We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic riad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Le Grand Large
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed one night at this riad.
The room (no 4) was clean but smell was terrible.
High humidity, probably because of proximity to the ocean.
Good location in the heart of Medina, easy to find.
Breakfast was ok on rooftop.
Very friendly staff.
Wifi only available at reception area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaarcereanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a couple nights towards the end of our trip to Morocco. It was ok, purely as a place to stay. I'm not overly fussy where I stay as long as its clean as I'm only there to sleep, but my boyfriend can be quite the opposite.
The location is really good and easy to find, the breakfasts were really good and our room was clean, however did smell like damp - but after research prior to booking I did expect this as it seems to be something I have read often in reviews of many riads in Essaouira, but this damp smell may also be because the shower curtain didn't actually reach the floor so provided no purpose whatsoever as it didn't stop the water splashing everywhere, and flooding the bathroom haha! The riad was not as nice and staff were not as welcoming compared to the riad we stayed in Marrakech and the price difference was fairly big - being almost double to what we paid in Marrakech and from what we got compared to each you would think the opposite! But again, Essaouira being a tourist beach spot, prices would be expected to be a bit higher.

I would recommend as its a place to stay at a reasonable price, my boyfriend would probably say otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Riad is really central and it won't be any trouble to find! The Staff is nice, the room and bathroom are not new, but very confortable and clean! The room had a window for the main street from which it was really good to watch Essaouira lifestyle! :) Breakfast is very good on the terrace! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanacnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great time in this Riad. Essaouira was very great experience and this Riad was perfect for this. Good quality, clean room, great breakfast and young and available staff. Just perfect. Just one thing... WiFi should be available in terrace too and not just and first and second floor but... who use WiFi when you have a great city like Essaouira? :-D

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiulioDalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in this basic hostel in winter months (january) and we were rather satisfied. It was a fair deal for the money paid but we wouldn't like to stay there longer than 3 nights. Good central location in the medina. Staff was friendly but sometimes not very communicative in English. Our room was rather cramped and a bit humid but the rooftop terrace made up for it. Decent breakfast was served. We had to run to the ATM given that no card payment was possible.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piozaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Having driven the whole way across Morocco I was not in the mood to have to hunt for our accomodation. My mood worsened. Granted, had we booked the Riad before we were in Morocco we would have been more prepared, but the streets are so hard to navigate and very busy, so easy to get overhwhelmed and lost looking, which makes you prey for Moroccan men to talk to you and annoy you (harsh, but true). However, once we found it, it was actually in a really easy place to find and reference to, right in the middle of all the excitement. Easy to find everything you need right on your doorstep and I would definitely return.
Staff were lovely and friendly and was very refreshing and reassuring to see a female! (our experiences of Moroccan men were not at best at this point)
Breakfast was amazing on the roof terrace and it was fab to be able to peek over and see all the people below. Beds were comfy and shower was good and the doors locked which made us feel safe. We were in the room on the roof terrace which I would have prefered to not have been as everyone had they're breakfast outside our room and we felt a bit away from everything with loads of stairs to climb but just meant we earned all the Moroccan food we then ate!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IFMTIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

we had a beautiful room with an outlook onto the street, the riad had a a lovely rooftop and breakfast was great. would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#32 of 75 in Essaouira
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#34 of 75 in Essaouira
145 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
517 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#39 of 75 in Essaouira
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Grand Large? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Grand Large

Address: 2 Rue Oum Rabia, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £18 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Le Grand Large 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a superb view over the medina and situated in the heart of Essaouira's historic centre, this enchanting guest house is set around a luminous patio, which leads to a Moroccan living room.Built around the communal patio, lined with plants, the 10 sober and elegant rooms, furnished in moucharabieh, sabred, and wrought iron, are fully equipped with a private bathroom and feature typical Moroccan décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Grand Large reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Grand Large Hotel Essaouira
Riad Le Grand Large Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing