We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Le Grand Large
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here with a friend for a week a couple of years ago for the music festival and a few days to chill. It was quite hard to find and it is worth paying a porter to help you with your bags etc. We were given a room on the top floor of the terrace and seemed to have the terrace to ourselves for a few days. It is in the middle of the medina and close to the main squares and sea. We were greeted with tea and biscuits each afternoon and breakfast was served daily on the veranda by the two most friendly ladies. On a couple of occasions we chose to eat dinner at the hotel and the food was all fresh and good. Our room was of a good size and very clean. We loved our stay and I am only sorry to the owners and their wonderful staff that I have not got around to posting this review until now.

Room Tip: The room on the top, opening onto the terrace was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    54
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
83
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

this has some bad points, but the kindness of the staff compensate, for example the room was not ready by 14h30, but the man in the reception cooked us moroccan tea to apologize, which we really appreciated. the standard rooms are so small that I felt I would lack oxygen during the night, and the sunlight enters the room unavoidably at the morning due to the light curtains, so I, like many other previewers here, woke up many times since dawn. Overall, it is a good place for the price and for the location.

Room Tip: standard double rooms are too small sunlight enters the rooms very early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I had the large room to myself. 1 single bed and 1 queen.
In the heart of Medina. Just below my window where I can witness all the happening of the medina at my own comfort. Though it can get noisy but it was a my company since I traveled solo. Love the decor. Love the cleanliness. Love everything about this riad. A few steps away from the public hamma (public hot bath).
Pictures paint a thousand word.
MUST STAY!

Room Tip: If you enjoy to view the hustle and bustle of the medina asked for the room right above the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurAkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Chose this partly due to price as we are a family of six, and it was very reasonable especially as breakfast was included. Staff were friendly and we communicated well spite no English being spoken. All our rooms were clean and well presented, although ours (no1) was the smallest and smelt slightly damp. Beds were clean and made daily by the lovely female staff, breakfast was wonderful, made fresh for us each morning by the same and served on the roof terrace. We really enjoyed watching the hustle and bustle down below from the roof terrace both morning and evening. Was a little bit noisy at times in the evening/night but so conveniently located in the heart of the Medina that this was only to be expected and not that much of a negative. Would recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a double and rather small, room 3 sleeps 4 people and looks out over the busy street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Nehterlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We booked here last minute because the Riad where we had originally booked wouldnt bring our booking fwd by one night without adding a hefty charge. The riad was within easy walking distance from the bus station, and nestled in a labyrinth of streets right in the heart of the medina. The staff were so very welcoming, by far the friendliest we have encountered in Morocco, they made us feel like family. We had a really nice room with a window out onto a small street. The room was comfortable and clean, the bathroom was the cleanest hotel bathroom we have come across in Morocco and everything was working perfectly. I loved the terrace, clean and attractive and a lovely place to eat breakfast.I did find the breakfast a little boring, though I loved the coffee and juice, and again the friendly helpful staff. It would have been better if they had wifi in the terrace as well as the rooms. The location was brilliant so near to everything, regardless of the labyrinth of alleyways it was always easy to find my way back to the riad, and each time I did I felt I had come home. We we definately return to this riad next year. We did not experience any bad smells or humidity in this hotel.

Room Tip: Even though we went as a couple this riad would be also a great location for single travellers. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed one night at this riad.
The room (no 4) was clean but smell was terrible.
High humidity, probably because of proximity to the ocean.
Good location in the heart of Medina, easy to find.
Breakfast was ok on rooftop.
Very friendly staff.
Wifi only available at reception area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaarcereanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a couple nights towards the end of our trip to Morocco. It was ok, purely as a place to stay. I'm not overly fussy where I stay as long as its clean as I'm only there to sleep, but my boyfriend can be quite the opposite.
The location is really good and easy to find, the breakfasts were really good and our room was clean, however did smell like damp - but after research prior to booking I did expect this as it seems to be something I have read often in reviews of many riads in Essaouira, but this damp smell may also be because the shower curtain didn't actually reach the floor so provided no purpose whatsoever as it didn't stop the water splashing everywhere, and flooding the bathroom haha! The riad was not as nice and staff were not as welcoming compared to the riad we stayed in Marrakech and the price difference was fairly big - being almost double to what we paid in Marrakech and from what we got compared to each you would think the opposite! But again, Essaouira being a tourist beach spot, prices would be expected to be a bit higher.

I would recommend as its a place to stay at a reasonable price, my boyfriend would probably say otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#39 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#40 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#69 of 74 in Essaouira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Grand Large? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Grand Large

Property: Riad Le Grand Large
Address: 2 Rue Oum Rabia, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#24 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Le Grand Large 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a superb view over the medina and situated in the heart of Essaouira's historic centre, this enchanting guest house is set around a luminous patio, which leads to a Moroccan living room.Built around the communal patio, lined with plants, the 10 sober and elegant rooms, furnished in moucharabieh, sabred, and wrought iron, are fully equipped with a private bathroom and feature typical Moroccan décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Riad Le Grand Large reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Grand Large Hotel Essaouira
Riad Le Grand Large Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing