We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Riad Dar L'Oussia and found the hotel to be reasonably comfortable. We had room 10 which is above the reception desk and above the courtyard. There is no air-conditioning (you have windows to open on to the courtyard) but because we were just above people's heads, we had to draw our curtains and the windows opened inwards. It was rather noisy because of chatter in the courtyard, and stuffy because we couldn't throw open the windows. The housekeeping staff forgot to put 2 towels in our room on both days, and there was no toilet paper at one stage. I didn't have a hot shower on the second morning (not a real problem because the weather was warm). But the room was very spacious with a bed area, sitting area, corridor on the courtyard and a bathroom with separate toilet. It's in a very handy position, close to the port and the shopping areas, and the staff are very obliging. Breakfast was just adequate, eggs were offered. Other meals in the dining room were quite good. The rooftop is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Room 10 is above the reception area and rather noisy as its windows are just above the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed for one night on a short trip to this town, which was probably more than long enough, we found that the hotel is very well presented with very nice rooms and with attentive staff, we did not experience any of the "smells" that someone reported and I am blessed (cursed) with a very good sense of smell, the breakfast was very limited, but the terrace does provide fine views over the old town, sea and harbour.
We did use the restaurant and can recommend it for lunch and dinner, however we did have some issues over receiving the correct change and also bill.
There always seems to be a problem with obtaining small change in Morocco, which is sad as it affected the tips we left.
Our room did not have air conditioning, but the temperatures that we experienced in September meant that we did not need it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffpfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This riad is beautiful, and the staff are incredibly helpful and always smiling. Lovely room cleaned every day, fresh towels and rose petals on the bed. Highly recommend the hammam scrub and massage, really relaxing and skin felt lovely afterwards. A brilliant location to explore the local area and the terrace is perfect for sunbathing with the constant breeze in essaouira. Not lots to do so if you're looking for a package style holiday or lots of activity its not the place... But very lovely for a romantic break. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed for a week in July and had a really lovely stay. Dar L'Oussia is a beautiful hotel, you feel relaxed as soon as you arrive. Our room was very spacious, very well decorated and spotless. The staff are very friendly and happy to help with anything they can. Breakfasts up on the roof were memorable, an amazing view and very tasty food. Our evening meals in the restaurant was also very good. I can't recommend it highly enough - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zoe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Located just inside the medina, at a great distance from the market, the beach, and the port, Riad Dar L'Oussia is the perfect place to post up for a few nights to enjoy the pleasures Essaouira has to offer. The staff was extraordinarily friendly, professional and accommodating. There is a nice view from the roof. I would certainly recommend the hotel to other friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at Dar L'Oussia for two nights.

The breakfast was included but I was hoping for a bit more of a variety including fruit and musli.

I have to thank the staff for the attention and care they provided us with. I had a very sick friend who had food poisoning from Spain. The staff were amazing in accommodating us, going above and beyond to make her comfortable. Would recommend this Dar for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank breesa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A beautiful hotel with superb rooms, an estonishing roof terrace and the best thinkable service! We stayed with a group and were treated like the royal family from tthe first entrance till the goodbye! Yves and his team made our stay one to remember for a long time. If you are visiting Essaouira (recommendable!), you will miss a unique place with warm hospitality if you do not stay at Dar l'Oussia!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Arian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loussia, Public Relations Manager at Riad Dar L'Oussia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Dar L’Oussia and for such a gratifying review.
We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your brief stay with us and were happy with our services and facilities. Your wonderful and positive comments will be shared with all the employees of the hotel.
We do hope to see you and very soon and make your next stay as impeccable as you had your last stay.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £56 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing