfection. All staff kind, helpful and professional.

We have stayed here six years ago and hopefully will return at future time.

Highly recommend the hotel and location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

"Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you at l'Heure Bleue as soon as possible before 6 years, anyway you are and still always welcome. "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were very impressed with this gorgeous place, overall. The dramatic entrance into a courtyard of palm trees looks very impressive at night when lit in colors. The staff is friendly and helpful (though most of them don't speak English well) and the breakfast spread is delicious and never-ending (try the different jams). The pool deck is also a wonderful space to lounge and relax. Our tapas in the bar were also delicious. Although we didn't eat at the restaurant, a local chef from Lyon told us it's her favorite restaurant in town.

The bedrooms are gorgeous but the only windows face the courtyard -- at least in the regular rooms. As a result they are a little dark. Since breakfast is served in the courtyard I worried it would be loud in the morning, with the sound of plates and diners echoing, but it was surprisingly quiet. However, one night some rude guests stayed up late in the courtyard yelling and laughing and they caused quite a noise. That was the only noise problem in our six days here.

However, as it is a member of the Relais & Chateaux group, we expected a little bit more attention to detail. No mini fridge in the rooms, for example. One hook and one towel bar per bathroom makes it hard for 2 people to share. No wash cloths. And they charge for water without any notification. That seemed cheap since we can't drink the water.

But the friendly staff and relaxing experience in such a gorgeous property make this a super fine place to spend vacation.

One more thing: we chose this hotel because it's cat-free, unlike many Riads where cats come and go. One member of our party is allergic so if you have that issue this is definitely allergy free!

Location at edge of Medina also provides easy access.

Room Tip: Ask if you are facing interior courtyard or have windows facing outside
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

"Thank you for your message. I'm sorry that you did not had enough towels in your bathroom . i hope you pointed out and that our team responded quickly and well.
Also sorry that some customers did not respect the usual quiet patio in the evening. We intervened several times but it was difficult. "
I hope to see you soon among us in order to forget these little annoyances. "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Heure Bleue is a real oasis on the edge of the medina in Essaouira where the old town is a World Heritage Site. The staff welcome you with great warmth and nothing is too much trouble. The courtyard has a rare tranquility which belies the hotels proximity to the bustling thoroughfare outside.

If possible book a suite where the room is comfortable and where you have a good size ensuite bathroom with both a bath and shower. The restaurant has a tremendous range of authentic Morocco food and a good wine list with local wines featuring in good measure.

Try and obtain the services of local guide Rashida who will show you the fascinating features of the old town and it's remarkable history. Also the hamamm spa is a must do.

Room Tip: Aim for a suite if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THEAPPRENTICELONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f_laustriat, Directeur général at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

thank you very much for your comment. It is true that Rachia is recognized as the best city guide.
all the team of Heure Bleue thank you for your kindness and for sharing your joy with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews