We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Umia

Umia
Ranked #7 of 261 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

During your visit to Essaouira you must visit Umia! This was probably the best meal I had in Morocco. The ingredients are fresh and skillfully put together. The service is absolutely lovely and the setting is romantic and chic. We hope to have another visit to Morocco and if so we will definitely put Essaouira on the agenda with a visit to Umia!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanadianAbroad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    109
    26
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Recommend for anyone to visit at least once on your visit of Essaouira, the food is something you only expect to see at a high end french restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hakim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was the best restaurant experience we had in Morocco. Absolutely lovely setting and atmosphere. Excellent service, amazing food. We had planned on eating somewhere else but the owner of our riad told us we should go to Umia. Wonderful evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank periple_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Happy and funny owners. One of the more gourmet options in Essaouira”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This restaurant is a little tucked away so you may have to resort to a map to find it but my god is it worth it. Located just by the outer wall separating the sea and the medina, it offers a fantastic fusion of Morroccan and French food cooked to absolute perfection. Reasonably priced wine and an explosion of flavours all within a minimalistic modern setting tucked behind one of the busier areas of Essouira, this restaurant is ideal for a romantic meal for two.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AligoodluckHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come for the food, stay for the owners”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Ate here in April on a trip to Essaouira. The menu changes frequently and we had smoked salmon pancakes, ravioli, grilled duck, apple tart and chocolate mousse. The food was spectacular and the atmosphere was perfect. The small resturant is owned by a husband/wife team who are the loveliest people you'll meet. Owner recommended a fabulous bottle of wine to compliment our meal. This place is not to be missed!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noodle333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umia also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Umia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing