We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Riad Dar Nafoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Nafoura
Ranked #31 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We were met at the Bab Marrakech entrance to the Medina within 5 mins of calling to say we had arrived and led to the Riad. The Riad is in a great location, it has a beautiful entrance hall and is really quiet considering its location. We opted for a cheap room so it was pretty small compared to the others, but it was comfortable and we loved the moroccan decor. Staff are super friendly and gave us delicious mint tea each day with the best homemade biscuits! We were glad we stayed here and would stay again. If I were to suggest an improvement I think the roof terrace is looking tired and has such potential. Rickety chairs, walls need painting etc. But Im just being picky! Breakfast was very good and plentiful. We spent 3 nights here and had no complaints. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banana1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique J, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Nafoura, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your positive comment on tripadvisor

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards.
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    34
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
44
86
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Very easy to find with an extremely helpful host in Sylvie. Breakfast was delicious. Our room was upgraded to a suite, which was spacious and very comfortable.

Sylvie, please send your husband regards from the couple from 'kaptun' ;-)

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the medina.

Essaouria is a must see, relaxing and the medina not as expensive and full of 'harassment' as marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It was our first time in Essaouira, and on entering the riad we were immediately impressed by the quiet, restful atmosphere for somewhere located in the busy streets near the centre of the old medina. Service was impeccable, we were made very welcome with a personal meet & greet from the bus station, and daily mint tea and home made biscuits etc. The (French) owners were away seeing family, but the place was still run by the staff to high standard. Nobody seemed to mind that we can't speak French, and we had some excellent recommendations for eating out. We didnt eat evening meal at the Riad, but we had the thumbs up from the discerning French guests there.
The breakfasts were taken in the courtyard (being January), and are a wonderful selection of home made pastries, pancake, omlette, yogurts etc. They certainly lived up to our (high) expectations on reading these reviews when booking.
Our bedroom was very clean and spacious, and full of character. Each bedrooms decor was different, and looked like all the detailing had been lovingly created by local craftspeople.
This place was incredible value in low season (Jan 2013), we were amazed we could experience such accommodation within our modest budget.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, friendly- when we checked in, the owner Sylvie sat down to tea with us and gave us a map of the town and went through all of her recommendations (which all turned out to be great). In the medina but not too hard to find

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robotville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Brilliant location in Essaouira. Friendly staff - gave us a warm welcome and helped you to plan our two days of adventure. Breakfast was a lovely bonus while staying at Riad Dar Nafoura.
I would recommend this accommodation to all (families, couples and groups on friends).

Thank you
Helen and Annie!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We literally stumbled on this place by pure chance-and what a chance! From the otuside it looked like nothing special, a small alley leading to a dark door-but once inside it was spectacular, an incredible hotel bdone out in a really interesting way to celebrate local culture and provide a little European luxury. The owners are a couple from Brittany but whio have lived there for many years and built up a good local netwrok of friends and a great team of freindly and helpful staff. Everyone we met here could not do enough for us and the kindness and generosity of the owners really made the trip. As well as expert local knowledge and a general helping hand in all that we needed in the hotel and the city itself they really took the time to make us feel at home and welcome. There was never any hint of being too busy to help. The hotel itself is amazing as a building and the rooms are all large and really comfy. There is a roof top terrace and views across the city from up there, for meals, sitting or naps. I cannot recommend this place or the owners highly enough. Brilliant.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms on the upper floor personally, but all were of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

A last mintute find as we wandered through the Medina of Essaouira we were deligeted to discover this little gem
Extremely clean and very comfortable, Dar Nafoura was the perfect spot. Best of all was the excellent hospitality from Silvia and Jackie.
A really memorable experience -- highly recommended by a very satisfied Irish customer

Room Tip: We were given a choice of rooms - all were lovely though the 'orange' one at the top that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#43 of 74 in Essaouira
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#18 of 175 in Essaouira
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
RIad Dar El Paco
RIad Dar El Paco
#9 of 175 in Essaouira
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nafoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nafoura

Property: Riad Dar Nafoura
Address: 30 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nafoura 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar Nafoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing