We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the opportunity to dine here!”
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

So pleased to have discovered this peaceful gem of a hotel/restaurant.

Didn't stay here, but dined three times. The staff really ensure that your experience is pleasurable and relaxed. A credit to the establishment.

Excellent food! Nice wines!

Wonderfully presented building.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Gazelle wine is really quite pleasant and local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Wonderful Dar, beautifully located near both medina and beach, in a quiet street!
Great and efficient staff! A plus: they upgraded our room to a luxury room which was very comfortable and with a lovely balcony.
The breakfast was very good, and served in the amazing roof terrace with sea view.
I highly recommend this Dar for an incredible stay in Essaouira!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank jsaraiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Morocco has wonderful places to stay so you can avoid this place. We only booked based on the tripadvisor reviews but it seems hoteliers must have found their way to beef up their ratings on here too. This place smells, and by smells I mean so much so that even someone like myself who can't smell anything most of the time could feel the sewage smell. Since we had booked the place online and paid for it beforehand, we could not change the hotel. The service was poor as was the food as was, as a matter of fact, everything here. They kept overcharging us with everything. The staff was absent-minded and the general manager didn't seem to care at all. Avoid this hotel by all accounts.

Room Tip: good rooms? Not in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Kasbah-style hotel with three layers of rooms opening onto central courtyard with roof open to sky. Mostly lovely sounds of seagulls but with 20 rooms around the courtyard, sometimes sounds of late revellers can disturb the night. Our room on third floor was large and comfortable but only small window opening onto courtyard. No airconditioning or fan but even though it was hot during our stay, the temperature of the room was OK - but do need to leave window open all night! Great location on edge of medina and close to beach and port. Roof-top terrace is sensational setting for breakfast and during the day. Friendly service and overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I highly recommend this hotel, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Essaouira, and I am hard to please!!!
Great staff (friendly and efficient), great location (quiet street a stone throw away from the centre the beach and the port), very light, spacious and clean room with a big walk-in shower. Free use of the hammam (you need to book at reception that's all).
Great roof terrace where you can read and relax with a tea if you have had enough of the souk, which I did after a few hours. I cannot believe we only paid 65 euros per night for a twin room - if I had not known the price I would have easily said the price was the double because the standard was so good.
Great local and copious breakfast served on the roof terrace, the restaurant is also very good (food wise, service wise, ambiance wise) but not for every budget (classy restaurant).
First vegan tagine I ordered in Marocco that was ACTUALLY not cooked with any meat produce. This is a real pearl.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tripfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location of this hotel in riad-style is perfect! It is situated in the medina and it is just a 2-5 minute walk from the beach and the harbour. The breakfast is very nice, served at the lovely roofterrace overlooking the beach. Nice, clean rooms. Friendly staff! Good value! Perfect stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Judithpudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great hotel In Riad style! Friendly staff, great room, nice view from the roof terrace, good value and stylish decor. Super service!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frode M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#32 of 75 in Essaouira
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#27 of 75 in Essaouira
111 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing