We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent hotel and staff!”
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent hotel and staff!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location of this hotel in riad-style is perfect! It is situated in the medina and it is just a 2-5 minute walk from the beach and the harbour. The breakfast is very nice, served at the lovely roofterrace overlooking the beach. Nice, clean rooms. Friendly staff! Good value! Perfect stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judithpudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    104
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
72
186
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great hotel In Riad style! Friendly staff, great room, nice view from the roof terrace, good value and stylish decor. Super service!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frode M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Location is central but parking is in the public car park nearby which involves the usual hoardes of men and boys after huge tips for the simplest of things (such as wiping the windscreen when it is raining!).
We had paid for deluxe rooms and I really don't think it is worth it. There is nothing deluxe about them. Bathrooms are open plan, no door for any privacy (altho the wc is seperate). Windows in most deluxe (apart from corner rooms) are inward facing and people walking past can see straight in. The wardrobe is a wire open 'cage' with no doors and does not provide anywhere near enough storage. Overall the room was clean but simple.

Food was good the first night and average the third night. The restaurant is particularly atmospheric with a lovely log fire.

The roof terrace feels a tad neglected. Views are of dirty, untidy rooftops, altho in fairness this can be said of most rooftop views in Morocco.

When it rains the central staircases are dangerous as they cascade with water, altho this was swept away as quickly as possible.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

I wouldn't go back mainly because the bedrooms were not comfortable enough, but it was ok as a central base.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JM&RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I loved this place. We got a room on the top floor which has lots of natural light. Room 32 is like a honeymoon suite, very comfortable and romantic. Service is very good overall. Very sweet people in reception and the staff on the terrace serve a lovely breakfast. Make sure to ask for hot coffee so they make it fresh for you if you get up late! The terrace is lovely for breakfast in the sun but you need to wear a cardigan, shawl or light jacket as it can be a bit chilly although pleasant in December. Jonathon the seagull is always there watching each table to see if he can get to the butter dish or swipe the pain de chocolat!. He is the king of the castle and yet is quite polite! We kind of missed him when we left. There is plenty of hot water in the bathroom, the shower is lovely! There was some restoration happening on the top floor, room 31 has a view of the sea which will be lovely when the room is finished. It seems to be the only one with a view so it will cost more. Service in the bar is slow and the fireplace a bit dismal as the chimney is not working properly but the room is beautiful and pleasant to be in. Great location for the medina and easy access to the beach. Overall a wonderful stay and I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room 31 has lots of light. Room 32 has a view of the sea. Both are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TangoJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The Dar L'oussia is a little paradies located in the Medina. A peaceful and quiet riad, a splendid roofterrace where you can enjoy a delicious lunch or have a sundowner and fairy-like rooms - wait for you!
An absoulut must: cooking lessons with Samira! She showed us some secrets of the Maroccan cuisine!
Alain and his team are wonderful hosts, they treated us like friends! Thank you for the great time!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karolin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Fantastic hotel that ticked every box for me. From the simple but lovely breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea to wonderful service and food at dinner and everything in between. The room was clean and comfortable with lovely touches (windows - they're clever!) and they replaced my water every day with no charge and never failed to clean my room.
The staff who were on the front desk were always smiling and never struggled to answer my never-ending questions in both french and english. Just one thing, if you don't want to be woken by the call to prayer at 7 in the morning then remember to close the windows...
If you're going to Essaouira, stay at Dar L'Oussia.

Room Tip: If you want internet in the room then ask for a room no higher than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank henrystclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I spent here 6days and it was a great time! Service is perfect, staff is very nice and helpful :-) I really recommend this place !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motorynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Property: Riad Dar L'Oussia
Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing