We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a small riad, atmospheric, well-situated just inside the medina, with a superb roof terrace looking over the port and the south beach, (though it was windy!), lovely staff, excellent food, and good rooms. The toiletries are good quality too. I am vegetarian and found there was plenty of choice. Good wine and drinks list too.

Room Tip: Ours was a smallish room but no outside window so we weren't disturbed by street noise at all. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

This Ryad is just inside the Medina, a short walk from both the port and the main streets. Staff are very friendly, breakfast is served on the roof terrace with good views over the port, breakfast is very good with a good selection of food, our room was very clean and comfy, large bed and large shower, free WI-FI was a bonus. We had arranged a car to pick us up at 3pm to take us to Marrakesh, when we asked what time check out was, we were told " when the car arrived ".
Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trentsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights. Our travel agency recommended it. We followed the advice. We had absolutely no reason to regret this decision.

Fine rooms with all the necessary facilities. The hotel or "Ryad" as they call it has some 20 rooms in all, pretty court yard and last but not least: A very good restaurant with super attendance. Try their fish ! We are right at the ocean and the fish has been caught that very same day. Delicious. As for wine: We are in a Muslim country so do not expect a lengthy wine list. In most places, also here, they will only serve Moroccan wine. Go for wine from the "Médaillon" wine house, the most expensive but definitely also the best.

Breakfast is served at the roof terrace with view of the Atlantic Ocean and the 16th century Portuguese fortress guarding the sea entrance to the city. Beautiful. Bring a scarf ! It is windy, very windy, in Essaouira.

Another positive aspect: Their wi-fi is perfect. You get instant connection and it stays that way.

Final word: Spend 2 nights in Essaouira, not 3 as we did. There is not much to see. There is the Portuguese fortress which you must visit. There is a "souk" of course, but the one in Marrakesh is much bigger and much better. There is a museum which you can skip unless you happen to be very interested in the tea trade between China and Morocco. Apart from this the broad beach and the fish market is what here is to visit. So enough for a couple of days, but too little for three days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niels E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A picturesque Riad in an excellent location, close to the port and town. The view from the roof terrace is stunning.

However, our room was not so stunning. The beds in this Riad are like boards with pillows to match. The evenings can get quite chilly and the only source of heat was a small electric radiator to heat the room and bathroom. The water for the shower was only just hot enough. On the positive side, the room was very clean as was all the communal areas of the hotel.

All staff were great, very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was ok, basic continental but the lunches and evening meals were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sohotobrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Unlike recent reviewers we were really cosy in our room, 23, even though it was cold and wet outside. It had under floor heating which worked a treat. Also it had TV and safe.

Among the good things: location on the edge of the medina, lovely roof sun terrace with sea views, free WIFI and use of dedicated guest computer, log fires, very helpful staff on front desk.

Among less good things: Steep spiral stairs [no lifts] and no ground floor bedrooms; food very ordinary, both breakfast and dinner; really hard beds and pillows, not able to provide an envelope(!), low pressure in shower, inefficient flush on loo. VERY POOR LIGHT EVERYWHERE

Ok but would not necessarily stay again.

Room Tip: Do not go for the cheapest room options. They have 4 categories of room . Ours was second lowest so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a small Riad in a great location with a charming and professional food and beverage team, the breakfast is excellent served by a kind team who remember you likes and requests daily and are very warm and hospitable. The front office team are not as caring and tried to book me out upon on arrival, I refused to leave and had to be accommodated as I don't think they knew what to say when I refused to go. I had maintenance issues which were not dealt with from arrival to departure which is a shame as the housekeeping team work tirelessly throughout the day and their standards were fantastic. . The hotel is currently being renovated and the works go on overnight and can be heard around the Riad throughout the night also as the traditional windows do not close at the top section, this was very distressing to some of our party who were here to relax on a Yoga trip, it's understandable to want to renovate during a quiet time of the year however no one expects this to be carried out overnight.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have the sun terrace above and staff can be heard working there overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AoifeMLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Essaouira is a small town in itself, and Riad Dar L'Oussia is located at the best location. Walking distance to the Souk (5mins), beach front (5mins) and harbor (5mins).

We had room 31 on the 4th floor, room was airy and bright, but no view. I guess since the Riad is located in the middle of the alley, we could not ask for much. after peeking into the other rooms, i think that Rooms 31 and 32 would be the best.

Cons would be that the room had no centralized heating. all that was given was a small heater which wasn't even enough to heat up anything. we were thankful that the temp was a cool 16-18 degrees in the middle of winter. also, we there were no hooks in the bathroom to hang anything. no door too, just a partition.

breakfast was located at the rooftop. this is the best part of the hotel. the views were fantastic every morning. they could improve on the breakfast offerings though. No eggs?

Room Tip: Rooms 31 or 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bong360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £56 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing