We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Dar Nafoura, Thank you!”
Review of Riad Dar Nafoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Nafoura
Ranked #51 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Brilliant location in Essaouira. Friendly staff - gave us a warm welcome and helped you to plan our two days of adventure. Breakfast was a lovely bonus while staying at Riad Dar Nafoura.
I would recommend this accommodation to all (families, couples and groups on friends).

Thank you
Helen and Annie!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

We literally stumbled on this place by pure chance-and what a chance! From the otuside it looked like nothing special, a small alley leading to a dark door-but once inside it was spectacular, an incredible hotel bdone out in a really interesting way to celebrate local culture and provide a little European luxury. The owners are a couple from Brittany but whio have lived there for many years and built up a good local netwrok of friends and a great team of freindly and helpful staff. Everyone we met here could not do enough for us and the kindness and generosity of the owners really made the trip. As well as expert local knowledge and a general helping hand in all that we needed in the hotel and the city itself they really took the time to make us feel at home and welcome. There was never any hint of being too busy to help. The hotel itself is amazing as a building and the rooms are all large and really comfy. There is a roof top terrace and views across the city from up there, for meals, sitting or naps. I cannot recommend this place or the owners highly enough. Brilliant.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms on the upper floor personally, but all were of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

A last mintute find as we wandered through the Medina of Essaouira we were deligeted to discover this little gem
Extremely clean and very comfortable, Dar Nafoura was the perfect spot. Best of all was the excellent hospitality from Silvia and Jackie.
A really memorable experience -- highly recommended by a very satisfied Irish customer

Room Tip: We were given a choice of rooms - all were lovely though the 'orange' one at the top that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed in Dar Nafoura for four days, booking the entire house for a foodtrips.co.uk cookery trip. I have never experienced a similar level of hospitality in any Riad, hotel or guest house. Sylvie and Jacky were focussed on making our stay as enjoyable as possible and gladly agreed to us taking over their entire house and staff, turning it upside down.

Their enthusiasm in making our trip enjoyable is probably best expressed through an anecdote. Lacking cooking equipment for a whole lamb Jacky helped us in creating a technical drawing, finding a welder and ultimately pulling the resulting monster of an oil barrel barbecue through the open courtyard onto the roof.

I am not sure if this is something you want to do on your trip to Essaouira. (Actually, I am. You don't, do you?) But whatever your plans are for Essaouira: The team that runs and works at Dar Nafoura will, based on my experience, work tirelessly for you.

Is the Riad also beautiful, located in a less touristy and more interesting part of the Medina, with lovely breakfast and all that at a surprisingly low price point? It is.

Go. You'll love it.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, Loubna is the most spacious of the doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siepert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

one of the nicestplaces i have ever slept. very nice people,beautiful&clean rooms, amazing breakfast. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigirosado044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

During a surf trip around Europe my boyfriend from New Zealand and I decided to stop at Essaouira and stayed at the Dar Nafoura. We had an amazing time there! The riad is fantastic and well maintained. The rooms are clean, well decorated, cosy and perfect for romantic nights. The terrace is also a great place to hang out. But the place is not the only good thing about the riad, the staff are charming and helpfull. The owners Jacky and Sylvie will do all their best to advise you and make you have an awsome time! After a long day surfing it was delightful to get back there and have a good rest and good food in this peaceful and friendly atmosphere!
We really recommend this place and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were on a Guided Tour from Agadir, our guide asked us if we would like to see inside and she said she would ask if we could. The door was locked the receptionist came and we were invited in. It was not what was expected from the outside, but once inside it was lovely. We were given a very warm welcome and allowed to wander around. Unfortuneately we could not see a bedroom as they had a full occupancy. From what we saw we think we would stay there if we visited again.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#34 of 75 in Essaouira
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#30 of 75 in Essaouira
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Inna
Riad Inna
#12 of 180 in Essaouira
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison du Cinema
La Maison du Cinema
#19 of 180 in Essaouira
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nafoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nafoura

Address: 30 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nafoura 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Riad Dar Nafoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing