We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison du Sud
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Riad Al Madina(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Souiri(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Internet
Riad Malaika(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Garance(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Villa Flora(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    The Teahouse(Essaouira)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Breakfast included
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Breakfast included
      Reviews (366)
      Filter reviews
      366 results
      Traveller rating
      166
      123
      56
      16
      5
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      166
      123
      56
      16
      5
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsyogurtroof terraceworked finecall to prayerlocal artistsentire bathroomsitting roomstreet noisebrilliant locationfirst floorbring earplugsbaguetteno elevatorthe ground floormoroccan styledirect accesslight sleeper
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      76 - 81 of 366 reviews
      Reviewed 10 November 2013

      We were a group of 10 friends from Italy who stayed in this Riad the night of 12 October. It is a very in interesting and intriguing place, lavishly decorated in Moroccan style, with various common areas to sit around and enjoy a mint tea. The rooms are upstairs and there are a lot of rather steep steps, which for some people may be a problem. The rooms are generally in 2 levels, with a comfy double bed on the mezzanine and 2 sofa beds plus the bathroom (very small) on the first level.
      We had a good dinner in a sort of cosy nook, with low seating, in keeping with Moroccan style. Likewise for breakfast. The staff were nice and helpful. It is very conveniently located in the Medina, a stone's throw away from the seaside. The Medina itself is friendly and not as frenetic as the ones in Fes and Marrakech.

      • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Lucyqua
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 15 October 2013

      This riad is clean enough, but there are other things that are not really good. First, there are lots of steps and no elevators. So, that means that getting the luggage up and down can be a problem. Secondly, the wifi isn't available in the rooms and you have to go down to one area to access it and it's quite weak. The night we were there, we were to be ready to meet our driver early so we were going to get up and shower around 6:00AM However, the electricity was off and we waited until we knew we were going to be late so I took a shower using our flashlight. This is NOT a riad that I would book at if I were going to Essaouira again. Also, the rooms are very small. Additionally, I will say that we ate at the restaurant the night before and it was unquestionably the worst restaurant we've ever eaten at. The front desk man was our waiter and possibly the cook. The fish were awful and we had to ask for a napkin when we asked for ice, he said he had just refilled the trays and we'd have to wait until it froze again. He wasn't even apologetic at all. Really a bad restaurant.

      Room Tip: I don't know how to choose a good room at this riad as ours was tiny in comparison to other riads.
      • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Caroline C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 September 2013

      This Riad was very comfortable and the front desk people were very helpful. The decor was pleasantly Moroccan. Our room overlooked the street and we enjoyed the shutters that we could open onto the street activity. Wi fi did not work in the room but there were many sitting areas downstairs that were quite nice. Our breakfasts were very good. The location was perfect for walking everywhere.

      • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank ivypoison
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 18 July 2013

      Having travelled through parts of morocco, we arrived here and loved it. It is a beautiful Riad for a good price. We were given a large, comfortable, clean room. Staff were professional, caring and always helpful. We enjoyed our stay and wished it could have been for longer. I would definitely come back here. It is affordable and the place was very peaceful despite being near the busy streets of the medina. .

      • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank lovinholidays_10
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 4 July 2013

      This little hotel is an oasis in the midst of the souks of Essaouria. The rooms are dark and relaxing, a welcome respite from the mid day sun. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, breakfast is basic but perfectly adequate, and the coffee is lovely. The roof terrace is perfect for relaxing but could do with a little tlc.they have replaced the furniture thus making it more appealing. Back to the bedroom! They have a very relaxed Moroccan feel. There could be some updating in the bathroom, it,s showing signs of ware and tear. This is a great hotel riad for a relaxing break in the windy city..for those light sleepers out there bring earplugs as you are in the centre of the old town.for avid kite surfers, welcome to your dream destination, and for all those newby,s enjoy relax and hopefully you will return. I would more than recommend we are already planning our next trip.

      Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
      Thank Joy020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews