We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem and a great place to stay.”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after visiting Marrakesh and what a contrast to the dark alleys of the medina. This bohemian riad offers excellent rooms - we had a junior suite with a mezzanine bedroom for our two teenage boys. We enjoyed a home cooked supper sat around the communal dining room table where we shared wine and stories from around the world. Jean Gabriel made us feel very welcome and gave great advice on where to shop for genuine gifts and where to eat. If you enjoy large sandy beaches then this is the place for you. Great surf for kite surfers and wind surfers or just strolling along the sands.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJI9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Riad Watier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

A wonderful stay in a beautifully designed Riad with a great host and excellent service. The food at the Riad was delicious and, when eating out, the recommendations given met our needs perfectly. The 2 days we booked there were definitely not long enough. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 614CharlesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My family and I stayed at this Ryad for a little over a week, and I can honestly say that this has been the nicest hotel that I have stayed in - ever!
The service was excellent, the atmosphere was extraordinary, LITERALLY all the rooms were unique and very beautiful and the people working there were very sweet.

We loved our stay at Watier, and we'll most certainly come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed for a few nights and were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the owner. It turned out he had lived for a few years in Australia and was very enthusiastic about Australians. Even so it was a great experience. The rooms are HUUUGE and very tastefully decorated. There is a massage room in house as well. A real higjh light was having dinner in the hotel. We aere asked in the afternoon what we wanted to eat - we said fish being by the sea - so they went to the market specially for us and cooked us an absolute feast. They lit a cosy little fire for us and we had the most romatic candlelit dinner. The food was fantastic. Would go back in a flash

Room Tip: All the rooms are very very large with excellent showers. Have dinner at the hotel if you can
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A lovely Riad in a great location for exploring Essaouira. Just a short walk down an alley takes you into the heart of the Medina and yet the Riad is so quiet and peaceful. Walking a bit further takes you to the lovely beach or else to the lively bustling fishing port. There are also plenty of good restaurants nearby with wonderful locally caught fish or traditional Moroccan specialities.
The Riad's terrace is a lovely place to have a nice breakfast while enjoying the morning sun, with shades if it gets too hot. The rooms are large, very clean and the staff are friendly and very helpful with good suggestions.
We spent a couple of days here at the end of a busy week travelling around Morocco and this Riad and Essaouira are the perfect place to unwind and we would happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We arrived slightly worn out from the drive from Imlil and were greeted with a delicious ice cool beer. Throughout our stay we continued to be really well looked after. The ryad is well positioned in the middle of the medina and a short walk from the long sandy beach. We weren't organised enough to eat in unfortunately but those who did were full of praise; the cooking dinner certainly looked and smelt delicious. Jean Gabriel, our host, looked after us very well and was a great source of information for restaurants and directions. As has been said elsewhere he has created a lovely relaxed atmosphere and is himself very interesting to talk with.
Worth noting that the dining / sitting room has a music system and good wide selection of CDs so perfect for an aperitif.
I'd love to go back for a couple of weeks!

Room Tip: There isn't really a fitness centre, windows won't let me edit!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim92gts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Riad Watier is a great place to stay, Jean was a great host and the Riad was colourful, well appointed, clean and comfortable and the rooms spacious. Jean did everything to make you comfortable, with advise and restaurant bookings. The Riad was centrally located and within walking distance of everything. Jean was in the process of updating the wifi so it would be accessable to all levels of the Riad which would certainly be great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
254 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £87 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing