We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Riad Watier is a great place to stay, Jean was a great host and the Riad was colourful, well appointed, clean and comfortable and the rooms spacious. Jean did everything to make you comfortable, with advise and restaurant bookings. The Riad was centrally located and within walking distance of everything. Jean was in the process of updating the wifi so it would be accessable to all levels of the Riad which would certainly be great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    44
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
133
233
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

What a complete haven in Essaouira! Jean and his staff are absolute gems, helping us make dinner reservations at a fabulous restaurant, serving us a brilliant breakfast with a smile, to even cooking up some rice when we were feeling ill! There was no task too great for Riad Watier. A beautiful home, and we were even greeted with 'welcome drinks' on the roof terrace on arrival. We very much enjoyed talking to Jean and learning of his pride in his remarkable renovated Riad. We will be eternally grateful for the kindness shown to us whilst at Riad Watier (especially our free room upgrade on arrival!) Thank you thank you thank you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJames_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Lovely Ryad right in the centre of the Medina, but very quiet. Spotlessly clean and full of colour and character. Jean Gabriel,as others have said, is a wonderful host, making you feel like part of the family. He has a brilliant selection of CDs, which you are welcome to play on his music system in the sitting room/dining room, whilst having pre dinner drinks from his well stocked bar, or having dinner prepared by his cook. Jean is always on hand for advice and recommendations, which were all 'spot on'. It's thanks to his directions that we managed to drive back to the airport, if it hadn't been for him I think we would still be driving around as there are NO road signs to the airport!! We would happily recommend this Riad to ANYONE.

Room Tip: Fares suite was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We have just left Essaouira and our stay with Watier will never be forgotten! This place used to be a school, but became very run down until Jean stumbled across it. I'm glad he did! The whole experience was great - from the creative decor to the food...this place was great to come back to after a day of exploring. Will definitely come back - it was like a mini Australia!! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgaine_Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of some friends who stayed at the same time, and we couldn't have been happier about our choice. Jean Gabriel, the proprietor, is the consummate hotelier, and runs his riad in a way that makes you feel like you're visiting a friend rather than staying at a hotel. The building is impeccably decorated and the rooftop terraces for sunning and taking breakfast are airy and peaceful, with sea breezes and a few sneak peaks of the ocean. Our room was wonderful and all the little touches like wood for the fireplace, tea and cookies on arrival, and an incredibly well-stocked library made the visit a treat. Would definitely come back and suggest to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhensarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a brief trip to Essaouira, a place we had long wanted to see. We found the town charming and the Riad Watier a very agreeable place to stay. It is very quirky and characterful with an attractive courtyard. Our suite on the first floor was spacious, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately my husband became ill with a stomach upset ( nothing to do with the Riad Watier!) and we weren't able to eat out as planned. I was able to eat at the Riad at rather short notice and was served a very tasty meal in our room, even though room service is not generally provided. I was very struck by how well it was dealt with which made a difficult situation much better than it might have been.
The following morning I had a very good breakfast served on the delightful roof terrace, although anyone breakfasting up there alone as I did, needs to make sure not to leave food unattended for even a few seconds. When I went to fetch a spoon I was gone for less than 30 seconds during which time the resident seagulls had cleared a plate of pastries and a dish of butter. They didn't approach whilst I was actually there on the roof just sat at a distance looking hopeful. True opportunists they saw their opening and took it!
So all in all we would recommend the Riad for its location, it's amenities and the warmth of its hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying at Riad Watier. The location was perfect just off one of the many shopping streets and easy to find our way back at night. Our room was spacious, we had the 2 bedroom suite. I came down with a cold and didn't make it to breakfast one morning, so a plate of breakfast food and chocolates were sent to my room. Such a sweet touch. We had dinner one night at Riad Watier, the food was great! The riad had a porter meet us at the bus station and return us at the station at 6.00 am. It made the journey worry free!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
787 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Property: Riad Watier
Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing