We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Casa Lila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Casa Lila
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Essaouira has a bustling charming medina, and casa lila is the perfect place to explore it from. As soon as you enter, everything is calm and quiet. the staff are so lovely, and helpful. Loved every minute.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor - which is quite open, but it does mean that you can use the lounge area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    52
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
141
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This Riad is beauifully designed, you are welcomed with the warmest biggest smile. The owners Michelle and Fonfon welcome you at breakfast each morning with a genuine enthusiasm for each of their guests and the knowledge they can share on sight seeing in and around Essaouira is invaluable. Our room was on the ground floor and very beautiful with fresh petals strewn across our bed and the bathroom daily, it made for a very romantic feel.I slept like a baby here, I felt very safe and I would thoroughly recommend Casa Lila to anyone visiting Essaouira. The breakfasts are fantastic which they change slightly every day and there were so accommodating when we woke up late!!! Rashid was fantastic at recommending restaurants and the best places to get Moroccan sweets etc.. The Riad was cleaned daily from top to bottom, they are very thorough. The location is fantastic as you're right at the hub of everything yet once in the Riad it is so quiet. I won't book anywhere else when I return to Essaouira.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This Riad is a vision in beauty, tranquility, and superb service. From the moment you step in from the street, you are as enveloped in tlc and genteel living. The room is gorgeus, there is fresh rose petals on my bed, scented oil lamps, silk cushions and an open fireplace. In this bed i sleep better than at home. At breakfast i feel pampered, and when i sit in the common area, tea appears as by magic. This hotel has the best staff i have ever encountered. They just seem to know what you would like, but are never in your face. Everything is immaculate, functional and at the same time highly respectful of tradition. It seriously felt like a visit to paradise and a trip into a fairy tale. I loved every minute.

Room Tip: Any room will do, they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatimazahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Everything was really good. We would definitely return.
We were upgraded free of charge, given a welcome tea.
It is very close to everything, and they went through the map and wrote were everything was.
Beautiful rooms, helpful, friendly staff.
Best breakfast, very accommodating of my food allergies.
Had a free drinks and nibbles night with the owners one night.
Didn't want to leave actually!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Casa Lila is amazing! It felt like a real treat. They upgraded us to a bigger room at no charge, and the Rose suite was phenomenal! I loved the bright colors and the design of Casa Lila, and how it felt both old/antique and new/modern at the same time. In the room was the most amazing bath, part of the old Hammam, we were told. The room was spacious and so very comfortable. Breakfast on the roof was a treat too. The staff was super friendly and helpful, booking us a last minute hammam and massage a few minutes away that was excellent. We stayed at a lot of Riads, and this place is really one of our favorites!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Rose room, which had that heavenly bath and tons of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djwendella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

In summary, we would happily return and love FF and her team!

PROS
1. Rooms - quirky, cool and impeccably designed!
2. Location - 5 minutes from bus station, 5 minutes from beach, in the heart of the cool Medina (where you want to be)
3. Breakfast - more than adequate, although on 2 occassions, my requests for more fruit were rejected
4. Terrace - sunny and lovely!
5. Courtyard - well-decorated and welcoming!
6. Management - they go out of their way to help you, solve problems and treat you to a fab holiday!

CONS
1. Spa - small, and manned by one very unhappy girl. But, they do have a wide menu of treatments and perhaps I was just unlucky...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Casa Lila is exactly how I had imagined a riad to be. Right in the centre of the medina, but completely sheltered from the chaos in the streets outside. The furnishings are beautiful, shabby chic, with creative (subdued) lighting, plants, and rose petals strewn on the towels and beds each evening. Each room has a different colour theme - we were in ivory and rose petal. Both were lovely in different ways, although ivory did have a very small bath in the middle of the room. Breakfasts were served on the roof terrace, weather permitting, and were fresh and delicious. There is a beauty salon where I had the best massage I have ever had! What really made Casa Lila special was the staff, however - they were without exception charming, helpful and friendly. There were some irregularities in the plumbing (a leaking sink) but this in no way detracted from a great experience. I would thoroughly recommend Casa Lila and would love to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in two twin bedded rooms. Both were quiet, placed round a lovely central courtyard cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#8 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#27 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Casa Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Casa Lila

Property: Riad Casa Lila
Address: 94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#21 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Casa Lila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Casa Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Casa Lila Essaouira
Riad Casa Lila Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing