We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good locaton and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good locaton and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This Riad-style hotel is within the walls of the town of Essaouira. The location is really good with easy access to the town and sights and also to the beach, prom and harbour, which is full of fishing vessels. As is typical with Riads, the room look our onto a bright central courtyard. There is a rooftop area with loungers and chairs and with views of the sea. Breakfast is served in this area. It can be a little windy here at times. Also it is necessary to climb a spiral staircase with rope handrail to reach this rooftop area (but worth it!). The staff were helpful, going out of their way to re-arrange the dining room table to accommodate our group. I would say that Essaouira is well worth a visit and, if visiting, this would be a very good choice of hotel. (Stayed as part of a Saga tour)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    99
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
181
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Location was perfect right inside the walls - large room with plenty of closets - breakfast was served on the upper terrace with a breath taking view of the ocean. We ate both nights at the in-house restaurant and it was superb. The entire staff was very helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fearlessfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCoast
Level Contributor
132 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a wonderful seaside town and absolutely worth visiting. I was sorry not to stay for more than the three days that we were on-site. There is a small, manageable shopping area and several terrific seafood restaurants. We loved this hotel, and the views from the roof dining area were magnificent. Our room was huge – and gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We just arrived in essaouira and nothing but amazing meals in Marrakech so we were excited to try someplace new
We stumbled upon this beautiful riad and were quite taken with its beauty
We were starving and it was 2:00 pm
The dining room was dark and empty so we asked if there was a terrace
After climbing many stairs we reached this amazing view
As beautiful as the view was the food was opposite.
The maroccaine soup was thick ,floury and tasteless
The salmon plate absolutely had no taste
The vegetables looked colorful but lacked total imagination
The food couldn't have been more bland
Even the wine we first ordered which was a Gris was old and off
Go for a drink because it really is beautiful but don't waste your money on the food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamalove93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely hotel, open plan seating area downstairs, beautiful restaurant with English-speaking waiters, helpful lady on the front desk, fantastic cleaners who not only cleaned our room but folded our pyjamas and left them on our beds and tidied up our stuff in to neat piles, nice room but would have been a bit chilly without the heater provided (but we did go in April) and the roof space was nice when the weather wasn't too windy. Breakfast was a selection of meats, warm breads and cheeses served to you, and there was a help yourself spread of marmalades etc., orange juice, yoghurts and a few other things. Whilst we thought it was nice and had our fill on the first day, we did tire of being offered the exact same breakfast every morning for a week and did eat elsewhere on occasion. The evening meals served in the hotel are very good standard but we were disappointed it is essentially a French menu and not Moroccan (although this is the same for the majority of the restaurants in Essaouira). I pre-booked a massage with the hotel which was nice, and very relaxing but focused almost solely on my legs and arms and almost completely neglected by back and shoulders which I actually suffer with. It was also hard to even communicate this to the woman giving me the massage as she spoke no English. We also booked in for a body scrub which was very nice, a little strange having someone scrubbing down and throwing water at your boobs (although she looked just as uncomfortable doing it haha) but our skin felt very clean and soft afterwards. I also had a good head massage at the end of the scrub as she washed my hair but I did find quite a bit of shampoo still in my hair afterwards. We also pre-booked a cooking class, and considering the French bias of the restaurant menu, we were extremely happy to find it was cooking all Moroccan food. We made a 3 course meal, with the assistance of a chef and the woman from the front desk who translated, and then it was cooked for us and we ate it in the restaurant for dinner. We made these little triangular parcels filled with goats cheese, fish and chicken tagines depending on our preference and orange slices with cinnamon and strawberries for decoration. At the end of our stay we were informed of a MAD tax we had to pay per person per night of our stay, which was never mentioned before. As we had just divided our remaining Dirham amongst a few of the hotel staff we felt were deserving we had no money left to pay the tax. After stating we didn't have any money left, the front desk man said not to worry about it. We did assure him once we returned to the UK we would gladly pay it, as it worked out to about £25 in total and he said in that case he would email the details to us. Overall the hotel staff were very attentive and friendly and despite some broken English here and there, we didn't experience any problems. We would definetly recommend and come back if we ever re-visited Essaouira. It is probably more suited to people who are able bodied though as we did struggle a little with the amount of stairs and were situated on the top floor!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice hotel with Moroccan influence. All rooms look into a central open courtyard. very chique but makes the rooms very dark, I had to get an extra light put in. Finding your clothes in the dark is a pain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinB120341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a small riad, atmospheric, well-situated just inside the medina, with a superb roof terrace looking over the port and the south beach, (though it was windy!), lovely staff, excellent food, and good rooms. The toiletries are good quality too. I am vegetarian and found there was plenty of choice. Good wine and drinks list too.

Room Tip: Ours was a smallish room but no outside window so we weren't disturbed by street noise at all. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Property: Riad Dar L'Oussia
Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing