We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST place in Morocco!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tangaro Auberge & Spa
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Wow - where to start?! We (a group of 10) stayed at the unique Auberge Tangaro for 3 nights last week. It was an utterly magical place with lovely rooms, candles lit everywhere each night and fantastic staff - no request was too much for these welcoming people.

Every bedroom in Tangaro is clean, comfortable and cosy each having a fireplace in the corner.

The situation outside of Essaouria was peaceful and it was such a tranquil place to relax and soak up the sun and calm atmosphere - a real break from onslaught of haggling in the souk.

For my birthday the staff organised a fantastic party with cocktails, canapes, a 4 course candlelit meal and a huge birthday cake - it was an incredible birthday party and made even better by the company of a local Moroccan band and lots of sing-a-longs.

The value for money, great staff and stylish rooms made staying at Tangaro an absolutely brilliant experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

Staying at Auberge Tangaro has been a great experience. The place is unique and has some kind of magic... a traditional Moroccan building sorrounded by trees and birds. Fireplace in the room, nice decoration and the best, Younes and his team, that made their most to ensure that my stay there was excellent. Everything was super clean, breakfast (excellent!) is served in the terrace and wi-fi is available in the reception area. The auberge has also a lounge to chill out having a drink or reading one of the books of the library. Despite Auberge Tangaro is 4km away from Essaouira (which is also part of its magic, since that will allow you to avoid the crowds during the peak season), I used the bike offered by Younes to go up and down. And Younes was always available to pick me up or arrange someone to pick me up when dark or if I was carrying my backpack. The place is perfect for a romantic getaway, but I was travelling solo and also enjoyed it... I will definetely come back. Highly highly recommended to anyone looking for a special place!

Room Tip: Try to get the room in the pavillon. It's simply a jewel... although the whole hotel has a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is wonderfully charming, good value, and we loved it.
The new owner, Younes, has recently restored it to what I can only imagine must have been its former delightful self back in the 1930's and 40's. He is, like his hotel, most welcoming and charming, and the rooms are simple, stylish and clean, maintaining their original features.
When we stayed in Auberge Tangaro it had no electricity (although recently I believe power has been installed into the rooms, including electricity form solar panels) This was intrinsic to its magical charm. This is what made this place such an oasis of tranquillity. At dusk, as the lanterns are lit all round the grounds, on the patios and in the fabulous dining room, the whole place glows. It is truly magical. Dining here is a very special experience. The food is spectacular, brought in fresh each day, with great care and attention given to the menu. When we arrived in the middle of the afternoon the chef was only too pleased to rustle us up a perfect snack. We came with small child and were all made very welcome indeed.
It’s a short drive, or even camel ride, to Essaouira and all that it has to offer there, but the joy of Tangaro is to return to the peace and charm of this auberge. A place to hang out, collate ones thoughts and truly relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife, two teenage children and I fell in love with Tangaro in April 2011. We had been told of its special, mystical atmosphere and it did not disappoint. The Spanish have a word 'sosiego', which is hard to translate exactly; maybe serenity, calmness, repose, a feeling of mellowness, come closest in English. We were charmed from the moment that we arrived and realised that we had indeed found a very special place. Tangaro is tucked away in eucalyptus trees and a world away from the brash hotel being erected on the other side of the road. The trees provide a perfect screen - and the building work has now been completed - meaning the rest of the world can just pass on by for the lucky guests. Aisha, Younes (the owner) and Younes his assistant are wonderful hosts. We had a great dinner with some delicious local wine, two fine breakfasts and did a lot of chilling out on our flat roof overlooking the eucalyptus trees and the windmill that gives Tangaro a strangely antipodean feel. No praise high enough - we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great value, wonderfully authentic and atmospheric, very friendly service, good food and a beautiful setting, a calm and relaxing place to stay a short drive from essouaira.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

we arrived here having been told it was one of the most characterful hotels around and it didnt disappoint. Just a shame the view was spoilt by a building site on the coast.

The staff were very helpful and welcoming, we were shown to our room which wasn't the cleanest place i have ever seen (bIt of mould on the walls) but it did have bags of character, an open fire in the corner and a large private terrace. I then realised there were no plug points! Everything was done by candle light which was pretty dangerous when trying to navigate the stairs down to our bathroom at night!!! We were only here one night but if we had booked longer i dont know how i would have coped. Not being able to charge the phone and camera etc.

We sat outside for our evening meal and sampled some great authentic Moroccan cuisine.

Unfortunately this is where things went down hill.
The building site i mentioned had a huge concrete pump / stone crusher machine which dominated the view and was incredibly noisy. It ran continously into the night and didnt stop till after midnight. When i say noisy, i dont just mean it was a little annoying. This was like sleeping in a quarry. The machine vibrated every 10 minutes which actually shook the ground. We just couldn't sleep!! We went down to the site to try and speak with the foreman but were told that they work very late and that was that.
We were furious considering the cost of this hotel and feel angered that we were not informed of this prior to our stay. They are building a huge complex, golf resort so this will certainly continue to go one for months and months yet.

I would strongly avoid this place whilst the building is going on. It was a great shame because the hotel had so much going for it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangaro, Propriétaire at Tangaro Auberge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Sir,

I am responding to your comment being the new owner of Tangaro since 2010. I appreciate your review, which means for me, that you liked the place despite the inconvenience. But let me say you’ve been staying here at the worst time. I think the former management should have closed the hotel in that period of noise and disturbance, or at least inform guest prior to booking.

So, let me say that your description is, fortunately, no longer current, the building site that was running in front of Tangaro, did completely ended-up. The Auberge Tangaro has been closed just after I took it, and we gained that time of noise to totally refurbish it, and restore it past glory. Our main care was to renovate it, maintaining the soul and character of the spot!

The building site you described was about a golf course and a hotel, that are now also open, beautifully & successfully integrated in the nature. So Auberge Tangaro recovered the quietness and the stunning views of the ocean and forest, a great neighborhood with an absolute added-value, and a golf course just across the street.

The concept of candlelight that made the success of the place over years has been partially maintained, although the novelty now is that we have electricity, wich means ability to recharge a phone or camera in your room, so we are sure you may like to stay longer !

In a short-term, a spa with a traditional hamam will complete the pleasure of staying at Tangaro, and another new challenge is to give a lot of importance to the gardens. As bonus, cultural events, will give opportunity to experience outdoor exhibitions of local and foreign artists, and acoustic concerts in the magic of the candle-lit dining room.

And of course, our main care my new staff and me, being present every day here, is to be totally dedicated to our guest contentment.

Waiting the pleasure to welcome you back to Tangaro

Younes
The new boss
Auberge Tangaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I did stay a few times at The Auberge in the last 15 years. A long walk on the beautifull beach and large dunes from Essaouira. A special place away from it all. But times have changed... Essaouira is no longer the authentic Moroccan port. Tourism is quickly spoiling the place. And so is the secluded location of The Auberge. The glorious dunes, nature as far you can see, are transformed into yet another golf course lined with building sites: more hotels to come.
The former charm of no electricity and a shower which won't get you wet, is rather odd, when overlooking the irrigation systems of the golf course. Food is not how it use to be, the chimney was bloked, so the open fire filled my room with thick smoke (you won't notice at first, candle light didn't reveal the problem). And where is the friendly staff? They look familliar, but how grumpy and unhelpfull.

Sad to say, but go somewhere else.....

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangaro, Propriétaire at Tangaro Auberge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Sir,

I am responding to your comment being the new owner of Tangaro since 2010, I appreciate your review, which shows that you really like and care about the place but with some regret, however your post is no longer valid and could dissuade more than a guest, and I therefore come to update the reality.

We might have feared that the construction of the new Mogador Resort, with golf courses and 5 star hotels, in the wild vicinity of Tangaro, would come to destroy, as wrongly thought by accustomed guest, the soul and quietness of this place that is now almost a hundred years-old, and to make loose the stunning views of the forest and the ocean. No worries, nothing of this happened!

Yes Tangaro has suffered, or even came to abandonment and closing during the 4 year period of construction of this new project, and this is probably when you did your last visit and comment. Fortunately this is no longer the case, the project is now finished and the result is a beautiful nature-friendly resort, with buildings hidden in the vegetation and a system of filtering gardens to water the greens with the sewage of the city. The Auberge got now a huge added value !

We gave me and my new staff a lot of time and care to refurbish this exceptional place, to maintain it soul in order to restore its former glory, and justify its reputation. Tangaro has re-opened since November 2011, with 18 rooms, bungalows and suites, each one with a warm simplicity, all with fireplaces, overlooking the garden, the sea, the countryside or the terrace, where delicious breakfasts are served. In addition, a restaurant offering a great food, fresh, neat and just how it should be.

The concept of candle-light that made the success of the place over years has been maintained, although the novelty now is ability to recharge a phone or camera in your room. In a short-term, a spa with a traditional hamam and a small pool will complete the pleasure of staying at Tangaro. Our new challenge is also not to do a hotel with a garden, but a garden with hotel ! As bonus, cultural events, will give opptortunity to experience outdoor exhibitions of local and foreign artists, and acoustic concerts in the magic of the candle-lit dining room.

Waiting the pleasure to welcome you soon in Tangaro

Younes
The new boss
Auberge Tangaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8.2 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
283 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,140 reviews
2.5 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#35 of 75 in Essaouira
276 reviews
3.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangaro Auberge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangaro Auberge & Spa

Address: Colline de Tangaro - Diabat | Bp 105, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £57 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tangaro Auberge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tangaro Auberge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing