We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful base to stay in Essaouira.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful base to stay in Essaouira.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Nine of us stayed here 23 to 26 March 2014 and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience. You could not fault anything about the the place, the rooms were luxurious and tastefully decorated throughout and the beds comfortable. Jean-Gabriel made us most welcome and was a mine of information and advice. We were very impressed by his assistant Hayat, a very efficient and charming young lady who looked after our needs in a personable and friendly manner. The breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It was a bit breezy up on the terrace but lovely and sunny. Essaouira is a great place for shopping and bargains abound. Plenty of good places to eat for whatever type of food you want.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    42
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
132
224
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Riad Watier is tucked down a side street close to the Medina and to the sea front. So close that when the wind really blows, the spray makes it into the central courtyard. Jean Gabriel and his staff are really helpful in advising on places to go and things to see, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and individual, and if you choose to eat dinner there, you’ll get as good a meal as anywhere in town. We enjoyed three nights there, and are happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farthingstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Watier from 2-4 February, and would recommend it most highly. Jean-Gabriel the owner and his efficient assistante Hayat were on hand whenever we required with hints, advice and conversation.
The Riad is beautifully decorated in the seaside colours of Essaouira, with a beautiful roof aspect for breakfast and just lazing around. It is a traditional Riad with modern attributes - a perfect balance. The log fire in our bedroom made it so cosy and the breakfast was delicious - particularly the omelettes! A really great place in a really great location for enjoying all the sights and sounds of Essaouira.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linsensuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Riad Watier was as it had been described to us, friendly, central and really comfortable, Our host Jean Gabriel made us feel very welcome and at ease. The hotel is individually decorated and furnished and has an abundance of original art collected by our host. The beds are comfy and the linen fabulous. Breakfast on the roof top terrace was a treat, with the cool atlantic breeze and the waking bustle of Essaouira from the streets below, and served by uber friendly staff. Every one had a sense of humour and it was a pleasure to stay for the final stage of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We recently travelled through Morocco for 11 days on a fantastic tour arranged by Authentic Morocco. Our final destination, after visiting Marrakech, the High Atlas, the desert and the gorges, was Essaouira where we stayed at Riad Watier. Right in the middle of the medina, only accessible by foot, this riad was our favourite of the entire trip. We were welcomed by owner, Jean Paul and his assistant, who were both extremely warm and friendly. The room was utterly gorgeous - very spacious and best of all on a coolish winter night, was the open fire in the room. We enjoyed our couple of evenings with a glass of wine, sitting beside our own fire. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, sat on the terrace on top of the riad with glimpses of the ocean and the sound of crashing waves. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this gorgeous riad, filled with beautiful pieces of art that Jean Paul has collected during his peripatetic but incredibly interesting life. We thoroughly recommend this riad and only wish we could have extended our stay for another couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veraison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We just spent one night at Riad Watier and we left wishing to come back. We had a spacious, beautiful room with lots of light and amazing artwork. At night, Hayat lit a fire at fireplace that we could watch from our bed. I slept like a baby. The breakfast was also excellent. All in all, the brief stay at Riad Watier was one of the highlights of our visit to Morocco. It is obvious that Jean Gabrial and Hayat love their trade. Both are amazing people and hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mithrandir826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just returned from a lovely holiday in Essaouira, we want to recommend to others this charming riad. We have had a very pleasant stay thanks to Jean Gabriel and his helpful staff. A special thanks to Hyat and to the kitchen who introduced us to the Maroccan food. Very exiting and tasty. As a family we felt most welcome an din very good hands! We surely hope to return some time in the future.
Best regards,
Lisbeth and Nils
Denmark

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#21 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#9 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Property: Riad Watier
Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing