We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bad surprise!!!”
Review of Riad Dar Nafoura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Nafoura
Ranked #44 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2007

The room smelled bad, there was pubic hairs in the sheets and is located in a bad spot in essaouira. The staff members where unhelpfull and uncaring. Don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foucault2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2007

Loved this place.

Rooms OK - clean, comfy

Staff - amazing, really helpfull, really friendly, perfect hosts. Really make this place stand out.

Good location, few minutes away from everywhere, is located in the walled town / souk

Best breakfast in Morroco!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jontenpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2006

The hotel is easy to find from Bab Marrekech - it's signposted all the way, and a short walk from the Supratours drop off.

The staff were very friendly, and on check in sat us down, gave us tea and a small cake, and explained all the sights in Essaouira.
Our room on the third floor was okay, although it was clearly difficult to keep the stone floor clean. The bathroom could have been better too.

We did have some excitement while staying at the hotel, as on one night the lights went out. Okay, a blackout can happen, but as I looked out of our window I noticed the hotel was on fire!
We evacuated but no assistance from the hotel staff or management and in the pitch black darkness. It turned out the fire was caused by a short circuit on the junction box on the outside wall of the hotel. After a lot of commotion the fire was put out, the fire service arrived (in that order), and we kind of wandered back into the hotel. Later that night the lights came back on.

Eassaouira was a nice, relaxed place after Marrakech, and cheaper to buy stuff, but there isn't a great deal to do, and the sea food restaurant (one of the stalls) at the harbour gave us a serious stomach bug - even after being in Morocco for a week already.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henkyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2006

Have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Dar Narfoura Riad in Essaouira and felt compelled to write a review as there were no other reviews before we travelled. Located on Rue Ibn Khaldoun, a short walk from Bab Marrakesh (the Supratours bus station), it was initially hard to find but a welcome oasis from the bustling maket streets outside. An average room costs £35 per night so it wasn't luxury but a very good price for the wonderful hospitality, lovely Moroccan breakfast served on the roof terrace and comfortable, spacious bedroom. The owner was currently building a small bar in the lounge area downstairs which will only be a bonus when you return from a day at the beach or shopping. Staff were French and English speaking but they didn't accept credit cards. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We stayed at Dar Nafoura for one night in late July, in the Guitha room. The room and ensuite bathroom were both fine (although the tap for the sink was strangely fitted so far back that the water hit the countertop rather than the sink!?!). The location was also fine, near the souks and set well back from the very windy seafront!
Staff are very friendly and we had a lovely breakfast on the roof terrace.
A tip about Essaouira - most restaurants close no later than 11pm - so don't fall asleep after a day at the beach and miss dinner! If you do arrive after the kitchen has "closed", some places will offer you something but you won't be given a choice of what you eat.
Also definitely book your bus travel at least 24 hours in advance (be warned that the Supratours office in Essaouira keeps very minimal hours) - even in the "off season" we had a problem with trying to purchase bus tickets in the morning for travel that day.

6  Thank CanuckAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alexcook01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank melpelissanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Inna
Riad Inna
#12 of 180 in Essaouira
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#20 of 180 in Essaouira
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
RIad Dar El Paco
RIad Dar El Paco
#9 of 180 in Essaouira
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison du Cinema
La Maison du Cinema
#22 of 180 in Essaouira
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nafoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nafoura

Address: 30 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £22 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nafoura 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Dar Nafoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing