We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Desdemona
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very well located and easy to find within the medina. Close enough to the suprabus terminal to walk with our backpacks. The family room was huge and comfortable. Service varied from great to not really caring dependant on who was working on the desk. I found the keys to all the rooms on a table that apparently the cleaner forgot. Mistakes happen and hopefully this was a one off. There are quite a few good accommodation options in this town and I would stay here again if the room rate was less.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barefoot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is indeed a charming hotel in a great location unfortunately our ten day stay there was marred by a very unprofessional and unfair decision. We were offered an upgrade for an extra charge to which we agreed. After 3 nights in our upgrade room we were asked to move out for just one night to accommodate a " family " ( we discovered it was 4 girls ) When we asked to move back into our room as they had promised, we were told it was no longer available. Be careful and do not oblige by moving room as a favour.

Room Tip: Be aware that the clock tower opposite the front of the hotel chimes every quarter of the hour !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Great spot. Excellent location and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was large and open up on a plaza, which made for great people watching. Great welcome and the nicest place we have stayed so far. The price was amazing for the quality. The terrace is probably underutilized...mainly because Essourira howls wind from about noon until midnight. But all in all, a great place and well decorated to boot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmo463670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My son had booked a nights stay at the Palazzo Desdemona online from our Riad in Marrakesh so it was a lovely surprise to find the hotel in such a great central location in this pretty seaside town. The greeting was very friendly and we were offered Moroccan tea and biscuits on arrival. The hall is spacious and adorned with lovely artwork. Our room was called 'The Rita Hayworth suite',and we were not sure what to expect from such a grand title. It was found at the top of the building after a few flights of steps (not suitable for disabled), on a wonderful rooftop terrace offering lovely view of the sea and harbour. The room itself was well suited for my son and I, offering comfortable double bed and single divan, the bathroom was clean and spacious. The real bonus was having our own roof terrace to lounge on and relax and enjoy the views! Breakfast was served in thehall/dining area , huge basket of fresh cakes and pastries, fresh orange juice..yummy!Staff was attentive and friendly and happy to help with our bags till we left laterin the day. Finally the bill was very sensible, coming at £70.00 in total.A lovely old world hotel that i would highly recommend.

Room Tip: rooftop room not for mobility reduced customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berber44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We regret not staying longer! The hotel is beautiful and the people working there is even better! They helped us arranging tours and also taking care of the baby! (Giving us a precious break at meal time). Great location, near from everything you want to see in the city. Very clean rooms, nice decoration. Totally recommended!

Room Tip: my room was beautiful, but there is at least one room with no window to outside. don't get that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karrrin_petit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed at the Palazzo Desdemona for three nights last week and had a wonderful time. The hotel is a beautiful riad that has been very carefully restored and modernised. Our luxury suite was a very large room with plenty of space for three adults. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and we appreciated their assistance in arranging a taxi transfer to and from Marrakech with a reliable driver. The hotel is also in an ideal location - just inside the old medina walls but not in the middle of the markets or narrower streets further into the centre. The sea and beach are very close, we could even see the sea from our room. The rook top terrace is a nice place to relax in the sun and the street-level terrace is a lovely place to enjoy breakfast or a delicious pastry from the cafe in the lounge area later in the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a combination of traditional and modern luxury

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were staying in Marrakesh, got a bus to Essaouira for the day & decided to stay overnight as it was so much more inviting than Marrakech. Having had lunch of barbequed fish & prawns at one of the stalls on the port we strolled into the walled town to find a large hotel on our left & Palazzo Desdemona to our right. Just looking into the hotel raised our curiosity and we asked if they had a room for the night. We had a choice of 3 & they showed us around them . We opted for the middle sized room, room 1, which had french doors, shutters & a balcony overlooking the square & Medina walls. The room was old style & full of character but also spotlessly clean. The bed had a 4 poster style iron frame draped with cloth. The bathroom was an annex of the room onto a large landing & had a window that you could open when in the shower & look onto the landing! Told you it was quirky!! (see the pictures).
The staff were fantastic. As well as showing us the rooms, we were served with mint tea & pastries when we arrived & the breakfast was lovely with fresh croissants & bread.
From here we explored the Medina & found that we were actually spoilt for choice for restaurants (as opposed to finding it hard to find a decent one in Marrakesh!) & opted for one called Le Patio up a small alley that served fantastic fish dishes.
We also spent some time in the port where you can walk on the ramparts & watch trawlers being built by hand out of wood - no Health & Safety regs here!
Turned out to be the best day of of our holiday.
I didn't see any evidence of aircon or heating but I wasn't looking that hard so may have missed it??
I see one reviewer made mention of the clock bells. We slept with the french doors open but the slatted shutters closed & whilst the bells were obvious, they weren't intrusive - & saved me looking at my watch a couple of times!
The room cost us 670 Dirhams, about £53, with tax & breakfast. Bargain!
We'd definately stay again!

Room Tip: The balconies are a superb place to spend a few minutes 'people watching'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 75 in Essaouira
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 75 in Essaouira
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#27 of 75 in Essaouira
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Address: 12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £36 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing