We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic start to a vacation”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Essaouira was the first city I went to with my family and we chose to stay at Riad Watier. The place was centrally located, the wifi was great, the breakfast was served on the beautiful roof terrace, and to top it all off, we got a room with two levels. My family and I loved the decor (there are lots of tuffets) and there was plenty of hot water. We found the proprietor to be a somewhat silly and jovial man. The staff even helped up set up a visit to the local hammam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S4B1B4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

My family and I have just stayed for 4 nights (22 -25) at the Riad Watier. This was not only our first time in Essaouira but our first time in Morocco and the very first place in which we stayed. I have no hesitation in recommending Essaouira and this property to anyone especially as a place to ease yourself into Morocco. It´s a cosy, welcoming hotel with the owner Jean Gabriel and his assistant, Hiyat, making certain that you are well taken care of and that you´re well informed about the town. Being right in the heart of the medina, you only have to step out of the front door and all of the colour, sounds and smells of Essaouira hit you. Similarly, at the end of a busy day in the town the Riad is a calm and peaceful place to return to. I have to say that Essaouira is pretty much hassle free as far as medina goes. No aggressive selling or bothering of tourists here. It´s very safe. Our room at the riad was a duplex room with sitting room including working fireplace and double bedroom downstairs and upstairs a twin bedroom. Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace and was tasty (fruit salad, homemade yogurt, fresh bread, Moroccan crepe, eggs to order, jams and honey, fresh orange juice, coffee, tea). Jean & Hiyat were particularly helpful sorting out a reliable doctor when our daughter fell ill and our insurance company let us down badly with the doctor they had sent us who was terrible. You can´t drive to the riad as the medina is car free. I suggest parking by Bab Marrakesh (Marrakesh Gate) and from there one of the locals who offer a porterage service will wheel your bags in their mini trailor to the hotel for 20 - 30 dirhams ( 2 - 3 euros). While in Essaouira be sure to dine at the Caravan Club. Wonderfully entertaining riad restaurant with live music, a magician and loads of character and atmosphere. Food is good but the experience is even better. And should you wish to have an orientation tour of the city, go shopping or a cooking class I highly recommend contacting an interesting and charming young American woman living in Essaouria whose name is Mahatara Youssef and her email is mahatarah@gmail.com

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and were given a warm welcome by Jean-Gabriel and his manager, Hayat. Both are exceedingly helpful and give great tips on thing to do and places to eat. The riad is centrally located and is very conveniently located to explore all of the Medina. It's roof terrace has only a partial view of the sea but you will not miss it as there are plenty of seagulls to keep you company while you eat or relax :)
The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable, although we found our duplex a trifle too cold - hearing could be better.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdhilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Riad Watier is absolutely fantastic! The owner is a great source of information and the girls working in the riad are super friendly, warm and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is served every day on the roof terrace, a great way to start the day.

Don't forget to say hello to Tajine and Couscous, the turtles living in the patio!

We had an amazing time in Essaouira, a place to relax and unwind after Marrakech.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvandoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I spent 2 days in the Ryad Watier and we were completely excited about this experience. The riad is located in the middle of the Medina and to find it, a porter showed us the way and also took our luggage – very easy. Jean-Gabriel, owner and director together with his assistant Hayat were phantastic hosts. We felt very welcome and quite at home in their hotel. The entire house is really tastfully decorated, in warm colors and with very nice furniture, very clean and well maintained. Our hosts recommended to us excellent restaurants.The price per night was well below of what we expected and would have been prepared to pay. The hotel can be classified in the highest range and can be highly recommended to every one who wants to experience a few nice days of rest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our stay at The Riad Watier was fantastic from start to finish. The welcome was very warm and thorough and we were shown to our lovely bedroom. The whole Riad has been very tastefully and sympathetically renovated by Jean-Gabriel the owner, whose home this is.
Everything at the Riad was great, from the room, to the breakfast, the meal we had there one evening and the general courtesy and hospitality of the staff who went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant one. So if you want to have a really nice time, in a well placed location in Essaouira, the Riad Watier is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Having arrived in Essaouira via coach we were greeted by porter ready to transport us and our luggage to the riad. We were greeted by Jean-Gabriel and shown to our bright and extremely large room on the first floor. Leaving the bags in the room we were taken to the roof terrace to enjoy a much appreciated cold beer and some fabulous olives. The room was extremely clean with a large and comfortable bed and a wonderful shower room with gallons of hot water. The riad is perfectly positioned to explore the lovely beach and town. The weather was extremely good so we were lucky enough to be able to enjoy our delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace. Every one in the riad were very helpful, suggesting restaurants for lunch and dinner, and supplying endless mint tea. Riad Watier has a very relaxed atmosphere and was a lovely place to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flika2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
774 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £95 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing