We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, worth staying.”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, worth staying.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Host was great, pictures on web are accurate. Good location, nice breakfast,best massage. High Greco mend. Great english service.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    44
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
237
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I spent four days here as a single traveller and it was the most pleasant four days I have had in a long while. Jean Gabriel and his staff are so helpful and friendly and I had a lovely room. The breakfasts on the roof top where nice and I had two lovely evening meals and it was a welcoming atmosphere. It is in a good location in the Medina and very quiet. I booked online and everything met my expectations totally.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I spent nearly a week at Riad Watier in November 2011. We booked it with Jean-Gabriel on the spot (we were unhappy with our intended accoms) and we could not have been happier. Since it was the off-season he gave us a great deal. The room (Watier) was spacious, quiet and we had our own little private deck, the breakfasts on the terrace were wonderful, the service was excellent, the decor was very charming (there is a lot of wonderful art dotted about), Jean-Gabriel (the owner) was lovely. It was the most relaxed and enjoyable part of our trip and we were sad to bid adieu to JG.

It is located right in the media so very convenient to everything. Jean-Gabriel gave us recommendations of places to go see live music and where to get our laundry done (he even offered to take it there for us) and was always friendly and helpful. There is no wi-fi in the rooms but it's available down by the office. This was actually great as it stopped us from spending too much time on our handhelds :)

The great thing about Essaouira is that it's medina is smaller and more mellow than Fes or Marrakech but it still has everything you would want. We found the shopkeepers to be much less aggressive as well. Also, the beach is fabulous for walking along (particularly at sunset!) and the boats are fun to look at.

Room Tip: Watier is the only one with a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloebrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Riad has an optimal location in the heart of the medina, very comfortable accommodation, tastefully decorated, all rooms are large, some are equipped with a fireplace, a staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIdia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a lovely riad with nicely decorated rooms, a very comfy bed, tasty breakfasts and extremely helpful and welcoming staff and owner, for whom nothing was too much trouble.

As well as arranging for a baggiste to meet us on our arrival by bus from Marrakech (which saved us hassle/negotiarion), Jean Gabriel organised for us to get good value argan oil to take home (much cheaper than what we saw in the shops) and even walked us to the pick up point on departure day to make sure the car arrived on time to bring us to the airport.

There are a number of places in the riad to hang out to read a book, enjoy a glass of wine, or chat to other guests - a cosy library, a rooftop lounging area and a large room with sofas and a table at which dinner may be served. This made it easy to meet and chat to other guests if we wanted to - meeting new people when on holiday is something we both enjoy.

In contast to one of the reviews below we found the fire was lit every evening - if it had not been I'm sure one of the staff would have lit it for us on request.

I would thoroughly recommend this riad to anyone visiting Essaouira.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed in the month of October. Absolutely unique ! There is a big patio as you open the door, a very well furnished library that Jean-Gabrielle collected over the years. There is a small garden with a peaceful and serene atmpsphere with two turtless. Jean-Gabrielle and the whole staff, especially Hayat, were very welcoming. We felt at home. The rooms are spacious and decorated tastefully. All over the ryad there are amazing art pieces. The food is excellent and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massimo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Very poor breakfast (cook on holiday), only a fire when owner had friends there, 1970's hippy styling, and charged extra for paying with plastic, even though specifically asked if it would be the same as paying by cash (only found out, too late, that charged an extra 20 Euros)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yearstravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Property: Riad Watier
Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing