We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely flawless & great location”
Review of Maison du Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison du Sud
Ranked #23 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I had the most fabulous room, enormous, on the corner so a lot of light with windows on both sides. The shower was huge, enough towels, although the toiletries advertised was just a tiny bar of soap so make sure you take your own.
The location of this riad is right in the centre of town, on one of the two main roads so as soon as you walk out you're in the middle of the shopping area. The staff are very helpful and reception staff speak pretty good English, which is quite unusual in Morocco.
The breakfast is quite bland, just coffee / tea / bread / jam / honey although they did oblige when I asked for an egg.
Wifi is only available in the downstairs area, not in the rooms at all.
It was ok to pay by credit card, again not all riads were as obliging.
I would definitely recommend this riad and would stay there again if I visit Essaouira again.

Room Tip: I was given the most gorgeous room without asking for it, so good luck to you all - hope you get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed at the Maison du Sud in April 2013 for a week. It's a great place. Amazing location right in the heart of the medina-action. Great service from very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely simple breakfasts. Roof terrace. Nice room. My room was on the first floor overlooking the busy street, but it wasn't too noisy at all. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed one night here as arranged by our tour company and, after reading some of the reviews, I was very pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style and the public areas were equally attractive. The location is excellent and although it was a bit noisy at night (we had a room at the front) it wasn't enough to bother us. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALISON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This riad is quite big – it’s actually two ‘houses’ joined together – and situated right in the heart of the medina, you step out of the front door and there are shops all around you. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was huge with bed at one end, two sitting areas, and full bathroom. Decor was beautiful throughout the riad with pot plants and attractive lighting. Meals were good, small selection available for evening meals and very tasty. We took advantage of the hotel laundry service – in by 9am out by 6pm – and they did a lovely job, everything washed and ironed for a very reasonable price. We were very taken with Essaouira and would definitely recommend this riad if you’re travelling to this delightful seaside town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Was due to spend 7 days in Maison du Sud but bugged out after only two. Riyad was very ethnic,musty,dusty ,noisy-you don't need an early morning call as the local mosque provides one for you !! During the evening again very noisy as it is on one of the main sreets of the medina.The rooms were cold ,supplied heater inefective.
The staff were all very good and attentive,food adequate and ther location very good for exploring the port and medina.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphy-stleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

it s was a very nice experience to stay at maison du sud ,for the new year ,the service was very pro, the food wonderful ,wonderful people ,i love essaouira city. very differnt no matter waht i say it s not what i want to say u have to go there

Room Tip: it was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy1981-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 3 nights as organised by my trek agency. Cold draughty, noisy and musty room. Steps. Probably better for summer? Authentic quaint rooms. Decent breakfast and order omelet if you wish for a small price. Cafe attached.

Best sbout hotel is location. A short walk to souk fresh fish market. Visited Mr Asmarray Said mob +212668727444 ( speaks french only) courtesy of L Atelier Madada. Royal tea. He showed us where to get fresh fish and grilled next door upon my request. All under 130 DH variable.

Near to Azur Art and Spa near the fort wall.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 75 in Essaouira
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#15 of 75 in Essaouira
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Inna
Riad Inna
#10 of 178 in Essaouira
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#2 of 178 in Essaouira
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Sud

Address: 29 Avenue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £36 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 300 m from the sea, Riad Maison du Sud is a beautifully restored 18th-century hotel set at the heart of Essaouira’s bustling medina. Luxuriously renovated in Moorish style, the 24 room Riad offers an authentic mix of Moroccan and Andalusian architecture, design and style, making it the perfect boutique residence. The Riad has many quiet salons to relax in as well as two large rooftop terraces with sea views to enjoy breakfast on whilst the service at the Riad is attentive yet understated in the long tradition of Morocco’s finest establishments. At Riad Maison du Sud we endeavor to offer a friendly personalised service and our staff speak several languages. Although there are some direct flights from Europe most clients arrive by private taxi transfer and we can arrange this from any city or airport in Morocco if we have your flight details in advance. Alternatively if you’re arriving with your own transport we can assist with parking and bringing your luggage to the hotel for a small charge. Services offered at Maison du Sud include:- Downstairs wifi - A laundry service - 24 hr room service - Private taxi transfer - The booking of activities in Essaouira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maison du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Sud Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing