We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service at it's best”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

As many reviewers mentioned, the personal touch provided by Jean and his staff was amazing. We visited in september to avoid some of the summerheath. Jean offered us several rooms to choose from, wich were in fact free upgrades. We chose a very big corner room with an amazing traditional open bathroom (Madani suite). Everything was very clean, and we enjoyed reading books in the library, playing with the tortoises in the courtyard and talking to other travelers.

If it's windy, breakfast on the roof can become somewhat of an adventure, but I guess you can have it somewhere else if you ask for it. Otherwise it's great.

Jean spend a lot of time with us, advising wonderful trips and restaurants. If a personal touch is you thing, I higly recommend this riad, especially with such an interesting and friendly host.

Room Tip: The Madani suite is perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Myself and 4 friends stayed in this riad on 17th June for 3 nights and we really could not fault it! Large, clean, beautifully designed, comfortable and more importantly brilliant staff!

Unfortunately due to a stomach bug I didn't get to have breakfast there but my friends said it was very good. The waitress who was serving breakfast even noticed I hadn't been down and came to the roof terrace where we were sunbathing to see if I would like to get anything? I work in hospitality industry in Ireland and this really is 5 star service!

We had dinner on our last night there also and this was perfect as we got to choose what we wanted.
We also got a great recommendation for dinner from Jean (cant remember the name unfortunately)on our second night which we enjoyed very much. Jean even walked us there!
I would have no problem recommending this accommodation to anyone as it was flawless :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I've travelled widely and stayed in some wonderful places, but this was the best. Riad Watier is beautiful. Everything about it is wonderful.

Jean is the perfect host: charming, intelligent, knowledgable, efficient, relaxed, kind, funny... He had excellent recommendations perfectly tailored to my wife, young daughter and I (and I know from talking to other guests he was just as good at showing them suitable things to eat, do and see.) All the other staff were splendid too - often above and beyond the call of duty. (Apologies for talking of matters lavatorial, but, to give one example, my four-year-old daughter had an upset stomach and made rather a mess a couple of times, and the maids were wonderfully understanding - and efficient in cleaning up.)

It was worth visiting just to talk to Jean about his life, his books and his art collection. But, on top of that, the Riad is lovely. It is itself a work of art, but one that is comfortable to live in. The food is great, the beds are huge and luxurious, it's clean and it's welcoming... We spent a wonderful four days there and I felt sad to leave. I want to go back already.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamJOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed for 2 days here as a break from the hassle and bustle of Marrakch
As mentioned before, the thing that makes Riad Waiter so special is the service. We were treated so nicely by Jean and the other staff there. Always greetwed witha smile!
After spending hectic and busy days in Marrakech we found Essaouira a very relaxing town, and teraace with the sea view was superb.
We would really like to return one day to this haven.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Jean is a true host, full of excellent recommendations on places to visit, eat, and generally be entertained. Beautifully appointed generous rooms great bathrooms, all very traditionally Moroccan. The roof terrace for breakfast is a great way to start the day, orange juice as fresh as it can be, moroccan pancakes, homemade breads, jams, omlettes....Next time must try dinner in and a haman

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianTomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our stay at Watier was truly unforgettable and we have since discussed on a number of ocassions how unusually genuine the staff were. Jean-Gabriel: one of the most relaxed and accommodating owners I have had the pleasure of meeting. All of the staff: always friendly, genuinely caring and a breath of fresh air. The Riad itself is incredibly stylish with quirky details that make it unique.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent a couple of days at the end of our first trip to Morocco, and our only regret was that we did not have at least another day or two to stay at Ryad Watier. The hotel was ideal for our family - traveling with our teenage son who delighted in having his own loft spot in the Lakhdar deluxe suite.
What an amazing oasis in the midst of Essaouira where attention to detail is a treat for all the senses. Superb finale to our visit to N Africa and a nice contrast to the Marrakech hustle. We would wholeheartedly recommend treating yourselves to Ryad Watier and to Jean Gabriel's hospitality - someone who takes this much care and interest in making guests feel well taken care of is a truly rare experience these days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDoc509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £91 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing