We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home Right In The Middle Of Town”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home From Home Right In The Middle Of Town”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When we first arrived in Essaouira someone was sent to meet us off the coach, I don't know how we would had found the riad if we didn't have someone guiding us, but after 3 nights there we knew exactly where it was and loved it's location right in the middle of town and with Essaouira old town being so small you are very unlikely to ever really get lost!

When we first arrived we had such a warm welcome and were made to feel at home. The riad has some real great interesting art and artefacts. We were given a room on the ground floor with was spacious with a lounge area and and a bedroom on the upper floor. The room was great, cool and much quieter than expected. On the second night we were given a free upgrade and offered a room on the first floor, another huge room and this time with windows which faced out into the street and offered more light.

Each morning we were served a huge breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking all the rooftops with the view if the sea in the background.

All the help and advice we were given was fantastic and we got some great tips for restaurants - you have to try Chez Sams!

All in all a clean characterful Riad in a fantastic location with a hugely helpful friendly owner, a great homely feel. I would recommend this Riad, but pay the extra for a room on the upper floors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    44
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
237
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were welcomed into Riad Watier by Jean-Gabriel and his friendly staff. Our room with terrace was very comfortable and we particularly enjoyed the Moroccan mint tea each afternoon (and whenever we wanted it). Jean-Gabriel's knowledge of Essaouira included advice about where to eat, which spice shops to visit and where to buy silver - all was invaluable. An extra special character of Riad Watier is the local Morocan art that covers many of the walls. Thanks to Jean-Gabriel and all his helpers our stay at Riad Watier was an excellent introduction into Moroccan culture at Essaouira.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were a family of four that stayed in this riad and what a lovely stay it was. On our arrival we were greeted by Hayat which served us Moroccan mint tea and introduced us to the place and our rooms. The rooms are clean, comfortable and amazingly decorated with a theme that matches the city Essouira! It total the riad was beautiful and fresh with a nice relaxing lounge and library. The service was excellent and all the recommendations we got from the staff was very good!
We felt home here and it is definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahilDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Riad Watier completely surpassed our expectations. Hayad was lovely and helpful and we felt totally taken care of. Our room was sunny and airy, very well appointed and thought out with all comforts taken into account. Families there had large duplexes to fit any number of children. Hayad offered tea service (or anything else we wanted) every day when we returned home, helped with dinner reservations and anything else we needed. And the breakfasts! Watier's lovely roof terrace is incredible...cool in the morning, with rooftop views. Breakfast was delicious, especially the orange jam which we are still dreaming about! No need to look any further for a venue, we would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köpenhamn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

During a whole week, we could not find ONE thing to complain about! The rooms are so unique and original - and very clean. The staff is helpful and nice and we even dined for two nights with the wonderful manager, Hayad. She gave us tips for restaurants and places to go, and they were all perfect. Breakfast is served on the roof terrasse, which was a perfect way to start each day. We really enjoyed everything about our stay, and can actually say that it was the best part about our holiday in essaouira. It felt like being a very loved and dear friend at a stay in a friends personal home! And make sure to have dinner there!!!

Room Tip: Placement is good and there is no noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Located down a small grubby alley in the Medina, this riad is a most unexpected pleasure. Jean Gabriel greets you with great warmth and within moments you are welcomed into house filled with an eclectic selection of artworks, both modern and old by local and overseas artists. Each room is large, airy and pleasantly furnished. The best homemade yoghurt is served for breakfast along with delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. Breakfast is overseen by a "tame" seagull who visits daily! Nothing is too difficult for the staff to do for you. Jean Gabriel's local knowledge is extensive and his restaurant recommendations terrific. We would certainly never have found these without his help. The Medina is small so this Riad is perfectly situated for guests to walk to all the attractions. There is a chilly wind blowing off the coast but the roof terrace allowed us to sunbathe. This is a gem of a riad, we will definitely be staying there again when we next visit Essaouira. In fact I can hardly wait.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyC890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Wonderful, clean, refurbished, tastefully decorated, interesting, artistic and most importantly, extremely welcoming Riad.
The Riad is as much an extension of the erudite, open and gregarious owner Jean Gabriel as it is a "hotel". His knowledge and appetite for life are the perfect opposite of the bland corporate hotel experience. Great location within walking distance of the best restaurants. I will not be staying anywhere else on my yearly Essaouira visit whilst there is space here...(Merci a tous Jean Gabriel, Samira, Nisrine and Mounir). .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
615 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Property: Riad Watier
Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing