We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location; otherwise good and less good things”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good location; otherwise good and less good things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Unlike recent reviewers we were really cosy in our room, 23, even though it was cold and wet outside. It had under floor heating which worked a treat. Also it had TV and safe.

Among the good things: location on the edge of the medina, lovely roof sun terrace with sea views, free WIFI and use of dedicated guest computer, log fires, very helpful staff on front desk.

Among less good things: Steep spiral stairs [no lifts] and no ground floor bedrooms; food very ordinary, both breakfast and dinner; really hard beds and pillows, not able to provide an envelope(!), low pressure in shower, inefficient flush on loo. VERY POOR LIGHT EVERYWHERE

Ok but would not necessarily stay again.

Room Tip: Do not go for the cheapest room options. They have 4 categories of room . Ours was second lowest so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    100
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
183
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a small Riad in a great location with a charming and professional food and beverage team, the breakfast is excellent served by a kind team who remember you likes and requests daily and are very warm and hospitable. The front office team are not as caring and tried to book me out upon on arrival, I refused to leave and had to be accommodated as I don't think they knew what to say when I refused to go. I had maintenance issues which were not dealt with from arrival to departure which is a shame as the housekeeping team work tirelessly throughout the day and their standards were fantastic. . The hotel is currently being renovated and the works go on overnight and can be heard around the Riad throughout the night also as the traditional windows do not close at the top section, this was very distressing to some of our party who were here to relax on a Yoga trip, it's understandable to want to renovate during a quiet time of the year however no one expects this to be carried out overnight.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have the sun terrace above and staff can be heard working there overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeMLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Essaouira is a small town in itself, and Riad Dar L'Oussia is located at the best location. Walking distance to the Souk (5mins), beach front (5mins) and harbor (5mins).

We had room 31 on the 4th floor, room was airy and bright, but no view. I guess since the Riad is located in the middle of the alley, we could not ask for much. after peeking into the other rooms, i think that Rooms 31 and 32 would be the best.

Cons would be that the room had no centralized heating. all that was given was a small heater which wasn't even enough to heat up anything. we were thankful that the temp was a cool 16-18 degrees in the middle of winter. also, we there were no hooks in the bathroom to hang anything. no door too, just a partition.

breakfast was located at the rooftop. this is the best part of the hotel. the views were fantastic every morning. they could improve on the breakfast offerings though. No eggs?

Room Tip: Rooms 31 or 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bong360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I'm annoyed with this beautiful and well located Riad as it could be wonderful but for a few basics. The rooms were freezing, really freezing at night. heating was sparse and inadequate. The beds were not comfortable - hard and back-breaking. Cleanliness and maid service was second to none - and highly commended. Reception staff were lovely. Breakfast was adequate - well dull and unimaginative - but it was really hard to order coffee or hot water.

But, what was really appalling was the electric shock that the shower delivered. After complaining I was told that it was fixed. Next shower - shock! I got a bit more stroppy and was told it was fixed. Third time : SHOCK!! Now, electric shocks in the shower are not my idea of a good hotel. It was explained to me that it was the neighbours, they had fixed it by removing the fuse but the apartment was let out and the people wanted their electricity! No surprise there. Resolution was hard to come by, it seemed that they weren't customer focused with inadequate options until I got really grumpy. Shame really, and electric shocks in the shower should be taken seriously but it wasn't. I don't think my concern was understood.

Room Tip: Don't have room 27 - it's a death trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chavvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffa in London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dar L’Oussia during a mini trip in November.

The hotel is in a great location, within the old city walls, close to the beach and old harbour, yet slightly out of the busy centre.

The room was the best we had in Morocco and breakfast was served every morning on the sunny roof top terrace with views overlooking the harbour and beach.

We highly recommend staying here

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 30Before30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar L'Ouissa for 2 nights on a recent trip to Morocco and loved it. The hotel is in a great spot within the medina, close to the beach and the main port. It's a beautifully decorated riad with lovely rooms and a wonderful roof top terrace where we enjoyed breakfast each morning, overlooking the ocean. We had dinner downstairs at the main restaurant whilst there too and the food was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the free wifi was great, and we had our laundry done there promptly and for a reasonable price. Our room was comfortable, clean and warm and overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Riad Dar L'Ouissa.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Located just inside the old city walls, a five minute stroll for the souk and the working harbour.
Also minutes from the north end of Essaouira's sweeping beach. Can't imagine a better location.

About thirty rooms are arranged around the pretty courtyard on three floors. Reasonably spacious, very atmospheric but with all facilities.

The dining room is stunning, although the food is plentiful but a bit 'samey' . The roof are is a beautiful place for breakfast, but sadly the fare was very sparse with litlle choice- one of the poorest breakfast buffets (if you can call it that) we've ever experienced.
The only other downsides are the absence of a lift, so you need to be reasonably fit to use the step stairs, and very poor wi-fi reception.

Would have been excellent were it not for the lamentable breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Property: Riad Dar L'Oussia
Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing