We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located Riad inside Medina”
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

True Riad experience. No lifts so spiral staircase negotiation could be of concern! Rooms relatively compact but stylish - overlooking central courtyard. Good light lunches served in courtyard with buffet dinner in ground floor restaurant and breakfast served on roof garden. Views from roof interesting. Porters carry luggage for you up and down the spiral stars

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spent 5 nights at this one. First impressions were "WOW". Very friendly welcome with help to our room with the bags, which is good as there are 3 floors and no lift, plus the stairs are spiral. The room was set as traditional Moroccan, with a wet room, bed/sitting room and toilet. There is a roof terrace which has fantastic views of the coast and town. The terrace we found was abit in need of some TLC. There is no pool however you are very close to the beach which we found very tidy with some sun beds and parasols at a small rental charge. The breakfast is a simple affair of breads/jam,cheese,yoghurt,tea/coffee and juice. The restaurant was spectacular, the food and service was with a doubt the best we had in the 2 weeks we spent in Morocco. There is a smell of the sea in Essaouira, this is added to by the close fish market. You will get use to it. And yes the seagulls do make alot of noise, so if you are a light sleeper take some ear plugs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this riad for two nights and it's so nice !! Very clean, traditional decor with a chic twist! The staff are very nice, the atmosphere is calming and relaxing. There's an upstairs eating area with sun loungers with a beautiful view of the beach, dressed in neutral colours to add to the calm ambience. The breakfast is nice, I ate in the restaurant once for dinner which was ok. I have no complaints at all the only slight moan is our room was quite small for two people so we chilled in the lobby area more often .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely friendly Riad. It is perfectly placed for exploring the port, beach and Medina. The staff were all so kind, courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet was adequate but the evening menu was super. The only thing I missed on the roof terrace was a little plunge pool to cool down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 733AliT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I ended up staying here quite by accident, but it was absolutely the kind of accident we like to be in!

Having watched the last Supratours bus drive past us some twenty five minutes early we were in a bit of a fix - not much with us and nowhere to stay. Resolving to make the best of things we went back to the medina to find somewhere to stay the night. Dar L'Oussia was the first place we saw.

I still feel amazed at how lucky we were: the staff were very friendly and accommodating - sat there in our beach gear with no change of clothes we felt a mite out of place but none of the hotel staff batted an eyelid - we were made to feel every bit as welcome as anyone.

The riad as a whole is beautifully decorated with an exquisite central courtyard and a beautiful restaurant and public areas tastefully adorned with a few Moroccan objets and nautical flourishes such as rope banisters. The room was simple, pretty and comfortable. The lack of cooling was no problem as Essaouira is so mild compared to Marrakech and we felt comparatively cool after the substantially higher temperature we had become inured to.

We ended up eating there as well - the waiter was very charming indeed and lured us in with promises of excellent food - and did not regret it. Although expensive for Essaouira the price was very reasonable by English standards and the quality of everything simply excellent. The pastilla was gorgeous, ditto the lamb and the vegetable soup, and the service was absolutely impeccable.

In summary, we were extremely fortunate to happen on this place when we did - being in somewhat dire straits - but the truth is I feel that anyone staying here has excellent fortune, regardless of other circumstances. That they were so kind and helpful when we had no claim on
them only goes to show how lucky their guests really are.

Room Tip: Even the basic one was great. Anything better must surely be ... really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We found this place by accident as we were looking for somewhere to have an alcoholic drink (particularly difficult during Ramadan!). It is located just inside the Medina. Turn left into an alleyway just through the arches. We walked up to the roof terrace - 87 steps!! We had our drink and then decided to eat in the restaurant. My husband had the Moroccan soup (lovely) and I had the lamb which was delicious. More expensive than the usual restaurants but then it is a hotel. Lovely atmosphere and superb service. In fact, we ate there twice we liked it so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LynneGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

So grand, yet careful details show pride in their work. Walking distance from many interesting attractions. My favourite welcome (apart from mint tea) was to be greeted by the towels folded like swans, with rose petals on their heads! Huge room, huge shower recess. Antique furniture features. Wonderful view from rooftop. Breakfast up there was a great start.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
266 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#20 of 75 in Essaouira
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £54 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing