We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Watier”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We returned yesterday from staying at the Riad for two weeks. We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable and welcoming place. Jean Gabriel and his staff are all charming and helpful and felt like family by the end of our stay.
Our room was luxurious and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in.
The only downside is that the hotel is approached through a covered over alleyway which seems rather seedy and is off putting especially if you arrive after dark. It is quite safe however and you get used to it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Riad Watier reflects Essaouira - cosmopolitan and laid back. JG and his staff are helpful and the service was attentive. The riad is bigger than we expected and our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Essaouira is a fun town and when we return, we will definitely stay at Riad Watier again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Watier suite and it's big, well-decorated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobfromRedondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and fell in love with Essaouira, its medina was quaint and navigable, unlike those in the larger cities. Inside the riad, fell in love with its owner Jean Gabriel and his spectacular art collection. Everyone here was wonderful and helpful and generous. The food was excellent. The suite was spectacular, they kindly upgrade my friend and I to the "Père Jego" 2-bedroom master suite even though we had booked a smaller suite. The only unpleasant thing encountered during the stay was some dreadful rainy weather, but coming back to such a warm and welcoming riad, and starting a fire in the fireplace was a wonderful way to dry off from the rainy explorations. If I'm ever back in Morocco I would not stay anywhere else. Also, book directly with the riad on their website and I believe you will get the best rate.

Room Tip: The riad's website has photos and detailed descriptions of each suite. There weren't many gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucymagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

A family group of 11 of us recently stayed here and celebrated my father's 80th birthday. Nothing was too much trouble for Jean and his team and we thoroughly enjoyed the books and art plus Jean's enthusiasm for the final of the U.S. Open. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The place was situated a little down some windy roads in the center of the old Essaouira, however ariving late with the bus from Marrakesh the owner of the place resolute took his bike and came to welcome us and showed us the way to the riad. It is a riad full of books, charm, stories from the people who work here and an amazing breakfast on the roof overlooking all of Essaouira. The peole working there are fantastic and show you all the best of hospitality of Essaouira. We can easily recommend this amazing place with big rooms and a family feeling in the middle of the old center. The evening meal can also really be recommended, especially to couples where there are served beautiful wine, food and a romantic setting. All in all we'll be back:-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nordsjaelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

A large family group of adults and children stayed here last year to celebrate a ruby wedding anniversary - we all had a fantastic time and thought the riad was a lovely place to stay, the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive, the large airy rooms were very comfortable and breakfasts on the terrace wonderful.
The riad was in a brilliant position to explore the town and it was only a short distance to walk to the beach and harbour. My husband was very grateful to the staff in organising several fishing trips out to sea.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Jean runs a slick operation with Nisrine, Hayat and Samir his team of folks that really focus on making your stay memorable and pleasant.

Informality pervades dealing with customers as friends and providing ample advice on where to go, what to buy an where to buy it. Essaouira is a gem, and these guys do their part to make it extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
786 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
1,147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £98 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing