We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Riad!”
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Our best recommendations for this ultimate adorable Riad in the center of Essaouira. The Riad is really fantastic – an experience of beautiful décor, relaxation and service. It has great rooms, adorable courtyard, beautiful dinning room and an amazing roof terrace with a stunning view. Classic Marocco style when it is best. The hosts are very kind and provide you with a really nice and personal service. All in all – a stay at this Riad is a memorable experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaesberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar L'Oussia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were a large group of motorcyclists who descended on this lovely riad in Essaouira, and I wanted to stay longer. The room had a double bed and a single bed, which made it quite crowded - I would have preferred if they would have taken out the single bed and then the room would have been perfect. The shower was great, and hot. We were there on a Friday night and the only negative of this stay was the very loud drumming dance group that played very loudly until midnight. The howling cats kept my husband awake but not me, I slept great once the drumming stopped. Dinner and Breakfast were both great and we ate too much! My husband and I both said that we enjoyed this hotel/riad best of any place we stayed in our two weeks in Morocco.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a little crowded with too many beds. If you don't like drumming bands, bes...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renok75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

After a disappointing experience with an overrated hotel in the middle of the medina and a sleepless night we moved to Riad dar l'Oussia and had a beautiful stay here. Far from the nearest minaret we slept through morning prayer. A short walk to all vital spots of Essaoira we lived in calm luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We went to this lovely Riad last June and had a wonderful time. In a superb position inside the Medina. Excellent good value comfortable room...great breakfast on the roof in the sun and superb restaurant. Unlike Marrakech Essaouira is cool (72 degrees approx in the summer with a constant breeze). Wonderful beach for long walks and windsurfing. Staff wonderful without exception and Bouchera in reception particularly helpful. Bouchera's restaurant recommendations were all excellent.
A £50 taxi ride from Marrakech or spend a couple of days in Paris and fly direct to Essaouira.

Room Tip: NOTE No swimming pool...I could not delete the rating No fitness centre but great treatments and co...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 6 nights at Dar L'Oussia as part of a Yoga Traveller yoga retreat. We have been to various other parts of Morocco twice before so had several Riads and locations to compare it to. The Riad is incredibly conveniently located a few steps inside the main medina entrance so you can pull your suit cases (on wheels) the few yards from the taxi stand with ease.

The riad itself is very nicely presented with rooms on three upper floors the majority looking in towards the square uncovered leafy courtyard. The rooms are comfortable with underfloor heating in the Lux rooms. The beds are very firm and there can be issues with noise from the ever-present seagulls.

The service in the hotel was great. Breakfast on the roof terrace is excellent and the views fantastic. The main restaurant is a treat to sit in during the colder months as they have huge fires blazing at both ends and dramatic decor throughout. The service was impeccable and the menu as nice change from the plethora of nearby local restaurants. (Ask about the Cookery school conveniently in the neat street along.) The riad staff are lovely and very unobtrusive but friendly.

The convenience for the beach and harbour (both <100 yards) make it a great location with the medina and all its shops, cafes, restaurants, souk etc a few steps away. Returning to the peace and ambience of Dar L'Oussia after after time in the souk is a great relief. Having said that the locals both in the souk and on the beach (selling camel and horse rides etc) are very un-aggressive compared to anywhere else we have been either west or east of the Atlas.

Anyone visiting Essaouira should be aware that high winds can make the beach cool but equally this creates a great location for kite and wind surfing. Not a beach to sit and sunbath on except perhaps in the hotter months.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor unless you like seagulls noise to put you to sleep.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

A truly beautiful riad just inside the Essaouira medina. Rooms are spotless though perhaps a bit small in a twin. Room terrace has views of the bay to die for. Staff could not be more helpful and if you like doing yoga they will be delighted to let you use their custom yoga studio (for special yoga holidays) if it's free. Underfloor heating not really necessary even in January and made rooms a bit airless as a result but not enough to detract from a fabulous stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lankaisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had a gorgeous meal here,. It happened to be my birthday as well and the staff arranged champagne, dessert with birthday candles and all came out of the kitchen to sing happy birthday. A beautiful setting, fabulous food and reasonable priced.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank am S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £56 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing