We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Week”
Review of Maison du Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison du Sud
Ranked #23 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed in the Maison du Sud for a week's photography holiday in Essaouria run by Darren Lewey of imagesinthesun.com. A very good course and highly recommended. The riad is in the centre of the Medina, with no cars allowed in the Medina itself.

We arrived late in the evening and we met by very friendly staff. Maison du Sud is very different and very welcoming. Go for Room 13 on the Terrace, which is very light and airy. Good room to have but, as there is a mosque nearby, everyone is woken up at 5.30 a.m. by the call to prayer. Take some earplugs! Also, you have to climb 69 steps to get up to the Terrace!

However, a very enjoyable week at Maison du Sud. The staff were very friendly and service good. Mainly French was spoken, with little English Breakfast each morning was exactly the same - orange juice, coffee and pastries - a change after a week might have been an idea.

All in all, a very good week experiencing the sights, smells and atmosphere of Essaouria.

Room Tip: If you are fit and able to climb the 69 steps to the Terrace, go for Room 13 which is directly on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houghamhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a beautuful riad right in the center of essaouira medina. Its beautiful with loads of nooks and crannies and archways and little courtyards. we had a family room which was very spacious, twin beds one end, sofas the other end and a mezzanin floor with a double bed on. The only complaint was the room smelt very damp and fusty and the tiles in the shower were desperate for a scrub as they were stained with black mould. we were on the tail end of a huge storm which had caused major flooding in the area we had come from and perhaps this made the smell worse although there were no windows to the outside only windows leading on to the courtyard which has had glass put over the top to stop the rain and allow the use as seating below (this would normally be open in a traditonal riad)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antheaskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My room was not one of the split level rooms. It was on the first floor and rather dark (admittedly due to the closed shutters).
It directly overlooked the street below so it was rather noisy. That said the room had a certain charm and i would stay here for a night or two....maybe not if I intended a longer stay.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
Thank naticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this lovely Riad in atmospheric Essaouira. It's location is perfect; step outside into the hustle and bustle of the Souk, step inside for an oasis of calm.
The delightful staff were both helpful and friendly. Unfortunately I was sick for a couple of days, and a member of staff took me to the pharmacy to assist in buying medication and generally ensured that I was looked after - invaluable when you're travelling solo.
My room, located on the roof terrace was spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and very quiet, I had no problems whatsoever in sleeping.
There is a good wifi signal in the restaurant, none in the bedrooms.
Breakfast was basic and the same every morning : crepes, croissants, baguette, jam, butter, orange juice and choice of coffee or mint tea. It could have been so much better if varied a little and with the addition of fruit. However, when I asked if it was possible to have some fruit , I was given some. Likewise, when I was unwell I requested natural yogurt, which I was given.

I was staying at this Riad for a week long photography and Moroccan cooking course hosted by Darren Lewey and his wife Naima. Darren was an excellent, patient tutor who showed me the hidden delights of Essaouira which I would never have found otherwise. The delightful Naima is a passionate and enthusiastic cook who made preparing Moroccan food both interesting and fun. I highly recommend this course.

Room Tip: Roof top rooms are quieter, but be aware of the number of stairs to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed at Maison Du Sud as part of a weeklong photography vacation taught by Darren Lewey. It was truly an amazing week. I found the Riad clean, comfortable, safe and centrally located. The staff was very hospitable and accommodating. As some reviewers have mentioned, the rooms overlooking the street can be noisy at night, as one student in our group discovered. She was quickly offered an internal room – no problem. And Darren proved to be a great photographer and tour guide and infinitely patient teacher. He introduced us to unique places we wouldn’t have discovered on our own and helped us memorialize them in beautiful photographs. I highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a beautiful and charming riad right in the middle of atmospheric Essaouira. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good. The shops and restaurants are right outside the front door and the Barbour is a 5 minutes walk away. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and there is a lovely roof terrace where you can enjoy a drink in the evening. We stayed there for 2 nights this year in May and also went on a day trip to Sidi Kaouki, which I have reviewed separately. I have been to Essaouria before and always enjoy going back. First class!

Room Tip: The rooms facing to the street may a bit noisy at night. We had our room to the back and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellydancer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Maison du Sud is a friendly, 24-bed riad on one of the main streets within the medina. Staff are friendly and helpful. Basic but tasty breakfast is made up of coffee/tea, fresh orange juice, bread, croissant, crepes. Evening meals are delicious - if the sardine meatball tagine (made with freshly caught sardines) is on the menu, it's thoroughly recommended! Shutters can be opened to get light in to rooms, but it's best if they're kept closed as it keeps the rooms nice and cool. Fabulous, central, great value riad.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the terrace - 23 and 24 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilmisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 75 in Essaouira
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#2 of 180 in Essaouira
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mumtaz Mahal
Riad Mumtaz Mahal
#51 of 180 in Essaouira
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#22 of 180 in Essaouira
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Sud

Address: 29 Avenue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 300 m from the sea, Riad Maison du Sud is a beautifully restored 18th-century hotel set at the heart of Essaouira’s bustling medina. Luxuriously renovated in Moorish style, the 24 room Riad offers an authentic mix of Moroccan and Andalusian architecture, design and style, making it the perfect boutique residence. The Riad has many quiet salons to relax in as well as two large rooftop terraces with sea views to enjoy breakfast on whilst the service at the Riad is attentive yet understated in the long tradition of Morocco’s finest establishments. At Riad Maison du Sud we endeavor to offer a friendly personalised service and our staff speak several languages. Although there are some direct flights from Europe most clients arrive by private taxi transfer and we can arrange this from any city or airport in Morocco if we have your flight details in advance. Alternatively if you’re arriving with your own transport we can assist with parking and bringing your luggage to the hotel for a small charge. Services offered at Maison du Sud include:- Downstairs wifi - A laundry service - 24 hr room service - Private taxi transfer - The booking of activities in Essaouira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maison du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Sud Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing